We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A secluded lodge with lots of birdlife around” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sierra Llorona Panama Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sierra Llorona Panama Lodge
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A secluded lodge with lots of birdlife around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

This is a beautiful, elegant lodge with really considerate, courteous staff. We had a great stay at this place and also managed to arrange a trip to Achiote Rd. We saw lots of birdlife on the road just past the lodge and in the gardens, although found the paths in the grounds a steeper/muddier than expected. Rooms and food are great. (No swuimming pool or camping though as it says in the Lonely Planet. This didn't bother us at all but I guess it could bother others if they were expecting it. You can walk to a natural pool though.)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Panamaholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    25
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
10
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2008

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Sierra Llorona Lodge in February 2008. It's a pretty location with about 200 acres, I believe. Our room was simple, with a nice back porch for hearing jungle sounds and watching firefllies at dusk. We saw some capuchin monkeys along the entry driveway one morning, but didn't see too many birds on our own there. Our room was hot the first afternoon, due to no afternoon rains and no A/C. It cooled off fine at night, though. The real highlight of our stay was our fabulous birding guide, Michael Castro. He's an amazing person. He's great at identifying birds (and monkeys) by ear. We thoroughly enjoyed listening to him calling to all the birds and monkeys (and a caiman). He speaks English just fine for being a birding guide and is passionate about protecting Panama's forests and wildlife. The food was good, too, and plentiful. The new management of the lodge is really shaky, though. We had a very hard time making our reservation; our e-mails weren't answered for weeks. We decided to pay for an international calling plan and reached the new manager a few times, but the phone was never answered the last few times I tried right before our trip . So, when we left for Panama, we didn't know for sure if we had a ride taking us to Sierra Llorona , what our birding plans were, or what the plans were for our ride to our next destination. We were met promptly at the airport by the very bright, interesting, funny musician son of the owner. The new manager wasn't there, and we never did see her. We were led to our room, but had no idea when we would see our birding guide, what trips were planned, or when meals were served. When Michael showed up, everything improved considerably. He even drove us to our next destination. A cute little 8-year-old boy, who spoke no English, charmingly showed us the frogs on the Sierra Llorona Rana Trail. The hummingbird feeders were fun, too.

  • Liked — Fabulous birding guide, pretty location with monkeys and birds
  • Disliked — shaky management
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2007

We stayed at SLPL for 7 nights and had a nice experience here. We had originally booked a single room for our stay, but Maria upgraded us to the upstairs suite for the same price. Very nice! There are a total of 8 rooms here, but only 4 or 5 were ever filled while we were there. The grounds were beautiful and the Panamanian cuisine was very nice. All 3 meals each day were a little different and we never knew from day to day what we would have, but each meal was delicious. Maria Isabel was a delight and we enjoyed her company very much! She is leaving to begin a new life and business on her own and we wish her the very best. She will be a great loss to the Lodge!! Our main birding guide, Sam, is leaving as well and we will miss him too! He's the best birding guide we've ever had. He truly has a passion for birds and he was a real pleasure to be with on our Pipeline Road and Achiote Road birding tours. We missed much interaction with Micheal because he went home to spend the holidays with his family. The lodge was experiencing some electrical problems while we were there and our water pressure would come and go, as well as the lights in our room. It made for interesting showers! So, Maria, we bid you a fond farewell and Via con Dios! We are glad that had at least a short time to be with you and you were the best! Adios, friend.

  • Liked — The location and staff.
  • Disliked — The place is beginning for fall into disrepair.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank barry1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2007

This was a fantastic, magical place nestled in the jungle with the glorious sounds of birds surrounding the lodge. The manager Maria Isabel was extremely accomodating and met our every need. The rooms were spacious and the interior of the lodge was beautiful. The meals were provided at a very reasonable price and were fabulous. If you are a birder, the resident expert Michael Castro was the best. Enjoy walks around the grounds with him and learn about the beautiful species inhabitating the area. A pure joy!
Transportation was provided from the train station in Colon and to the airport at Albrook. This was a wonderful lodge with an ambiance and tranquility that can't be matched. A real find!

  • Liked — Location and birding guide
  • Disliked — bugs
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler3383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2007

I ivisited this lodge as part of my birding tour with the Panama La Verde Birding Circuit and enjoyed this unique location. My room was right at the edge of the jungle; I could hear the wonderful sounds, but was quite safe and secure. The yard had fabulous views of the jungle edges and birds were plentiful. The trail system on the property was well thought out and included short paths to stroll on and paths that went into the thick vegetation of the jungle. The birding was even great from the driveway! The room was quite comfortable and the food, served in the dining room, was very tasty. The hostess was warm and welcoming.

  • Liked — the proximity to jungle birds
  • Disliked — the too brief stay...a week would have been great!
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tucsonbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colon
0.0 mi away
Melia Panama Canal
Melia Panama Canal
#1 of 9 in Colon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Otro Lado
El Otro Lado
#1 of 1 in Portobelo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Radisson Colon 2000 Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
Sand Diamond Hotel
Sand Diamond Hotel
#3 of 9 in Colon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina Hotel at Shelter Bay
Marina Hotel at Shelter Bay
#1 of 1 in Fort Sherman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Llorona Panama Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Llorona Panama Lodge

Property: Sierra Llorona Panama Lodge
Address: Sierra Llorona Road, Santa Rita Arriba, | Sabanitas, Colón, Rep. de Panamá, Colon 0312-00036, Panama
Location: Panama > Colon Province > Colon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sierra Llorona Panama Lodge is a Tropical Rainforest Eco Lodge & Private Nature Reserve. Discover the tropical rainforest on a private reserve. Stay at a comfortable and cozy place in this small rustic hostel. Enjoy Nature! Birdwatching, Photography, Hiking or simply get in contact with Nature! Tour any of the many nearby spots of interests including historic Spanish Colonial forts, Panama Canal Locks, Native Embera Tribal Village or fantastic Caribbean beaches, all just minutes away from the lodge! Either on a hammock by the pool or trekking in our forest trails, you'll get to experience the richness and abundance of Panama's culture, flora and fauna! An ideal place to relax! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sierra Llorona Panama Hotel Colon
Sierra Llorona Panama Lodge Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing