We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to close, but very beautiful.”
Review of Isla Zapatillas

Isla Zapatillas
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.00*
and up
Full-Day Speedboat Tour from Bocas Town: Explore 5 Locales
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not to close, but very beautiful.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Isla Zapatillas are 2 little islands near Isla Bastimentos. Very beatiful, white sand and clear water. You can go there with taxi boats and will spend US$ 30,00 to round trip. It´s a place to stay 3 hours at least.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sergio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    115
    13
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful island”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Four of us hired a private boat to take us to the island for an afternoon. The cost was $30 each which included the park fee. The seas were a bit rough and jokes about a "3 hour cruise" were bandied about. Our new friend Cameron from Toronto called the Mr. Howell role. We made a few snorkel stops but Zapatillas was definitely the highlight. It was probably the most beautiful island I had seen to date (until we made our way to Coibas). There are no services at all on the island so bring everything you need. Well worth the trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank peggy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Go on a private boat”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We took a private tour through Bocas and stopped hear before we headed back to town. Our boat stopped in a very private section and we relaxed in the tranquil, clear waters all to ourselves. One of the nicest beaches I've been to.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved It”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The beach is great. Loved It. It's and island so take your cooler and some food and just relax. It's about $20 per person, we went with a incredible group that we meet in Bocas and loved the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nikident88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't be mislead”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The locals tout this as one of the best beaches, and it's a national park so you expect it to be incredible. You'll be disappointed when you pay up to $30 per person for a boat ride out to a 10foot wide beach that's littered with trash and debris. To add insult to injury the parks personelle come up to you to collect a $5-10 park fee. The question remains...what do they use the money for? They clearly don't use it to clean up the beach and there's no bathroom or other services on the island. Take a leadership role if you go and bring a garbage bag out and fill it up.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank jeannebpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isla Zapatillas also viewed

Isla Bastimentos, Bocas del Toro Province
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Bluff Beach, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Been to Isla Zapatillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing