We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Riverside Inn Boquete
Ranked #5 of 27 Boquete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2011

We had such a lovely time during our short trip to Boquete and the Riverside Inn. We can't recommend this place enough. Robert was incredibly gracious and welcoming, to this beautiful gem.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for The Riverside Inn Boquete
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 222 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2011

It is hard to know where to begin to describe the pleasures of a stay at the Riverside Inn. It all begins with the GM, Robert Cook, a gentleman of the highest order who is passionately committed to seeing that your stay surpasses your highest expectations. Thank you, Robert, for all of your help with coordinating our activities and transportation. The Inn itself is warm, cozy, and beautiful. Imagine yourself sitting in front of a roaring fire, sipping a drink, as you watch the "bajareque" mists cascade down the lush surrounding hillsides and see the power of the Palo Alto River churning outside. Our room was clean, comfortable, and very large: our two teenage sons loved hanging out in the upstairs loft. And finally, the Inn's restaurant is simply extraordinary by any measure: food and service of the highest quality enhanced by gorgeous views in all directions. Oh, as an aside, we were fortunate to have an excellent taxi driver for two trips to David; ask Robert to call Osman at (507) 6467-7818 to arrange transportation. Thanks, Robert and the Riverside Inn team, for making our stay in Boquete memorable on all counts.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PassionateTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

I stayed in the Riverside Inn in Boquete for 3 days; would very enjoyed a few more days, alas the hotel was booked.

During the period Boquete was in the throes of celebrating the Flower and Coffee festival, a great time to visit, albeit with thumping disco music filling the town until 4 in the morning. I came to Boquete for peace and quiet and the Riverside Inn was simply the best choice in town. The hotel itself is is situated a short walk up the river, a couple of turns from the sounds of the town. Whereas the guests I met in town spent the night searching for ear plugs, I had the windows wide open with just the sound of the river lulling me to sleep.

With excellent rooms and prices, the real gem of the hotel is simply the bi-lingual general manager Robert Cook. Robert is the quintessential host; a true ambassador for the hotel, Bochete and Panama itself. As you travel around the world, it's rarely the rooms or the hotels you remember, it's the way you are treated. Wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to travelers .

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kmuggleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

The minute we arrived we were very personably greeted by Robert the manager. He gave us a complete tour of the facility and helped us make reservations for a rafting trip the next day. He went out of his way to help us dry our rafting gear when we came back. Very seldom you encounter a manager that is so helpful.

This is not a B&B you have to share with owners making you feel you are in someone’s house and is not as cold and impersonal as a hotel. We felt like we were in a high end house that happened to have other guests. The weather did not cooperate and we had to leave as the rain was not going to stop. It is a shame as Boquete and this Inn were the best things we encountered in our 10 days in Panama.

The restaurant next to the property was excellent and we had a very nice dinner with very good service.

Except for the terrible review before mine all the good reviews are true and Robert should be cloned as Panama sorely needs good tourist service!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

What a shame! The riverside inn is in the great town of Boquete, which offers so much. The hotel however does not. It is architecturally charming, has nice rooms and has a comfortable B&B feel. With poor service, all these elements are meaningless. The manager, Robert, is completely inept and has no place in hospitality. Why he chose this profession is beyond all of us - he doesn't care, doesn't run an efficient operation, and couldn't be bothered to go beyond the minimum to make you feel welcome.

All of the following occured to me and my family, and none garnered an apology or even a hint of care from the manager:
- no towels in rooms for 24hours
- no toilet paper in the room
- leaking roof
- satellite tv not functional in one of two rooms
- Breakfast (eggs and bacon) for six served cold - made to feel as if it were our fault

In all fairness, there was a young gentleman named Chris who had just joined the team who seemed genuinely interested in correcting their failures and apologies. Unfortunately, his manager was so uncaring it couldn't possibly come across as genuine.

One major caveat about this hotel - it has been destroyed three times by flash floods in the past and rebuilt. A bit unnerving to stay there during heavy rains.

Pros:
- Architecturally charming
- Unique rooms
- B&B feel and layout

Cons:
- Very poor management and service
- Inadequate staff to service hotel - no staff on premises after hours

Overall, I could never recommend anyone stay here with current management in place. The place has so much potential to be great and charming, but is destroyed at the service level.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luv2snwbrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertRiversideInn, Manager at The Riverside Inn Boquete, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2011

Our policy is when guests actions result in damages to the property, we charge the guests for the cost of repairs. This negative review is an attempt to hurt our reputation and lower our ratings in retaliation for charging for damages. We will not change our policy on charging guests for damages despite receiving a negative review in return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

What else can be said?

1. Stunning view
2. Top-notch service from the manager Robert
3. Comfortable, clean rooms.
4. Quiet and calming atmosphere.
5. Exceptionally affordable for what you get.

We will be back again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warrenlgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

I went to Panama with my wife and when we got to the hotel we were surprized. The hotel is very well maintained and very clean. Robert the manager was awesome we were greeted at the door and given a great tour and story of the property very attentive and very willing to help. Looking foward to another visit we had a great time. Once again thank you for all the attention Robert we will see you again.

Valerie & Brian

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brynmontero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#10 of 12 in Boquete
130 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
1.9 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
4.0 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
391 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Montana y el Valle Coffee Estate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside Inn Boquete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside Inn Boquete

Address: De Abril 11 | Palo Alto, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range: $85 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Riverside Inn Boquete 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Inn Boquete, nestled in the mountains of the Palo Alto area of Boquete, Panama, offers an enchanting blend of luxury and classical architecture. Overlooking the Palo Alto River this exquisite boutique hotel has been lovingly designed to achieve an atmosphere of romantic splendor. Surrounded by a lush, tropical landscape, each spacious suite has been luxuriously furnished providing a combination of serenity and sophisticated living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Riverside Inn Boquete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Inn Boquete Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing