We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place on isla contadora”
Review of B&B Gerald's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Gerald's
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We went there without reservation.
The owners are friendly and can tell you what to see on the island.
The room is bit overpriced, but the whole island is!
The room is okay, clean and big enough.
The restaurant is good!!!
The only thing which was not that nice was the garden around the b+b.
If they improve this the place would be even better!!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank e-kleinert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 128 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

After learning that the Point Hotel is incredibly overpriced and not very good, we had 2 wonderful dinners and 1 great lunch at Gerald's. The portions are huge and the food is delicious. The service is also relatively fast and the people are friendly. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank msdeVries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

OK...so here's the thing. If you are going to Isla Contadora with the expectations of 5-star luxury and American standards of hotel services...you are going to be disappointed! Isla Contadora, as a whole, is somewhat rustic...and Gerald's seems to be at the top of the options.

First off...it's not a bed & breakfast, it's a hotel (don't let the name mislead you!) And it's not a hostel either (despite the credit card receipt listing it that way). So don't worry...Gerald's is a small hotel, right next door to the airport. The staff were (mostly) very friendly, although we didn't get to meet Gerald since he was in the city. Nobody met us at the airport, but it was literally 50 yards away, and the first person we met pointed us there, so it didn't really matter!

Although the reviews have been mixed...our experience was that the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the air conditioning and ceiling fan worked great, and the bathroom (which is in the room, by the way) was wonderful. The shower was cold most of the time, but we didn't mind so much, as the weather is tropical. We spent quite a bit of time sitting outside our room, or down in the restaurant. We went up top to enjoy our drinks, but never went in the pool. With that said, the pool did look nice and cozy.

The restaurant was FANTASTIC! Breakfast was included, and was very simple...coffee, fruit, ham, cheese, and eggs (fried or scrambled)...but not bad at all. For lunch & dinner, you've got to try the pizza (which we ate daily, always with shrimp!)

There are a few beaches within walking distance of Gerald's, and it's pretty central to everything else (a little supermarket [where you can buy drinks, alcohol, bug spray, sunscreen, etc.], the dive shop, souvenirs, etc.) Keep in mind that everything on Isla Contadora is American pricing, so just know that drinks will be $6-10 each, and food will be priced as you would expect in the states.

Also...enjoy the wildlife. Hummingbirds all over the place, and a couple of pet deer on property! One knock is that their pet parrots will probably wake you up in the morning...although I didn't mind too much as I wanted to maximize my day.

We would gladly stay at Gerald's again...and hope we'll be able to bring our kids next time!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 8 upstairs. I'd highly recommend it...top floor, and in the corner, with one k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had heard such great things about Cantadora and were really looking forward to our visit. When we got to the room we saw a saggy, dirty couch, stains on the sheets, and bright red blood or sauce running down the wall. There was a soap container by the sink with no soap. The one in the shower was ripped off the wall. We had to ask for soap. We looked forward to cooling off in the pool, but it was too filthy. We were sorry Gerald was in the City, because we had looked forward to meeting him, and perhaps he would have made it better. The mini fridge, T.V., Internet and friendly staff were the only good things about the hotel. We were booked for 2 nights, but 1 night was more than enough. It cost us $250 to leave the next day, no refund airline ticket, half of the room and $90 ferry trip back to the City, but to us it was worth it to not have to spend another night. What a disappointment for our 20th anniversary.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrysford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanamaGerald, Owner at B&B Gerald's, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

hello

Thanks for taking the time to review my place.
Yes there are some stains that day at bed. sofa and the wall, after some heavy rainfall the days earlier we have in that partical room some tripping problems, sorry about that.
There was nothing ripped of the walls in the bathrooms, we changed just the shampoo, conttionar and soap system to little individuel botells. The soup spender was filled up and working perfectly fine.

Gerald, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My family was invited on a fishing trip to the Perlas Islands and we spent one night at Gerald's Bed & Breakfast. Rooms were sparse but clean and air conditioning was great after a day on the water. Great staff and the owner (Gerald) met us on the beach (prearranged) and drove our bags to his place while we walked.

We decided to eat at Gerald's and expected a regular experience but were pleasantly surprisedby the quality of the food. Pasta was cooked correctly (home made pasta and sauce), local beef was very good, and excellent home made desserts. Gerald came by to ask how dinner was and said he was from Bavaria and had a popular Resturant in Panama City but relocated to the quiet life on Contadora Island. Great food, great service - be sure to try the food and desserts!!! Lots of humming birds, deer, flowers, great B&B and very affordable.

Room Tip: Be sure to eat here and order the home made Pastas and Strudel for dessert.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oscar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights at Gerald's a few months ago. We we happy with it. The owner is friendly and is pet deer is pretty cute. It was also nice to have breakfast with hummingbirds feeding close by. The room was great and clean and the place was super quiet. We enjoyed the pool on the roof and it felt as if it was our private pool as we were always the only ones up there.

The restaurant of the hotel is THE place to eat on the island. It was always busy at meal times. The food is excellent. We tried lots of things on the menu.. our favorite definitely being the bratwursts and the pizza. Oh and if you want a great drink try the Gerald's special!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingpenguin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent 3 days and nights on the Island at Geralds, not a lot to do on the Island but we had a Golf cart for 4 hours, went round and round several times, went on a trip with Coral Dreams snorkelling which was excellent and also Gerald arranged a 1/2 day on a Catemeran and we saw Humpback Whales so it was very good.

Geralds room was good, big enough, 2 beds so we used both! good shower and the Air con was fine so we slept really well.

Food was good, breakfast a bit samey eggs and basket of bread coffee/tea/ I am usually a tea drinker but no one boils the water so it is just not hot enough so I drank coffee wich was very good. Cocktails strong but good!

Nice to have drinking water supplied daily and a fridge in the room.

Nice to see the Humminbirds at the feeder in the morning and the resident Deer, Staff were very nice and went out of their way to help organise outr trips as it was the slow season.

Only complaint is the safe!!!!!!!!!! so so difficult to unlock you are tempted not to bother but very nice stay, many thanks

Flight over on a 8 seater plane was great and you check in and then have breakfast, quite civilised and the plane does usually come!!

Room Tip: upstairs away from the noise though when we were there it was quiet anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lambkin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Contadora Island hotels
0 mi away
Mar & Oro
Mar & Oro
#1 of 2 in Contadora Island
347 reviews
0 mi away
Hibiscus House Bed & Breakfast
Hibiscus House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 10 in Contadora Island
84 reviews
0 mi away
Contadora Island Inn
Contadora Island Inn
#2 of 10 in Contadora Island
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
La Romantica
La Romantica
#4 of 10 in Contadora Island
19 reviews
0 mi away
Perla Real Inn
Perla Real Inn
#6 of 10 in Contadora Island
175 reviews
0 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#5 of 10 in Contadora Island
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Gerald's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Gerald's

Address: Paseo Balboa, Panama Province 007, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Pearl Islands > Contadora Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Contadora Island
Price Range: $94 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Gerald's 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed&Breakfast 100 Yards from 2 Beaches with Sundeck on the Roof with Bar, all rooms with Private Bathroom A/C, Fan, Satellite TV, Safe, Fridge and Room Service. and now new Villa Rental 2Bed Room,Living room and full Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your B&B Gerald's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing