We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service and food I've had in Panama yet.”
Review of Finca Lerida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Finca Lerida
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City, Panama
1 review
“Best service and food I've had in Panama yet.”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We've been living in Panama for over a year and I -finally- get why people want to retire here. Boquete was beautiful and a cool oasis away from the city. Finca Lerida capitalizes on that and helps you feel like you are completely separate from the world. For those of you coming from the States, the service will be slightly above average for a hotel of the same caliber. For Panama, we were blown away--FINALLY a place with great staff who smile, are prompt, offer suggestions that make sense, are helpful, knowledgeable about the product, take pride in their work and their place of employment, and genuinely care about the guests and their stay. Even the housekeeping staff paid extra attention to detail and were so kind.

Where to start?

- The rooms were clean, fresh, bright (but not at night with the excellent room-darkening shades), and were an interesting contrast of vintage meets modern. The hard wood plank flooring was a nice touch and in good shape. There was plenty of closet space/storage for a several days' visit. The beds were firm yet comfortable and bed-bug free. There were warm down comforters on the beds. The bathroom had a funky shower with a built-in radio and lights (the shower looked like it was on the lower end of quality but appeared very new). There were nice soaps and lotions, and a plush robe.

- The location was stunning. You are literally in the clouds. The grounds are immaculately maintained and there are cute little birdhouses with lights under them all over the pathways. Even though it was windy and misty most of our stay, we did have some sunny spots and we took a little hike to a waterfall near the property. I want to return. This was the coldest I have been in Panama at between 60-70 degrees.

- The restaurant staff was top-notch. Most of the staff (both hotel and restaurant) appeared to speak good English. The food was a bit pricier than what one would want to pay for every meal out but it matched the high quality and taste of the food. We had the trout and a chicken dish that had sides of pumpkin and parsnip puree, respectively. Excellent flavor. The kids had chicken fingers and fries--with a sprig of rosemary from their herb garden for extra effect. The chef was very attentive to our needs and even procured a turkey for Thanksgiving on his own initiative!

- Speaking of kids, our group had nine children between us ranging in age from 2-13 and the staff were all super nice to the children, always smiling, and very accomodating.

- The only suggestion I would have for the hotel is to put a bit more info on the website about exactly where the hotel is located. It is approximately 600-700 m higher above Boquete, so don't make my mistake and look at the weather report (lows of 70) for Boquete when planning your wardrobe! ;-)

- In sum, I highly recommend this hotel and plan to return as often as possible. It is my new favorite location in Panama.

Room Tip: We chose one of the deluxe rooms with a hammock. When we return, I'd probably pick one a simila...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinpanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisG1, Guest Relations Manager at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We are glad that your stay with us had been pleasant.
We are going to take note of your comments for the future.
Thanks for choosing us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    108
    31
    15
    4
See reviews for
109
166
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay. This is our second time there and we love this fantastic place. The only problem we found was that we couldn't use the chimney in the room for security reasons (the nights are cold) and that we ordered rooms service and never got it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avivmo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisG1, Guest Relations Manager at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks for your comments.
We appreciate your comments and we will take note of them.
At the moment our indoor chimney are just for decoration, we are not using them for security reasons ( smoke in the rooms)
We are going to improve in room service for future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Finca Lerida is a coffee plantation and it is absolutely one of the most beautiful places I've stayed at. There are hiking paths and coffee tours, and the whole property is filled with lush plants such as all kinds of flowers and tomatoes and every morning we were awoken by the birds singing outside of our room. The restaurant has an outdoor area with an amazing view of the property, and they also serve amazing tomato jam for breakfast and great tomato soup and mushroom ravioli for dinner. There's a hammock outside of every cabin for leisurely afternoon reading. The bar also has a rustic decor and an inviting fireplace and it was the perfect place to huddle up with a book or to have a couple of after dinner drinks with friends (love the bailey with chocolate!). The property is about a 15 minute ride from the center of Boquete, but that is exactly why it is such a refuge!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisG1, Guest Relations Manager at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks for your comments, we are glad that you stay with us was pleasant.
Thanks again for choosing us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I had some extra time last week and wanted to break from my normal routine so I decided to explore and I am glad I did. What a magnificent property. I too did not stay at the hotel, I enjoyed a very nice lunch and the views are spectacular. Literally in the clouds. Go. you will be glad you did..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryRama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for your comments, We are glad that your visit to our property was pleasant.
Thanks again for choosing us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We did not stay at the hotel, but we ate at the restaurant. This place has it all. Absolutely gorgeous location, great ambience, unique decoration. The food is absolutely fantastic. They offer great natural fruit juices. Do not go on a trip to drink "Coke". Explore the flavors that Panama has. That is the whole purpose of traveling. We went with my 3 young daughters and it was refreshing to be so close to nature and so far from McDonalds, Burger King, etc. This is a gourmet restaurant nestled in a beautiful boutique hotel in an actual working coffee plantation. The property is located very close to Boquete's main center. Next time, we will definitely try to stay at least for 1 night. It is not cheap, but it is worth trying it for 1 night. We got there too late and could not go on the coffee tour. If you have the time get in early, do the coffee tour and then indulge in a fantastic lunch.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBurgos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisG1, Guest Relations Manager at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks for you comments. We are glad that your stay with us was great for you and your family.
Thanks for choosing us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

the rooms are junior suites overlooking the estate. i recommend the restaurant and you have to order the fresh trout with almonds. Also the coffee tour was outstanding

Room Tip: its not at the center of town. its a a relaxing environment in the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisG1, Guest Relations Manager at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks for your comments . We are glad that your experience in our hotel was pleasant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Staying at Finca Lerida just added to my appreciation of Panama and it's people. The setting is as close to heaven as one could imagine. The abundance of flowers and being in the middle of a coffee plantation was truly remarkable! Make sure you take the coffee tour with Carlos. I have a much greater appreciation of what goes into each cup of brew now. If you like being spoiled with great rooms,good food and beautiful scenery, this is the place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColoTravelorCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Finca Lerida, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for your comments, we are glad that your experience here was pleasant.
Thanks for choosing us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
4.6 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 11 in Boquete
337 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
6.0 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Panamonte
Hotel Panamonte
#7 of 11 in Boquete
202 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 11 in Boquete
127 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#6 of 11 in Boquete
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Lerida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Lerida

Property: Finca Lerida
Address: Alto Quiel, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca Lerida 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Lérida Coffee Plantation & Boutique Hotel, is the unique Boutique Hotel located inside a Coffee Plantation and surrounded by a National Park.Finca Lerida offer to our visitors 21 deluxe comfortable rooms, Coffee Shop, Restaurant, Bar, Banquets and Events.We are well known for our Coffee tours and Birding tours. In the new list of services Finca Lerida is ofering to the customers: Half Day Panoramic Tours, External Hiking Tours to Los Quetzales Trail, 4x4 Tour to Baru Volcano, Horseback riding and Hotsprings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Finca Lerida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing