We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accomodation”
Review of Casa del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa del Sol
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect accomodation”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I spend two night here in the B&B. For us was a perfect place. For me the idea of the breakfast is perfect, you can weak up whenever you want, and you have everything you need in your bedroom.

The room is clean and the bed comfortable, you can walk, rent a mini car or a bike. We decided to walk everywhere enjoying the nature of Contadora. The beaches are near. All of them are spectacular!!!

Jazmin and Ken are really nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    37
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
31
45
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We emailed Casa del Sol a day before our flight for Panama. Last notice but since our plan changed due to rain on the San Blas we changed plans. Within an hour we had a response and a room was hold for us immediately; great!

After arriving with the Trump Tower ferry we were picked up by the hosts Kevin and Jasmine. The first thing they did is show us all the good places around the island (beaches/restaurants/etc) and gave us background info.

The B&B room we booked was basic but great value for money. The ac worked well (nice cause it was humid). Breakfast was in the fridge and a coffeemaker and toaster in our room. If I had to pick one point of critisism I would pick the towels. Although completely clean they were kinda old.

From the B&B you could walk around the island and to the beaches easily but we rented a mule (4x4 golf cart) which was great fun.

At night, sitting outside the fire flies drop by which is really nice.

One word of advice; if you visit Contadorra to go see the whales you can ask a local fisherman who charge around $35 an hour for the boat. But whatever you do STAY AWAY from the fisherman with a boat called Coco. This is a mad man with no respect for whales whatsoever! He drives the boat at full speed towards the upcoming whales and basically scares them away. We've seen him at work and when we signed him to calm down and stay back a bit more he started yelling and swearing and basically went beserk! Later - on the beach - we talked to his passengers and they had quite a scare due to his boat driving. We went whale watching with a young fisherman called Jaime who showed great respect for the whales and approached them so gently that they would stay around and came close to the boat by themselves!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the house have an outdoor seating area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BartezzNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanas Potosi
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The administrators of Casa De Sol house were very nice and gave us a tour of the island when we arrived. The house could have been cleaner but the beds were comfortable and each room was air-conditioned. When we went to use the dryer they were full of bedding and the wash machine leaked. The prices of food in the store was about 100% higher than on the mainland and the restaurants were very expensive. We recommend consider bringing your own supplies.
We were disappointed in the beaches because there was so much garbage washed up on the sand with no one to clean them up. The highlight of our trip was going whale watching and snorkeling. The beaches on the mainland are better. If you want to get away and have privacy then Contadora is where to go. Also, it is a 90 minute ferry ride for $90 from Panama City.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Wenny754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a great time on the islands. We rented Ken's house and the Apartment. Both locations were great and had everything we needed. If you want to be smart bring an ice chest of food over with you on the boat. There are small mini mart grocery stores, but we bought meet and BBQed. The meat was not great! The people, the location, everything was well worth the trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreagosnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the B&B for a week and the apartment for a week. Kevin and Jazmin were always there to answer any questions and make our stay as pleasant as possible. The rooms were clean, the refrigerator and A/C worked without any compliants. The island lacks ammenities but has small supermarkets for your basic needs and a few restaurants.
This is a no frills island that is basically a getaway from the hustle of everyday life. The beaches are nice but thats it. Nothing else to do but relax and forget about everything.
We stayed for the early part of April and it had not rained since November. Water was at a premium but we adjusted and the hotel had enough water for your everyday basic needs.
Peter and Anke (owners) were not there during our stay but answered all our concerns on arriving and departing from Panama City and even recommended a hotel which we enjoyed. You won't deal with better people.

Room Tip: We would advise renting the apartment as it comes with a ATV which is needed in traversing the islan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inxs777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

A great little B&B run by a very welcoming, friendly couple, Kevin and Jazz. Breakfast was original as it was in our room to have when ever we wanted. There was never a rush to get up and we could sit out on our own private patio and enjoy it.
Kevin and Jaz were always at hand to answer our questions and ran a very clean, organized friendly B&B.
Good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 18brenda55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

"A unique style of accommodation, individually designed rooms, situated in the residential quiet part of the island. You are in range of 2-15 minutes walk to all beaches, restaurants, bars and supermarkets" Well thats what it says on their website but for those thinking of travelling to Contadora we'd advise you not to stay B&B with Casa del Sol as the breakfast was terrible (2 hard bolied eggs from the day before + cheap white bread & sliced cheese in tupperware plus little tubs of jam & butter - that was it). Sleep was a problem as they were building a new house directly across the road and the builders started at 7.00am and worked most of the day - quiet it was not. Upside was that the Italian couple looking after Casa del Sol were very friendly and did look after us but this did not make up for the poor accommodation as we had gone there for a reast afterall. Other important things to consider for Contadora - there is no jetty when disembarking from the ferry which means you have to clamber into a small boat and then be taken to the beach with your luggage so if you have any mobility issues then this will be difficult for you + there are no ATM's on the island which means if you arrive without plenty of cash you can't pay for things (there are a few restuarants that take CCs) + the island is hilly so do not believe it's a simple 2-15 minute walk to the beaches etc and forget about cycling as you will need to hire a buggy. In the end we really did enjoy Contadora but the Casa del Sol B&B did not deliver on their promise of unique accommodation!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank orsmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anke B, Owner at Casa del Sol, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Martine,

Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B. Our guests opinions good or bad are important, just as we feel an objective review is.

It took us more than 6 months to take your reservation, we exchanged 17 e-mails along with 5 telephone conversations. The dates and the length of your reservation where constantly being changed. Contadora's lack of an ATM was discussed several times in our correspondence, along with how you get to the island and the reaffirming you that there are not all sorts of tropical disease. These are all parts of our job, which we will always try to do our best, to advise our guests.
Maybe after all the questions, and all the energy and expectations you thought about Contadora, the simple quaint style of our B&B and Contadora's non commercial approach was not for you.

We are indeed between 2 and 15 minutes from the beaches, located on the same 100 yard long road where all 4 of Contadora's B&B’s are situated. We do not advertise we are beach front. Contadora's highest point is only 50 meters above sea level and does have inclines. To call this hilly is a matter of personal opinion.

We have three rooms all different, all with Air conditioning, private bathrooms and patios. Our breakfast consists of tea, coffee, juice, milk, cereals, brown and white bread (which can be toasted), hard boiled eggs, cheese, jams and butter. Yes, the latter are in small packets because we feel this is more hygienic, and all this we call a “continental breakfast”.
Our breakfast is very popular amongst our guests. We are sorry that you
have chosen such harsh words. If part of your breakfast was not to your liking, we will always try to do something about it, but to give us no chance and then write such a review is rather unfair.

There was some construction on the road which is now finished. We did cooperate with the builders so as any loud noise was after 9.30 a.m. by this time most guests where at the beach. Being close to this construction was out of our hands what our guests understood.

We wish you luck and the hotel too, that you choose for your next vacation.

Anke and Peter, Owners of Casa del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Contadora Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Mar & Oro
Mar & Oro
#1 of 1 in Contadora Island
337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Perla Real Inn
Perla Real Inn
#5 of 6 in Contadora Island
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Contadora Island Inn
Contadora Island Inn
#2 of 6 in Contadora Island
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
B&B Gerald's
B&B Gerald's
#4 of 6 in Contadora Island
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Romantica
La Romantica
#3 of 6 in Contadora Island
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hibiscus House Bed & Breakfast
Hibiscus House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Contadora Island
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Sol

Property: Casa del Sol
Address: Panama Province, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Pearl Islands > Contadora Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Contadora Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing