We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“boquete bright spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Finca Lerida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Finca Lerida
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“boquete bright spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

we were quite underwhelmed with boquete. town is dumpy with not a lot to do. restaurants were only adequate. finca how ever is a ways out of town at elevation. very spacious property. green & lush with well maintained & manicured grounds. restaurant was very good. casually elegant. service was good. the area is residential with large properties that are/were apparently coffee farms. rooms were above average & had been recently updated. nice. pricey given what boquete had to offer but for someone looking to disconnect & not be found for a while hiding in this quiet, green, comfortable reasonably well appointed property near boquete this place should be high on the list .
would definetly go back....were i to go back to boquete....which is doubtful

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We are glad that you had a great experience with us.
Is a shame that our Town wasnt what you expected.

Thanks again for choosing us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    104
    30
    15
    4
See reviews for
104
162
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We just spent 4 days at on this lovely coffee farm. We were in a suite with a jacuzzi-suite 2.the room was very spacious ,ceilings were high with some exposed wooden beams , comfy love seat and two side chairs and footstool.the bathroom was also spacious and had a very large shower stall, chaise lounge , the closet and drawers were also in the bathroom it was nicely done. My only criticism is about the mirror the only one in the room is located on a far wall to the left of the sink it was difficult to use. There was a nice selection of toiletries including coffee shampoo (very nice great smell and my hair seemed extra shiny) ,coffee based facial scrub and olive oil based soap always a treat. We had a fireplace both in the room and on our patio.
The breakfast is made to order from the menu the coffee is delicious. We had dinner in the restaurant. Which was very enjoyable it was well served and reasonably priced. I strongly suggest yo stop by the bar by the original hotel they have a nice selection of cocktails,wines in an attractive cozy setting with a terrific bartender Kevin, who is very attentive , personable and knowledgable. The hotel is on the mountain be prepared for rain sometimes just a mist and sometimes a heavy downpour it can be 10 degrees cooler than in town only 10 minutes away. The road to town at night is dark but there are street lights that make the drive very doable. There are several restaurants in town. If you enjoy hiking there are several trails on the property make sure to enjoy these trails ,don't miss the waterfall . If you are planning to stay in Boquete I highly recommend this hotel . Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed a suite with a jacuzzi and a patio number 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thanks for your excelents comments , We are trying day by day to review the comments and try to do the corrective needed and when we have good reviews we talk with our co workers to cheer them up to keep doing the good job when they do it.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were here March 2-4, 2013 (writing this March 4). Beautiful property. Nice 2 hour trail loop on property. Meals are tasty and reasonably priced. Bottles of wine for $15.00. Service lackluster at best. Although they try to accommodate needs when pressed. Remedial level of tour assistance. Part language barrier part lack of knowledge and training regarding off property adventure/Eco-tourism activities. 20 minute car ride to Boquete which costs around $10.00 each way. Hard to get a taxi from hotel to town. Easy from town to hotel. Unless committed to relaxing on property stay would be enhanced greatly by having your own car. Speaking Spanish would also likely improve experience. We experienced very high winds especially at night (close to 40 mph) during our entire stay. No heat in our suite. We did have indoor and outdoor fireplace. They lit outdoor fireplace which created some warmth but room was chilly during our stay. Required pants, socks and warm sweatshirt at night to just be in room. Bedding was warm enough however for sleeping. For us natural beauty and benefits of the hotel would not override other issues and we would pick a different hotel if we were staying in this area again. The hotel would appear to benefit from a more involved management of the tourist experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Springvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
First of all thanks for all your comments. We would like to apologize with you regarding the inconveniences you got in our hotel.
We had send your comment to our General Manager and we will took the corrective actions.
Details about the service in front desk and the customer service will be took as in important part of our training for our employees.
Unfortunately there are things that we can´t control and they are the external taxi service and the weather.
The taxi service in town is actually a general problem. The main complain is the lack of taxis and the delay in the service. As they usually are in downtown is easy to find them there as u mention , but also they are traveling in other routes, so call them have an average of 20 to 25 minutes to get here. That happen in all town not specifically this area, so is important for you to know fo your futures visits to Boquete.
One of the characteristics of Boquete is the good weather it has.. Not too hot not too cold. Unfortunately when you stayed with us a metereological event for 4 days of a cold wind from the north hemisphere that caused the wind and rain that you experimented during your stay with us. This cold front was causing problem along the country not just in this area and we couldnt predict was so cold and windy as it was.
Generally the Boquete weather is between 17°C to 25°C most of the year and extra heating inside the buildings never had been needed.
Thanks again for your comments, We will take carefully all your comments in order to improve our services fot the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

What a lovely place - the gardens and surroundings are beautiful - the lunch was excellent; very good service, fabulous food and would highly recommend!!

We didn't actually stay here, but had a good look around and will definitely go back!

Room Tip: I would seek provacy here, it is so peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for your comments, we are working day by day to make Lerida cozy place in the mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

My family and I recently dined here during our vacation in Boquete. The grounds were beautiful and we hiked the trails after lunch. The coffee was the best we've had in Panama. OUr meal was delicious and the scenery was beautiful. Some standouts were the smoked tomato soup, local smoked trout salad, and another salad with green papaya, pumpkin and passionfruit vinaigrette. Our big complaint was the service. We had a 5 and 7 year old with us and despite asking that their meal come out first (they shared a tuna panini mind you) it came out last - well after all theadult's appetizers and mains. Then, we ordered dessert and waited. And waited. And waited some more. A table next to us cancelled their dessert so they didn't miss their taxi! When it FINALLY came - it was delicious. The coffee flan, the coffee brownie/ice cream and the rum cake with strawberries and basil - all very good. BUT the wait was so long - I would NOT come back here with children - or a schedule.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, Director Comercial at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We really want to apologize for inconveniences that you had in ur stay with us. We had made changes in the delivery of the meal with our waiters and the restaurant.
Thanks for let us know your comments in order to improve our service .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this gem in the mountains near Boquette. We stayed in the hotel room section and had a large, comfortable room with a large and well appointed bathroom (although with such a large bathroom, they could have used more towels racks and shelves). It was not luxurious, but the setting was so beautiful that we immediately began loving our stay. The hotel is situated on a coffee plantation and we were surrounded by well-kept gardens, containing bird houses all over. We could relax in our hammock and listen to all sorts of birds. Interestingly, we never saw birds on the trails which are part of the plantation. Maybe if we had a guide, we might have seen some, but it got to be a joke after awhile because supposedly there are hundreds of species of birds, including the resplendant quaetzel. We took the coffee tour, which was interesting, albeit somewhat pricey. I was surprised to read reviews of people who found both the staff and the food not up to par. We had neither experience. We found that the staff was friendly and helpful. We were surprised by how good the food was in such an isolated area. One night we ate at Panamonte Inn in Boquette and found the food there very good.

Room Tip: The walls in the hotel section are thin so that you can hear your neighbors, but there is nothing to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mxalpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are really glad that you had enjoyed your stay and our services at the restaurant.
We are going to take your recommendation about extra towels ans shelves.
Here the nature is a bit unpredictable and even the birds are aware the weather changes and they are very sensitive to the weather. If rains much they dont go out as used to be.
Also in February, the Resplandecent Quetzal is in nesting season and spend most of the day in his nest. For that reason a birdwatching tour can explain you more how to see this bird or if you are a birdwatcher.
We apologize for that fact, but nature is unpredictable and out of our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is really a beautiful place to stay. The garden setting is superb and the rooms are stylish, clean and comfortable with wonderful hammocks on the balconies. The restaurant food is excellent as is the service by the waiting staff. The reception staff are outstanding and went out of their way to be helpful to us especially in relation to onward baggage being sent to Panama City. However, the bar was not open at the correct time and only after repeated calls to reception did a barman eventually appear. There appears to be a lack of overall management of the hotel by the General Manager who appeared to be oblivious to what was going on and never acknowledged or spoke to his guests. The walks around the area are superb and can be thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeandcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
First of all we want to thank u for let us know your comments. We appreciate all the comments about how you had enjoyed our rooms and restaurant.
We just hope you go your baggage ok in Panama City.
We also want to apologize for the inconvenience that you had in our Bar. Unfortunately our Bartender Kevin was day off and his replacement was on a medical emergency and for that inconvenience the Bar was delayed.
Our General Manager send his apologies for all this inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
4.6 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
6.0 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#6 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
4.5 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 12 in Boquete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Lerida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Lerida

Property: Finca Lerida
Address: Alto Quiel, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca Lerida 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Lérida Coffee Plantation & Boutique Hotel, is the unique Boutique Hotel located inside a Coffee Plantation and surrounded by a National Park.Finca Lerida offer to our visitors 21 deluxe comfortable rooms, Coffee Shop, Restaurant, Bar, Banquets and Events.We are well known for our Coffee tours and Birding tours. In the new list of services Finca Lerida is ofering to the customers: Half Day Panoramic Tours, External Hiking Tours to Los Quetzales Trail, 4x4 Tour to Baru Volcano, Horseback riding and Hotsprings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Finca Lerida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing