We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just OK” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Estrella de Bocas

La Estrella de Bocas
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bocas del Toro Province
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Estrella de Bocas
Save
You added La Estrella de Bocas to your Saves list
Houston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just OK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2008

This is a small individually owned and operated hotel. the room we got was billed as an apartment with two big beds in a private room and a single in another. there was a small fridge and kitchenette. The decor was drab, and the bathroom was functional but ugly. For the money (70 USD plus tax) It might b e ok. The beds were basic. If you want budget travel and will share costs then this place is ok. The AC worked. On this Island you don't need a five star place. The life is outside the lodging. The price was ok given other places I checked out. It is ok nothing more. Location is perfect.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank jpaffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    2
    2
    7
See reviews for
1
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2007

I stayed ther efor almost a week on February 2004. Good location, not too clean and very noisy AC, but everything else was full. OK for the price.

  • Liked — location and kitchenette
  • Disliked — noisy AC
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank costaricatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2007

This was booked on their web site. Upon inspection, the apartment was in a different building, it had no working hot water, the promised kitchenette had a little fridge turned into a minibar, one burner that didn't work and no utensiles.

We demanded a refund on the 500 dollar deposit and desk representative agreed we could stay three days to recoup most of the deposit. On the third day the owner burst in and screamed we were there illegally and started throwing the luggage around. We went to the police who would do nothing and finally had to pay another 150 for each of the three nights.

Then he wanted my passport as a security deposit and that did not happen.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The mafioso owner
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Supersaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bocas del Toro Province hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2004

First things first, Bocas is a fantastic place but our hotel was a disaster. At first It seemed pretty nice, the location was great but a little too turisty. It is a little more expensive than most accommodations in the island but at the time it was all that was available. It was right acros the street from the police station but despite that, our locked room was broken into while we were inside and our stuff was stolen. It was overall a bad experience and would not recommend this place at all.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bocas del Toro Province hotels
0.0 mi away
Buccaneer Resort
Buccaneer Resort
#2 of 2 in Carenero Island
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Caribbean View
Hotel Caribbean View
#2 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koko Resort
Koko Resort
#3 of 22 in Isla Colon
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Estrella de Bocas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Estrella de Bocas

Property: La Estrella de Bocas
Address: 1st Street, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Bocas del Toro Province
Number of rooms: 213

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing