We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners might ruin it”
Review of Finca Lerida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Finca Lerida
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New owners might ruin it”
Reviewed December 30, 2010

This is in a spectacular location, with amazing rainforest adjacent to it, but the new owners don't know how to decorate or run a hotel. Bad decor, bad service, and it's not even close to being Eco.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sligo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisG1, Guest Relations Manager at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We appreaciate your comments.
Actually we are run by a new administration since 2011. We had redecor the rooms and all the buildings of the property. Also we had added 6 more rooms: " Junior Suites" with Marble details in toilets and outdoor/indoors chimneys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    108
    31
    15
    4
See reviews for
108
164
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Since it was the off season (August), online it said that the prices were half off. We decided to try it. Imagine our delight at getting a such a beautiful, odor free room and wonderful service for just $88/ night for 2 people/2 beds. Everyone was so friendly, caring and helpful. For example, one night it rained heavily. We found that a huge umbrella had been left on our porch for us to use to walk to the little restaurant. We liked the food and choices. Be sure to bring some long sleeves and a jacket. It was chilly at night, especially if you don't have enough dry clothes! We would have like a little heat in our room but the beds were so cozy, warm and comfortable. Plenty of hot water for showers. // We could have hired a birding guide but he wasn't available. So we walked by ourselves and managed to see several quetzals on two different days and 2 locations! We also found a huge 2-toed sloth! The rain forest behind all the coffee is just wonderful with well-marked trails, some more adventurous than others but not strenuous. We walked to 2 different little waterfalls just wearing chaco sandals--but shoes or boots would have been better. // We could have gone on their coffee tour but had done one elsewhere. There was no pressure to go on tours or to hire a guide. // I really don't consider it an "eco lodge" since they use pesticides but there is indeed magic there.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisG1, Guest Relations Manager at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for your comments, We are glad that your stay was pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2010

The Finca Lerida is a newish lodge (and a few older rooms) in the middle of a coffee plantation about 15 minutes outside Boquete. It is legendary among birders--people come from around the world to hike its trails. Expect all your fellow guests to get up very early and to bring their binoculars to lunch--but you're not roughing it.

The rooms were a surprise. Beds were very comfortable, closet space was plentiful and bathrooms were luxe. Water was hot; water pressure great. Each lodge room has its own pleasant little private-ish patio with a clear view of lots of hummingbirds buzzing around the well-maintained grounds. In some contexts, the place calls itself an ecolodge, but there didn't seem to be a lot of green-y touches, aside from the CFL bulbs.

On-premises restaurant was small, with a short, simple menu. But food was well prepared and priced competitively with restaurants in Boquete. Bird guides were also fairly priced and know the grounds well. We didn't do the coffee tour, but other guests praised it.

Service was a bit weird. Although the lodge has spacious common rooms, there isn't a front desk per se. (Maybe when they have bird groups in, things are different.) The waitstaff on duty in the restaurant handled things such as billing and taxis. They were lovely and helpful, but it was still odd. Not bad, just odd.

Cabs into Boquete cost $5 to $7. Cab to the airport in David cost $40. Roads were good, so driving would definitely be an option.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OtraGringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisG1, Guest Relations Manager at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for your comments.
We are glad that your stay with us had been pleasant.
We took seriously the comments of our customers and since your last stay we had made some improvements in the service. We have a more variety of dishes in our menu and we have a Front Desk located in the first building of the Farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2010

We had 5 nights in the beautiful and peaceful location. The restaurant is good and reasonably priced. The staff are very helpful. The grounds are beautifully kept and the rooms and clean. The coffee tour is very interesting and I would also recommend a guided bridwatching tour, which was very interesting. There are other attractions within the vacinity and as we had hired a car in Panama City, they were all easily accessible. I would recommend this location very highly for a lovely relaxing stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IcebearLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, Director of Sales at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks for your comments.
We appreciate your comments and are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us.
Now we have some new rooms an areas such as La Amistad bar. Our rooms are fully new style furnished , we would like to have again as our customer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newyork
Level Contributor
116 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

We spent 2 days/3 nights in this lovely place. The views (every room has one) are stunning and the gardening incredible. The flowers are so abundant that 11 species of hummigbird can be seen as you walk around the grounds. The coffee finca abuts a national park on the slopes of the volcano, so there are excellent hiking trails and superb birding - especially if you go with the Finca's guide, Cesar. Cesar knows where and at what time of day the resplendent quetzal feeds, and he will work very hard to find one for you - we had a spectacular view of one. I also highly recommend the Finca's coffee tour - it's fascinating to learn the complexities of how premium quality coffee is cultivated, processed and marketed. The staff are laid back in a very positive way and will make you feel you are part of the family. If you fly into David from Panama City, they will arrange a taxi (cost ~ $45) to bring you to the Finca; it's about 5 miles north of Boquete but at a high altitude (~1600 meters), so bring a warm sweater or jacket for evening and early morning.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bornin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisG1, Guest Relations Manager at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We are glad that your stay with us was pleasant.

Thanks again for choosing us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
170 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Finca Lerida Ecolodge is located about 30 minutes by car along a winding road up the mountain from the city of Boquete. It is a secluded lodge on a nearly 100 year-old working coffee farm and is very quiet and peaceful.

The rooms in the lodge are set up for sleeping and showering only, but the lodge has a large shared common area with a fireplace for lounging around. There are also some other guest facilities available (see their web site) but I had no experience with them.

The restaurant is down the hill from the lodge and near the coffee processing area. It serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and is open to tourists and locals alike. The food is simple but very good and the staff works very hard to please. And the coffee - it is perhaps the best I have ever had.

The grounds are beautiful, well maintained and heavily planted with blooming plants to attract hummingbirds, of which there are many. There are also good trails throughout this 650 acre property for hiking and wildlife viewing, mostly birds. But be aware that there are substantial elevation changes involved.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinWhitewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, Director of Sales at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks for your comments.
We appreciate your comments and are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us.
Since your last stay we had impove some areas, you are welcome to come back and try it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Finca Lerida is a great place to go and get away. Fantastic sounds and views. The finca is beautiful, and has plenty to see and do on the property. The food at their restaurant is good and affordable if you don't want to make the drive back into town.

I recommend this to anyone, and will return.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyclical00GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, Director of Sales at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks for your comments.
We appreciate your comments and are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
4.6 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 11 in Boquete
334 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
6.0 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#6 of 11 in Boquete
190 reviews
4.5 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Hotel Panamonte
Hotel Panamonte
#7 of 11 in Boquete
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Lerida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Lerida

Property: Finca Lerida
Address: Alto Quiel, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca Lerida 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Lérida Coffee Plantation & Boutique Hotel, is the unique Boutique Hotel located inside a Coffee Plantation and surrounded by a National Park.Finca Lerida offer to our visitors 21 deluxe comfortable rooms, Coffee Shop, Restaurant, Bar, Banquets and Events.We are well known for our Coffee tours and Birding tours. In the new list of services Finca Lerida is ofering to the customers: Half Day Panoramic Tours, External Hiking Tours to Los Quetzales Trail, 4x4 Tour to Baru Volcano, Horseback riding and Hotsprings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Finca Lerida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing