We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a nice getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Faro del Colibri
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“a nice getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel is lovely, its well kept, clean and the personal attention offered by Lucelly is unattainable these days in a mid level hotel. As anywhere it has pluses and minuses. The pluses were the view, sitting on the deck in the afternoons watching the boats go by, listening to the waves gently come and go and surrounded by enough peace to sleep soundly. Breakfast was always on time and offered fresh tropical fruit and homemade eggs how you want them. The recommendations given for places to see or eat were always good. The minus is the beds, its a full size bed for 2 people, hey I'm on vacation I want to stretch out and not feel cramped in my bed. It was very uncomfortable and back breaking to sleep 2 on a full size bed.

Room Tip: Dont sleep in the lighthouse if you have trouble with stairs, the bedroom is on the second floor. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0fi16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    46
    9
    5
    8
See reviews for
16
85
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We went to Bocas with another hotel reservation (Olas) but in our way to there we advice that it was kind of hippie-kids hotel so we decide to walk and see... and we find Lucelly and Adriano, there are such a nice couple they make our stay very relaxing and memorable. I was sad that we couldnt get to stay in your apartments for rent guys but our over the sea cabin was fantastic!
Thank you folks, we will always remember you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klytsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I dont know why it is not listed in Carenero Island, as I believe it would then be rated as the best option there. Very nice rooms at a really convenient location. Hotel is close to Bocas town, just a 2 minutes boat ride from town, but since the rooms are not facing the town it is really very quiet and nice location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathroy, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. The rooms are standard with little frills, but the price was right. The best thing about this place is the location over the water with a private deck. The under deck lighting at night is a fun touch and you can watch some fish from your deck whenever you want. There isn't a pool, but you can swim right off your deck.

It is close enough to Bocas town to see it, but far enough away to escape most of the noise. The water taxis can see you standing on the dock when you want to get a ride, so you never have to call them.

The lighthouse is not real, some people are very upset with this... not sure why?? When we stayed here the owners lived in it, and their office was there too.

The electric water heater in the shower will only work on "medium" but we were not told this. There was some duct tape on the switch, apparently to keep anyone from turning it on "high", the tape was loose and did not function as intended. On the third day the water heater stopped working and when the owner came to look at it (she doesn't speak much English) she gestured that the water heater would blow up if we used it on high, then left. We assumed we would not be getting any more warm water after this, and we were right. There should have been a sign, or some instruction regarding this when you check in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We spend a few days in Bocas del Toro and where very happy, that we decided to stay in Faro del Colibri. The little wooden houses are puristic furnished and very clean. They have these small balconies to the sea, a wonderful place to rest and enjoy the sun or jump into the water to refresh.
The owners are very friendly and open to any questions. Every morning they serve a tasty breakfast with fresh fruits and so on.
We really like this place and recommend it to everybody who thinks about visiting bocas del toro! If you have a light sleep, bring some earplugs because of the boats that are passing by at night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jgkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in Faro del Colibri for 4 nights, in October 2012, and enjoyed every second of it.

The cabins are beautiful. You have your own deck, and you can jumo to the water whenever you like (huge advantage, there aren't so many nearby beaches). The air condition works very well, as well as the room facilities. At night, there is a light under the water, which allows you to see many amazing fish.

The owners are very kind, and helped us in anything that we needed. It was also very nice to chat with them, and hear about their lives. Their baby soon, Kevin, is just amazing.

The only fear that we had was the distance from Colon, the main island. It turned out that there is nothing to worry about. The island is only 20 seconds (yes, seconds) from Colibris deck, and cost $1 per person to get there. In the evening, the owners will call you a taxi, that will get within 3 minutes.

For couples, and I have no doubt about it, this is the best place. Enjoy.

Karin y Oded

Room Tip: There are 5 cabins. I think that cabin 4 & 5 are best (the water is the deepest).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oded F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stunning. Swim right out from your room into clear, warm Caribbean waters. Very clean, good air conditioning, friendly owner. Carenero is a significantly more beautiful place to stay than Colon, and I couldn't recommend El Faro more.

It can be a little noisy due to boats driving back and forth and the constant partying at Bocastown, but I'm not sure that's avoidable in this area. We still slept great (and the air conditioning was a crazy relief.) Breakfast is purportedly included, but that's just toast and fruit. Eggs are 2-3 dollars extra.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sray67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bocas del Toro Province hotels
0.3 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
3.9 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 19 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Faro del Colibri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Faro del Colibri

Property: El Faro del Colibri
Address: Carenero, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Bocas del Toro Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Faro del Colibri 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HotelAcqua LodgeInternet WirelessTvHot WaterPrivate BalconiesWe are at 7 minutes of the beach and 2 minutes of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Faro del Colibri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing