We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisitely peaceful”
Review of Finca Lerida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Finca Lerida
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa Bay, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisitely peaceful”
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Grounds, birds and views all exceptional. Rooms are darlingly decorated with new toile fabrics, wood plank floors and crystal chandeliers. (very Parisian, shabby chic) Fantastic shower. And a great flat screen TV if your travel partner isn't into the nature experience. I'd go back in a hearbeat. Be sure to bring their coffee home...we did not buy enough.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laurie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thanks for share your comments .
We are working for make the experience even better.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    109
    31
    15
    4
See reviews for
110
166
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA, USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We spent one night at Finca Lerida, and would have loved to stay longer. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms really stylish with incredibly comfortable mattresses, and the people are quite friendly. We walked around the area, and it's very peaceful and has nice trails to go up to watch birds. There is a restaurant which has good relatively simple food, although the decor would make you think they're going to try to take it upscale at some point. The only drawback was that we asked for breakfast at 6AM so we could be out on the trail early, but when we arrived for breakfast, there was nobody around, and they didn't show up until after 6:30. Still, this is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, Guest Relations Manager at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest:
We want to apologize if your experience at our restaurant wasnt the best. Since your stay we had made some changes in our procedures and we had been improving in service and quality.
Thanks for let us know ur comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

I agree with Sligo98-Finca Lerida is in a great location, has wonderful grounds and great potential, but it is run quite poorly, with nobody seemingly in charge. We had a disappointing stay. The food also was not very good, and the kitchen staff did not seem able to cope -long waits for food to be served, and when it arrived it was cold.
Special mention though to birding guide Cesar Caballero who is a real asset to the finca and an altogether great guy!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, Director of Sales at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Since your last stay we had made many changes, one of them is new administration and new rooms. We always are looking forward to improve and get better every day. Thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

This is in a spectacular location, with amazing rainforest adjacent to it, but the new owners don't know how to decorate or run a hotel. Bad decor, bad service, and it's not even close to being Eco.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sligo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisG1, Guest Relations Manager at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We appreaciate your comments.
Actually we are run by a new administration since 2011. We had redecor the rooms and all the buildings of the property. Also we had added 6 more rooms: " Junior Suites" with Marble details in toilets and outdoor/indoors chimneys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Since it was the off season (August), online it said that the prices were half off. We decided to try it. Imagine our delight at getting a such a beautiful, odor free room and wonderful service for just $88/ night for 2 people/2 beds. Everyone was so friendly, caring and helpful. For example, one night it rained heavily. We found that a huge umbrella had been left on our porch for us to use to walk to the little restaurant. We liked the food and choices. Be sure to bring some long sleeves and a jacket. It was chilly at night, especially if you don't have enough dry clothes! We would have like a little heat in our room but the beds were so cozy, warm and comfortable. Plenty of hot water for showers. // We could have hired a birding guide but he wasn't available. So we walked by ourselves and managed to see several quetzals on two different days and 2 locations! We also found a huge 2-toed sloth! The rain forest behind all the coffee is just wonderful with well-marked trails, some more adventurous than others but not strenuous. We walked to 2 different little waterfalls just wearing chaco sandals--but shoes or boots would have been better. // We could have gone on their coffee tour but had done one elsewhere. There was no pressure to go on tours or to hire a guide. // I really don't consider it an "eco lodge" since they use pesticides but there is indeed magic there.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisG1, Guest Relations Manager at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for your comments, We are glad that your stay was pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2010

The Finca Lerida is a newish lodge (and a few older rooms) in the middle of a coffee plantation about 15 minutes outside Boquete. It is legendary among birders--people come from around the world to hike its trails. Expect all your fellow guests to get up very early and to bring their binoculars to lunch--but you're not roughing it.

The rooms were a surprise. Beds were very comfortable, closet space was plentiful and bathrooms were luxe. Water was hot; water pressure great. Each lodge room has its own pleasant little private-ish patio with a clear view of lots of hummingbirds buzzing around the well-maintained grounds. In some contexts, the place calls itself an ecolodge, but there didn't seem to be a lot of green-y touches, aside from the CFL bulbs.

On-premises restaurant was small, with a short, simple menu. But food was well prepared and priced competitively with restaurants in Boquete. Bird guides were also fairly priced and know the grounds well. We didn't do the coffee tour, but other guests praised it.

Service was a bit weird. Although the lodge has spacious common rooms, there isn't a front desk per se. (Maybe when they have bird groups in, things are different.) The waitstaff on duty in the restaurant handled things such as billing and taxis. They were lovely and helpful, but it was still odd. Not bad, just odd.

Cabs into Boquete cost $5 to $7. Cab to the airport in David cost $40. Roads were good, so driving would definitely be an option.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OtraGringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisG1, Guest Relations Manager at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for your comments.
We are glad that your stay with us had been pleasant.
We took seriously the comments of our customers and since your last stay we had made some improvements in the service. We have a more variety of dishes in our menu and we have a Front Desk located in the first building of the Farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2010

We had 5 nights in the beautiful and peaceful location. The restaurant is good and reasonably priced. The staff are very helpful. The grounds are beautifully kept and the rooms and clean. The coffee tour is very interesting and I would also recommend a guided bridwatching tour, which was very interesting. There are other attractions within the vacinity and as we had hired a car in Panama City, they were all easily accessible. I would recommend this location very highly for a lovely relaxing stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IcebearLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, Director of Sales at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks for your comments.
We appreciate your comments and are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us.
Now we have some new rooms an areas such as La Amistad bar. Our rooms are fully new style furnished , we would like to have again as our customer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
4.6 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 11 in Boquete
338 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
6.0 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Panamonte
Hotel Panamonte
#6 of 11 in Boquete
202 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 11 in Boquete
127 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#7 of 11 in Boquete
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Lerida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Lerida

Property: Finca Lerida
Address: Alto Quiel, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca Lerida 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Lérida Coffee Plantation & Boutique Hotel, is the unique Boutique Hotel located inside a Coffee Plantation and surrounded by a National Park.Finca Lerida offer to our visitors 21 deluxe comfortable rooms, Coffee Shop, Restaurant, Bar, Banquets and Events.We are well known for our Coffee tours and Birding tours. In the new list of services Finca Lerida is ofering to the customers: Half Day Panoramic Tours, External Hiking Tours to Los Quetzales Trail, 4x4 Tour to Baru Volcano, Horseback riding and Hotsprings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Finca Lerida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing