We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
51
23
10
6
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
51
23
10
6
15
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 105 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2017

This is a wonderful hostel!! We felt at home the minute we got there. Ryan, the owner, had some great input on things we could do and the one full day we spent there was crammed with activities. He took us on a night tour to the hot springs, which was one of the more exciting tours we have done while traveling through Central America. He is also an excellent burrito craftsman and a stellar bartender with backpacker prices!! Seriously, one of the best burrritos I've ever had. This hostel gives you the full experience and I would highly recommend it!

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017

Good as a base for hiking as they have both equipment you may need and accurate information on trails and different options on what to do in the Boquete area. The location is not far from where many trails start. However, the normal route to Volcan Baru is easier to access from Boquete (village). Clean and comfortable bunk beds. Friendly and helpful staff.

Facilities are very basic. The kitchen is outside (no light switch). It almost feels as if you are on a camping ground. Still there is water, there are toilets, there is a hot shower.
Noise from the bar and playing children until 10PM. The doors to the dorm slam against each other and can not be closed properly. Not good for early sleepers as people walk in and out till 11:30PM. The hostel dog barks loudly every once in a while. It is not a place for peace and quiet seekers.
Breakfast (two pancakes) is rather late for hikers. They start preparing it at 8AM and I got it at 8:20AM. I did not wait for coffee, as the lady started preparing it after she made the pancakes and would have taken another 20 minutes.
Office should be open at 8AM, but was closed until 8:15AM. The lady in charge of breakfast phoned the responsible person who was sleeping. The bell does not work.
While not very strict with their own timings, they are when dealing with finance. 12USD and 10 cents for a bunk in 10-bed dorm is not what you call a bargain. I stayed in two other hostels in Boquete that were cheaper and better quality.
Location is 40 minutes on foot from Boquete village, not around the corner.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2017 via mobile

After our stay, we found these quite bad reviews but we made a totally different experience here. We just arrived without reservation, but we were so wamrly welcomed. Guess it was the loveliest check in we ever had thanks to the owner and Anne.
The Hostal is super cozy and offers all you need (in case not, they will arrange it somehow I'm sure). They helped us with everything, especially with the night hike to the volcano. We're quite sad that we ran out of time and couldn't stay longer.
If you expect hit water in the kitchen or bigger rooms, don't stay in hostels in general. We can definitely recommend Ryan's hostel

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank gkochtes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2017

The first thing that struck me is that there are quite some bad reviews about Nomba, which i'm really, really, really astonished about.
Yes, it's not the most luxurious and best hostel i've ever been in, but the price for a night is right for what you get.

Ryan, the owner, is a vert friendly guy who helped us with a lot during our stay. He took time to explain and help with everything we needed. We did an adventurous night hike up the Volcano Baru, Ryan provided us with the extra clothing and equipment we needed for this and told us everything we needed to know. We asked a lot of questions because we were unsure if we would want to do the 5hr up and 5hr down hike in the night, was well worth it.

We also went to the hotsprings the day after the hike which was super relaxing and very nice. 25 dollars is not cheap, but there are different kinds of springs and it includes the transport to the springs, the ride is quite far.

The location is just outside of Boquete, you can easily take a collectivo to the town for 0.40 cents if you're actually joining others, if not, it's two dollars for two persons. Sometimes we had to walk down a bit, but it took us never longer than 10 min. to get a cab. The price is NOT unfrequent, you ask the driver how much it is, use common sense.. Also, you can't blame the hostel or the owners for the location, if you look it up before you go you know exactly where it is.

The dorm was not big, i have to be honest, but i've come across similar dorms in Panama and Colombia. Our door locked, and there were lockers in another room we could use. The room was clean, we got towels which was nice. The beds are not super compfy but i slept fine.

The kitchen is outside but covered, big gas stove and enough equipment to cook with. A table you can sit and eat at, and a working fridge and freezer. There was no breakfast but i didn't read anywhere or was told that there was suppost to be free breakfast. I think this has changed recently because a lot of reviews here state there was (or should be) breakfast.

One of the showers was cold, the other one worked fine and both bathrooms were clean, i can imagine that it can get busy when the hostel is full though..

Wifi worked good, mostly close to the office but i could reach and surf the web from our dorm. I even downloaded a couple of movies on Netflix.

We had a veggie burrito and a shrimp quesadilla at the restaurant run by Ryan at the hostel. Food was basic, but very tasty and cheap.

I would definitely recommend this hostel! Staff is very friendly and helpfull and the amenities are worth your money. An other plus: Ryan's son is adorable!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101ALL101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2017

Very pretty hostal in Boquete. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Its the perfect place for backpackers, only 11 dollars in dormitory with breakfast including. You can as well enjoy the free pool and use the kitchen to make your own food. They propose a Mexican food menu and the bar have cheap drinks ;) The location is not far from the city and you can grap a taxi for only 30cent when you need to go there. You can book hiking trips from the reception as well. If I have to come back in Boquete I ll definitly come back there.

Thank you so much for everything !!!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsJones n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews