We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owners moved heaven and earth to accomodate us”
Review of Finca Lerida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Finca Lerida
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We arrived soon after the hotel was taken over by new owners - and I understand that the manager had been in situ for only three days. They had inheritted a couple of problems but did everything that they could to accomodate us. A couple of people (including me) in the group had rooms that were of a lower quality than average, and we received free meals and wine to compensate - even though we did not make a formal complaint.

A number of the rooms had already been refurbished and a couple more were being renovated when we were there. I have therefore based the score on an average taking into account the good rooms and the odd couple that have yet to be refurbished. Had it not been for the odd couple of rooms (which were worth two or three out of five) the score may have been higher!

The food here is great and the service is VERY attentive. I would recommend this hotel, which I am sure will be fantastic when the new owners have had the chance to make their mark.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanHockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
There are newer reviews for Finca Lerida
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 391 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2011

Our 4 days at the Finca, whilst harvesting was in full swing, were fascinating and provided a thorough insight into the production of coffee. The views across the valley are breathtaking. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was good and the accommodation in one of their cabins was comfortable. All-in-all, a very memorable stay at Lerida.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank expatriado45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Grounds, birds and views all exceptional. Rooms are darlingly decorated with new toile fabrics, wood plank floors and crystal chandeliers. (very Parisian, shabby chic) Fantastic shower. And a great flat screen TV if your travel partner isn't into the nature experience. I'd go back in a hearbeat. Be sure to bring their coffee home...we did not buy enough.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Laurie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Finca Lerida, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thanks for share your comments .
We are working for make the experience even better.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We spent one night at Finca Lerida, and would have loved to stay longer. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms really stylish with incredibly comfortable mattresses, and the people are quite friendly. We walked around the area, and it's very peaceful and has nice trails to go up to watch birds. There is a restaurant which has good relatively simple food, although the decor would make you think they're going to try to take it upscale at some point. The only drawback was that we asked for breakfast at 6AM so we could be out on the trail early, but when we arrived for breakfast, there was nobody around, and they didn't show up until after 6:30. Still, this is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, Guest Relations Manager at Finca Lerida, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest:
We want to apologize if your experience at our restaurant wasnt the best. Since your stay we had made some changes in our procedures and we had been improving in service and quality.
Thanks for let us know ur comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

I agree with Sligo98-Finca Lerida is in a great location, has wonderful grounds and great potential, but it is run quite poorly, with nobody seemingly in charge. We had a disappointing stay. The food also was not very good, and the kitchen staff did not seem able to cope -long waits for food to be served, and when it arrived it was cold.
Special mention though to birding guide Cesar Caballero who is a real asset to the finca and an altogether great guy!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, Director of Sales at Finca Lerida, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Since your last stay we had made many changes, one of them is new administration and new rooms. We always are looking forward to improve and get better every day. Thanks for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

This is in a spectacular location, with amazing rainforest adjacent to it, but the new owners don't know how to decorate or run a hotel. Bad decor, bad service, and it's not even close to being Eco.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sligo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisG1, Guest Relations Manager at Finca Lerida, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

We appreaciate your comments.
Actually we are run by a new administration since 2011. We had redecor the rooms and all the buildings of the property. Also we had added 6 more rooms: " Junior Suites" with Marble details in toilets and outdoor/indoors chimneys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Since it was the off season (August), online it said that the prices were half off. We decided to try it. Imagine our delight at getting a such a beautiful, odor free room and wonderful service for just $88/ night for 2 people/2 beds. Everyone was so friendly, caring and helpful. For example, one night it rained heavily. We found that a huge umbrella had been left on our porch for us to use to walk to the little restaurant. We liked the food and choices. Be sure to bring some long sleeves and a jacket. It was chilly at night, especially if you don't have enough dry clothes! We would have like a little heat in our room but the beds were so cozy, warm and comfortable. Plenty of hot water for showers. // We could have hired a birding guide but he wasn't available. So we walked by ourselves and managed to see several quetzals on two different days and 2 locations! We also found a huge 2-toed sloth! The rain forest behind all the coffee is just wonderful with well-marked trails, some more adventurous than others but not strenuous. We walked to 2 different little waterfalls just wearing chaco sandals--but shoes or boots would have been better. // We could have gone on their coffee tour but had done one elsewhere. There was no pressure to go on tours or to hire a guide. // I really don't consider it an "eco lodge" since they use pesticides but there is indeed magic there.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisG1, Guest Relations Manager at Finca Lerida, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thanks for your comments, We are glad that your stay was pleasant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
4.6 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
339 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
6.0 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#10 of 12 in Boquete
131 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Panamonte
Hotel Panamonte
#6 of 12 in Boquete
203 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#8 of 12 in Boquete
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Lerida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Lerida

Address: Alto Quiel, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Boquete
Price Range: $98 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca Lerida 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Lérida Coffee Plantation & Boutique Hotel, is the unique Boutique Hotel located inside a Coffee Plantation and surrounded by a National Park.Finca Lerida offer to our visitors 21 deluxe comfortable rooms, Coffee Shop, Restaurant, Bar, Banquets and Events.We are well known for our Coffee tours and Birding tours. In the new list of services Finca Lerida is ofering to the customers: Half Day Panoramic Tours, External Hiking Tours to Los Quetzales Trail, 4x4 Tour to Baru Volcano, Horseback riding and Hotsprings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Finca Lerida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing