We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overall experience”
Review of Finca Lerida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Finca Lerida
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great overall experience”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This hotel is spectacularly beautiful, with flowers and colorful birds abound. The beds and pillows were comfortable, and a great assortment of soaps, lotions and shampoos were provided. the staff was friendly, the rooms were clean with hardwood floors and reasonably spacious, and we enjoyed relaxing on the large hammock in front of the room. As far as the rooms go, the only downside is that the walls are pretty thin; fortunately we had considerate neighbors, but I can see that this could be an issue if the hotel is crowded and you have someone in the rooms on either side of you (we were in one of the older rooms up on the hill near the bar area), perhaps the newer rooms near the restaurant are better). There are trails to go on a nature walk for bird watching or relaxation right outside of the rooms. The hotel is about a $7 cab ride from town, which is not a big deal other than that you really need to plan ahead if you are going elsewhere for dinner, because the cabs are sparse in the evenings and you have to have your restaurant call ahead (the later you dine, the longer the wait for a cab, as Boquete is early to rise so there aren't a lot of cabbies working after dinner).

The restaurant, Monniche, warrants its own review, as it was the best place in town (and we ate at several of the top restaurants in Boquete). The banana pancakes at breakfast were to die for, and the coffee was the best on our trip. Other standouts for lunch and dinner included the trout salad, the whole trout (dinner entree), the fresh & fried ceviche, and the tomato soup. We got some of the coffee to bring home with us from the cafe in the hotel reception. They did not have a tasting available of the different roasts, but they did have a good selection to buy as beans (we went on a coffee tour elsewhere).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank majorcubfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Customer:

Thanks for share your comments.
We are glad that your experience was pleasant.
We are taking note of all your comments in order to improve our service even better.
Thanks again for be one of our selected customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    108
    31
    15
    4
See reviews for
108
164
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Nothing like a bunch of ill-mannered children tended by equally ill-mannered and insensitive parents to ruin a quiet evening. During dinner, had to take refuge in the bathroom to get a moment's peace. Will definitely not be returning!

Too bad the staff isn't better trained. Advertise peace and tranquility and get the opposite.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank DoctaraCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

A beautiful place with fantastic grounds full of fabulous birdlife. However it was a cold, wet and breezy time when we visited for 2 nights in November and we were cold as there is no heating in the rooms. Getting to the restaurant at the bottom of the site if you are at the top of the site means getting very wet and cold and then an uphill walk back... Evening meals were plentiful and tasty. However we were particularly disappointed with the breakfast as you can only choose one plate of freshly prepared food. We could not have toast or fruit juice in addition and a second cup of coffee was reluctantly served. We wanted a hearty breakfast as we were going trecking on the quetzal trail.

Room Tip: Avoid being next door to bar in top block as sound insulation is poor and when TV was on in bar we c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Arrived for a couple of days in early December 2013. We took turns to swing in the hammock set up on our porch. One other occupant at the time of our stay at the upper part of the hotel so it was very peaceful. Took the Coffee tour with Cesar at $38 @ person, which was very informative. Spanish and English, be patient and get your English language questions in if the conversation is Spanish. As we were staying at the hotel we were there when the picking crew came by to weigh in their day's work and that was a worthwhile thing to see. Breakfast which was included with the room ($135 plus tax) was great. Coffee was good as well. Dinner was excellent. The more expensive rooms have their own fireplaces however the top row of rooms where we stayed have a bar in the middle and the bartender lit the fire when asked. We would return to stay here. The staff were friendly and booking online made for good value.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Customer;

Thanks for share your experience at our hotel.
We appreciate your comments and as always we will share them with our staff to encourage them to keep working an improve our services.
We would like to wish you happy holidays and a good 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel was amazing - the grounds are immaculate and you feel as though you are in paradise. Birds of all sorts are all around, each room has a hammock, and many have outdoor fireplaces. There is a lovely bar and the restaurant is excellent. Good hiking trails as well.
It is definitely off the beaten path from the town of Boquete. However, I found Boquete to be lacking - not much to do, no real shopping for local wares, pretty small. So Finca Lerida was perfect - we didnt really ever want to leave

Room Tip: Only some rooms have the outdoor fireplace, so if you want one make sure to specify.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Customer:
GReetings from Finca LErida Coffee Plantation & Boutique Hotel.
We are glad that your stay with us was pleasant.
Thanks for share your comments, and we are looking forward to have you again as our customer in the future.
Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The had a very very nice time in Finca Lerida! The rooms are in colonial style, nice and clean, the shower is awsome (modern, with a remote control and different light colours...). The garden is full of flowers and there are lots and lots of hummingbirds. We really like to recommend the coffee tour, Rolando made it really special and we enjoyed his temperament, his jokes and his knowledge of coffee (and beyond :-) If you want to see him laugh ask him about honey and eggs when he explains about coffeebeans and cats.....).
The "Senderos" (hinking trails) were marked and it was good to find and we liked the tour especially the waterfall is amazing!!!
The food in the restauarnt is very delicious and worth spending some time there. For breakfast you have to have the pancakes, wow!!
Thanks for the really nice stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junsan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest:
We are glad that your experience was pleasant.
Thanks for share with us your comments, we will share them with our staff in order to encourage them to always improve our service and offer our customers a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We came to Boquete for business and chose Finca Lerida by the reviews we read @ trip advisor and booking, and let me tell you that it was the right call.
The staff is great, the food was excellent and the view... Oh what a view... It's pure nature, nothing but fresh air to relax with the best espresso... A must go to place... Believe me... The photos doesn't reflect the feeling... Thanx everyone at Finca Lerida...

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JuanCV1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest:
We are glad that your experience was pleasant.
Thanks for share with us your comments, we will share them with our staff in order to encourage them to always improve our service and offer our customers a great experience.

Thanks for choosing us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
4.6 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 11 in Boquete
334 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
6.0 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#6 of 11 in Boquete
190 reviews
4.5 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Hotel Panamonte
Hotel Panamonte
#7 of 11 in Boquete
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Lerida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Lerida

Property: Finca Lerida
Address: Alto Quiel, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca Lerida 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Lérida Coffee Plantation & Boutique Hotel, is the unique Boutique Hotel located inside a Coffee Plantation and surrounded by a National Park.Finca Lerida offer to our visitors 21 deluxe comfortable rooms, Coffee Shop, Restaurant, Bar, Banquets and Events.We are well known for our Coffee tours and Birding tours. In the new list of services Finca Lerida is ofering to the customers: Half Day Panoramic Tours, External Hiking Tours to Los Quetzales Trail, 4x4 Tour to Baru Volcano, Horseback riding and Hotsprings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Finca Lerida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing