We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place!”
Review of Up In The Hill

Up In The Hill
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful & secluded cabin on the highest hill of Isla Bastimentos, overlooking Pantai surf break. Fully equipped with kitchen, queen sized bed, bedsofa, living area, deck and hotwater shower. The cabin is solar powered, with a rain water catchment system.The cabin sits a short distance from Up in the Hill Coffee Shop on an organic chocolate and tropical fruit farm. A 15 minute walk, through beautiful tropical jungle, from the Caribbean town of Old Bank, and 20 minutes from the stunning Wizard Beach, an ideal place for surfing or sunning. The cabin is a perfect base for surf trips, hikes or ideal for a quiet retreat away from it all. Delicious breakfast or home-made pizzas, gnocchi, organic salads can be ordered from the Up in the Hill Coffee ShopStaying Up in the Hill is a truly unique experience where you can have luxury, healthy living, and adventure while being away from it all.
Tel Aviv District, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An amazing place!”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed about a week in the cabin at up in the hill. The cabin is perfect - ocean view, hidden by trees and plants. Also it is very cozy and nice from the inside. Jennete and havi the owners have been wonderful. The beach near by is amazing and good for surfing as well. By far the best place in our trip at panama!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Falool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“definitely worth the visit”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Delicious banana bread, probably the best brownie I have had with delicious coffee served by charming Santiago and Maria on the verandah overlooking the peaceful garden of different trees, flowers, birds and butterflies. We also bought some of the organic products made there. It is definitely worth the walk - wear sneakers and bring a walking stick if it has been raining - through and above town with some beautiful views across town and out to sea. We were lucky to see a mother and baby sloth - pointed out by the equally charming little boy who lives up there. It was open on Sunday.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing stay!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had an amazing time at Up in the Hill. Janette and Javi could not have been better hosts - so helpful, accommodating and the nicest family you could ask for. The cabin had an incredible view and was very comfortable. It really was the perfect getaway for a couple with tons of fun and exciting things to do nearby. Make sure to bring headlamps for up and down to town in the dark.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“BEST THING TO DO IN BOCAS”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We had such a great time visiting Up in the Hill. we have 2 young children and visiting the organic farm and witnessing the process of making chocolate from scratch was fascinating and delicious. What we loved the most:
- The owners (Javier and Janet and their 3 boys) are really genuine people and extremely welcoming. The 3 boys were adorable friendly polite and so articulate. It was a pleasure to meet them.
- The farm is beautiful and trully organic and sustainable. They have build an amazing cafe and cabanas up on this hill.
- We saw 2 red frogs
- They sell lots of great organic home made products and local handycraft. Great to load up on gifts.... since colon is lacking so much of this.
- Javier makes the best empanadas and the brownies are just the best brownies you will ever eat. (Made with coconut oil)

We really recommend this little paradise to everyone.
Congrats to Janet and Javier for building such a lovely place and family.
Nicolas Sayaka Taiyo and Kai


Helpful?
Thank Nicolas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jungle fever?”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Went there with my GF for a jungle retreat! We needed to relax and have fun adventure outside the beaten track! And this was the best place, perfectly remote and an convenient 10 mins boat ride to the main island if you need anything.
Get ready for the muddy jungle hikes on the Island many trails. There no roads but trails on this Bastimentos - which make it even more awesome :-)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PatLaCroix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up In The Hill also viewed

Bocas del Toro Province, Panama
Isla Bastimentos, Bocas del Toro Province
 

Been to Up In The Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing