We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Faro del Colibri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2011

My boyfriend and me had seen El Faro a few times before when we visitted Bocas, and it always stood out thanks to its unique design and location. This time we went with our families and reserved 3 cabins total, and we all were amazed with this place!

The privacy of each cabin is great, and you get to enjoy sitting in your own deck and watch the fish right under you! The room was always kept clean, and the size was perfect for how much we paid. The only thing that could be better is the size of the bed, but we managed just fine. The price also included a big breakfast, which we found to be delicious! It's definitely a great option if you don't want to spend a lot and still be able to enjoy.

Also, the owners make this place even better. They were quite helpful and nice, and extremely friendly. They will help you with anything you may need in Bocas. Keep in mind though, they don't speak English too well, so this might be best for Spanish and/or Italian speaking clients.

In conclusion, we are definitely staying in El Faro again whenever we decide to visit Bocas again. Thanks for making this trip such a wonderful experience for my family.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 143 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2011

As I live in Costa Rica I went already several times to Boca and tried various hotels. If you are looking for something inbetween 50 and 100 US$ and you want to eperience to live above the water this is the place. New cabins (built in 2011), clean, beautiful but not luxuriousy. You can watch all kind of fishes from your private deck and during our stay every evening passed a pair of rays. Disadvantages: No fridge inside the cabins and loud taxi boats passing by very closely (which is something very common at Bocas).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerndCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We found this place completely random, by the help of a local tourguide from colon.
We were amazed by how this place is close to be called a paradise! The fact that you are not far from the main island, and you have your own lodge overlooking the bay, with a private deck which you can jump from it directly to the water - That what maked this place worth staying at.
I read the other reviews and didnt unerstand - the room is preety big for a couple, the shower room was clean and modern and the water pressure was ok. we had an LCD tv in the room, 2 dolphins jumped in front of us when we ate breakfest - how can you complain about this place.
Other hotels in Colon wanted 100$ for aroom with an ocean view, but the room in El Faro de Colibri cost us only 70$.
The Italian owner and his magnificent wife were charming and friendly. They told us that the hotel was opened only 7 months ago, so maybe thats the reason this place hasnt earned alot of reviews - yet!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

After our fantastic trip to Hawaii and Venezuela we wrapped our tour in Panama. Ahhh lovely Bocas. We loved this city!!! The people and the crystal waters in this caribbean paradise are unique. Nevertheless our weird named hotel was not a good option. Nonetheless, crew was nice (Thank you!) and we took a nice dips on the surrounding shallow waters, the rooms and beds were were so little and surprise: the water was so low on pressure we could barely shower! Arggg. Next morning wish we could have had use of a decent breakfast. But it did not happen. We had to wander around but fortunately found plenty of good options at the restaurants nearby (Aqua Lounge had the best fish tacos, Yum!!!) Maybe sleeping at the lighthouse (which is actually one of this place´s room) would have been interesting but we did not feel like going to Disneyland while in one of the most authentic cities in the caribbean. Nonetheless we must say El Forro had convenient location to the fun Bocas environment. We loved the wonderful Pizzas at Calaluna and the drinks at Mondo Taitu. Restaurant Tom (closeby) was also one of the best spots. Aloha!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Vicent_MaxRomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay. The cabins are small but seem like they are brand new; very clean and tastefully decorated. The bed is quite small. The private decking overhanging the water is very cool. We saw starfish, baracudas and stingrays beneath us and the water taxis can pick you up from your deck as they go past. Breakfast is just a couple of pieces of fruit, toast and jam with coffee - could be more. The owners are very nice but do not speak any english so may be tough if you do not speak spanish.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CountingStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

I am a regular Bocas visitor and two months ago I tried this new (?) place situated next to Carenero´s Mystic Casa Acuario. I will not repeat.
We had cruised by this place on our way to go surfing and we were surprised and curious about the WARNING fake lighthouse... So we decided to stay. How dissapointing!!!! We were at Shed # 4 and the room was so small. The shower did not function properly and was already dirty from previous visitor. The first night we found quite a few curly hairs glued on the wall and one in our bed. Then the second night no more bizarre hair. LOL thank God.

For the first time in our lives my girlfriend and I could do a "2 in 1": THE WORKS. Brush our teeth while sitting on the toilet seat. Certainly we saved time but any women´s nightmare.

Though, the italian lighthouse manager on duty was quite nice as I argued with him that this place was the tiniest shed we have ever been to. Please, CERTAINLY NOT FOR HONEYMOON COUPLES!!! We requested more towels to the cleaning crew and they never brought them. Then we requested to talk to the hostel owners because we needed more towels, but after a long discussion, they argued that they don´t live in Panama. Then we decided to move to CASA ACUARIO where we have stayed before and there were no surprises: As good as always, reliable, clean and spacious. Bocas is best.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
49  Thank Christina_G_Longhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

After two weeks traveling through Costa Rica, it was time to relax. And for relaxing this is the place, magical & paradise. This B&B A real honeymoon spot. The accommodation has 5 cute cottages with great view all over the bay. In the evening time you can enjoy the silence and watch the sealife swimming around you cottage (they've attaged a light under the plankbridge, so you can see thornbacks 'flying' close to your house).

The Italian owner and his wife with their cute little boy Celvin stole our heart, they treat you like a friend. One night we ate in the accommodation (next to Breakfast it's also possible to eat dinner: real grilled fish! delicious!)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George-en-Loes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bocas del Toro Province hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
558 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 3 in Isla Solarte
391 reviews
14.9 mi away
Urraca Private Island
Urraca Private Island
#1 of 3 in Isla Popa
127 reviews
11.9 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Faro del Colibri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Faro del Colibri

Address: Carenero, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Bocas del Toro Province
Price Range: $81 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Faro del Colibri 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HotelAcqua LodgeInternet WirelessTvHot WaterPrivate BalconiesWe are at 7 minutes of the beach and 2 minutes of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your El Faro del Colibri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing