We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee experience”

Finca Lerida Activities
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Coffee experience”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

As avowed coffee fans we jumped at the chance of a guided tour of the Finca Lerida coffee plantation in the high country behind Boquete - and it was worth every cent.
With the rain pouring down our guide provided the four of us with umbrellas and we set off from the coffee shop come souvenir shop, walking up the steep hill, past the restaurant and accommodation and up through the plantation itself, with Volcan Baru towing over us.
Our guide was friendly, informative and funny. No question was too mundane or silly and he was a real mine of information. He explained the whole growing and harvesting process; the history of coffee in Panama and worldwide; selection, washing, roasting, marketing and everything in between.
Then we were treated to samples of the same beans prepared in different ways.
Finally we bid him farewell and adjourned to the coffee shop for one last (delicious) cup of coffee and a piece of home- made cake.
Don't miss it if you like coffee.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank GreyNomadSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    1
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best bird watching and hiking we experienced in Boquete”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

You don't need to stay here to hike the beautiful grounds and trails here. We lost count of the different types of hummingbirds we saw just in the short while we spent fortifying ourselves with a cup of coffee. And once we were on the various trails (senderos) we really never saw other people. You will not regret visiting- I imagine staying at the hotel is pretty swell too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lramirez2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waterfall hike”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

It was a hike and a half and in some spots kind of iffy since the railings were rather shaky. It was beautiful and pretty spectacular looking down into the ravine.
Stopped at the restaurant on the way back through and had their roasted tomato soup! EXCELLENT, best soup I ever had. DON'T try the tuna sand- seriously, who makes tuna with catsup?? ick

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Margie92007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Intimate Coffee Plantation”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

On a recent trip to Panama, we had the pleasure of visiting Finca Lerida in Boquete. We were greeted by our lovely guide, Rolando Vatgas. We started our tour right in the coffee groves and there began our very informative history and process of how Finca Lerida develops an amazing coffee. The plantation is quite small and very "hands on" with a great deal of the processes still in existence since the beginning of its inception. The number one focus is to obtain the highest quality coffee bean they can. And that they have done. Having received many International awards for their coffee.
Following our tour, we took lunch at the restaurant which was also excellent.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Singa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Coffee Plantation Tour at Finca Lerida, in Boquete, Panama”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The Coffee Plantation Tour at Finca Lerida, in Boquete, Panama was a delightful surprise. I never dreamed I would be captivated for 2 1/2 hours during a tour of a coffee plantation. Our guide was Rolando Bargas. He has a wealth of information about the history of coffee drinking and the processing of the beans. He seemed to be truly excited about sharing some amazing facts about it all. I was a bit surprised at the $40/person charge but by the end I determined it was well worth the charge. We did a 'tasting' -- just like the world's coffee buyers do. And we were treated with a cup of coffee and a piece of cake at the end. A must-do.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinB1329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finca Lerida Activities also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Finca Lerida Activities? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing