We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the only option in town”

Restaurante Gerald's
Price range: $4 - $40
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Panama City, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Probably the only option in town”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The have some restaurants around the island, but only two take major credit cards, and both of them have decent food compared on what they charge. The staff is friendly and they serve fast (island-style standards), and both presentation and taste of the food is good...not sublime, but good enough to come back for more. I recommend it as a safe bet in Contadora

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ktycastillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    115
    58
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best food on Contadora!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Gerald's is legendary on Contadora. Not a single local mentioned anything else as the best restaurant on the island. Everything we ate was great, but the pizza (we ate it with shrimp every time, along with whatever other topping we fancied that evening) was AMAZING! Some of the best pizza I've ever eaten...anywhere...no joke!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dine in Paradise!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We had our first (lunch) and last (dinner) meal at Gerald's. Atmosphere is hard to screw up when you are sitting in an open air paradise. The seating is surrounded by tropical trees and foliage. This was reviewed by others as the best place to eat on Contadora Island which prompted our visit the first time. We were not disappointed. The food was superb, fresh caught fish ( probably no more than a mile from your dining table) prepared with garlic and butter. Choice of whole fish grilled or filets. ( Snapper and Sea Bass) We had a party of 12 and everyone loved their food. Cocktails were excellent, as was the Sangria. Service was a little slow, but for a group of 12 sitting in such a beautiful setting, no one minded waiting a bit (it wasn't a long wait). The owner and wait staff were so friendly and helpful. No language barrier and very friendly service. The restaurant is just outside a very small 1 runway airport which brings in 3-4 puddle jumpers (6 passenger planes) a day. We then boarded our 70 ft catamaran and sailed around the Las Pearlas Islands for a week. Upon our return to Contadora Island, we brought our crew to Gerald's for our final dinner. My only complaint at this meal was they had run out of whole fish, but the meals and libation were excellent. We feel in love with the Panamanian people and culture in a large part attributable to the owners and staff at Gerald's. 4 star dining in paradise!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CU1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Home made pasta and desserts? Didn't really expect a lot, just hungry after a day on the water fishing - but great pleasant surprise!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oscar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanas Potosi
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Good food, good service, nice owners and good selection. The restaurant is located very close to the main beach with lots of humming birds to view

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wenny754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Gerald's also viewed

Contadora Island, Pearl Islands
Contadora Island, Pearl Islands
 
Contadora Island, Pearl Islands
Contadora Island, Pearl Islands
 
Contadora Island, Pearl Islands
Contadora Island, Pearl Islands
 

Been to Restaurante Gerald's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing