We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few are as expert about Hotel El Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Boquete, Panama
1 review
“Few are as expert about Hotel El Oasis”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Nine months over the past two years. . .I know and highly recommend this well run hotel.

El Oasis, positioned in the heart of Boquete, Panama, sets the bar high as a premium facility with traveler friendly prices. The hotel has a country in feel and is nestled against the picturesque Caldera river and positioned for great views of the surrounding, coffee filled mountains.

Ownership is focused on delivering very high service levels and you will find them on the premises each day to ensure delivery of that quality experience for travelers. . .you can expect a great stay. The hotel staff is well trained with training includes third-party professional classes in providing excellent service levels. Recently, employees have attended special English language classes for hotel employees to deliver a better communication experience for hotel guests.

This hotel has a certain country inn elegance and comfortable feel and is complete with hand painted murals of local jungle flowers and outdoor scenes.

To deliver a great dining experience, there is a unique private dining gazebo with a beautiful fireplace for that romantic dinner occasion, or you can choose from either the large main dining room complete with a fireplace and edged with indoor flowers and live trees (perfect for meetings,) or, for evenings when the weather feels cool, there is a warm, white table cloth dining room too. There is also a large bar with a large projection TV, a historic boulder in the middle of the floor and fantastic wine list.

Not to be outdone by the beautiful dinner environment, breakfast is included with most room charges and is served in another area of the hotel. It comes complete with a beautiful jungle garden and you will be entertained by Panama´s rainbow colored finches fed fruit by the kitchen staff.

Suites are equipped with nice kitchens, an upstairs full bath with great hot showers and a lower level half bath. The suites have loft bedroom and a lower level futon and each level has its own balcony complete with chairs and table to have Panama´s great coffee and watch the phenomenal views. There are also many room configurations but the suites are my favorite.

Traveling in the third world can be difficult even if you are a back-packer. So if you are a family, a couple or a budget back-packer wanting a nice experience, this place has it all, and the best part is the fantastic staff always willing to help and prepared to make your stay in Boquete a great experience!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krhoefle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    94
    20
    10
    6
See reviews for
36
129
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

The town of Boquete is beautiful, up in the mountains, the air fresh and clean, plenty to see and appreciate. The hotel was very nice, clean. Fantastic location, our breakfast was outdoors where we could see all sorts of beautiful flowers and the birds coming to visit the birdfeeder a few feet away. It has a nice patio area where you can relax with a glass of wine.
The staff were very friendly. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My room was dark NO sun light & no hot water in the shower. My room was dark & depressing. The only light came from cheap energy saving light bulbs.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aka-Lucinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We had originally booked 3 nights here however, due to the road blocks by the Indigenous peoples, we extended our stay to 5 nights. If ever I had to be stuck somewhere again, it would be here. We stayed in Suite 6, a wonderful suite for 2 with a full kitchen and private balcony. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful and sensitive to our plight. Marianela went out of her way to help us, no matter what time of day it was and with a smile.

Very well located, just a short 5 minute walk to book tours, 24 hour grocery store, market, cafés and restaurants.
We had lunch and a couple of dinners at the restaurant on site and and it was very good, medium priced dishes.

We also made good use of the commercial washer and dryer at 50¢ per load, since we travel light and wash our clothes frequently.

All in all, a great place to stay and would not hesitate to return.

ONE AMUSING NOTE: We noticed that the alarm clock is crazy glued to the night table however, the in room electronic safe is not bolted down and is light enough to carry out. Needless to say, we preferred keeping our valuables on us!

Room Tip: Our suite was well worth the price and gave us the freedom to just stay in for a few quiet dinners...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

El Oasis is four blocks from the central plaza, across the river. The room was a reasonable size and clean. The meals are excellent! We eat all our meals here as there was no reason to go exploring elsewhere in town. (We stayed here 4 days). The breakfasts had fresh fruit, pancakes, french toast or eggs and bacon. A big bonus for breakfast is that you can watch 6-10 different multi-colored birds visit the stone bird feeder as you eat breakfast. There is a partially enclosed gazebo with a fireplace which they light in the evenings to protect you from the cool and sometimes misty rain that occurs as different cloud systems pass through. The only drawback that we experienced was only two television channels (3 and 23) so we read instead. There is a balcony where you can read and look out over the river to the downtown. While we were there, we saw tango lessons in the bar area and women dressed up for their dinner out on the town. The internet connection is excellent as we could watch live streaming curling from Alberta, Canada. (We are Canadians snowbirds). There are also longer term apartments for rent above the daily room rentals. This is a very good choice for Boquete.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buellton, Calif.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We have stayed six or seven times at El Oasis, and would not consider staying anywhere else! Usually we have a regular room, which are basic, but clean and well worth the price. For this trip,we had grandma with us who is 86, we booked a suite and it was amazing! We too were there for the Fair and I agree, it can get a bit loud and stay that way until about 5 in the morning, but we KNEW that when we booked the room. Should have just brought ear plugs!

You should note that the breakfast is NO longer included in the room rate. I think it ran about five bucks per person, and we did eat there a few times, but mostly we cooked our own in our suite. Suite 3 was more than ample for the three of us. Nice to be able to make your own coffee, meals or snacks right there. Really nice views from the balcony of the Fairgrounds and the river Caldera.

The staff here, although most are limited English speaking, are VERY kind and helpful. All you need to do is ask, and they will try their best to make it happen. Each time we go back, they have added something new!! I was told that they are finished with the building now, but time will tell!

PLEASE note that as you come over the bridge ( the great landmark for the town) and turn right to get to El Oasis, the first building you come to is now home to the Boquete Community Players! (BCP) They put on delightful plays in English and if you happen to be in town, try to attend one of the shows. They are really fun!

Lastly, the restaurant here is amazing! The shrimp cocktail alone keeps me coming back for more!! The bar is nice and the cocktails worthy of the price. They close early (8pm?) weeknights so plan to get there earlier for dinner. However, Boquete does have MANY nice places to eat, depending on your likes and budget.

Hope this helps someone to select El Oasis! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank just...d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

My experience with El Oasis Hotel began well before we stayed there. Some friends of our family had lived at El Oasis (they have apartments for rent as well as single rooms) for a month a few years ago and said it was a great place to stay. They said the rooms were basic but clean and very close to town. Hearing this, I immediately emailed El Oasis about a room in January for my husband, myself, our 1 year old daughter, and my Mother. I noticed on their policies they said they did not accept children under 10. I asked them if they were able to make an exception, but understood if they could not. Marianela responded within 48 hours and told me that they would be happy to make an exception for our daughter. I emailed back and forth with Marianela for the next month or so. She let me know that they are right next to the fairgrounds and the weekend we were originally planning on staying at the hotel was the annual flower and coffee festival. She said the music could be quite loud playing all through the night and into the morning hours and that it may be too loud for a baby. With this information, we asked her to change our booking to the weekend before. She was very helpful and accommodating!!
Once we did arrive in Boquete, we visited some gardens and did a coffee tour before we headed to El Oasis for our 2pm check in. El Oasis really is the only hotel in town (in walking distance). We checked in and were shown to our room. Just like our friends had said, it was a very basic hotel room, 2 double beds, shower with hot water, small TV on the wall, etc. One thing we did notice right away was that there was no air-conditioning unit (something we had come accustomed to having while living in Panama City). But the truth is, you do not need an air conditioning unit in Boquete. You can open your window during the day/night and really, the ceiling fan actually made it feel kind of chilly at night! The room was very clean (and kept that way through our entire stay)...cleaner than some of the more expensive hotels we'd stayed in during other trips in Panama. Breakfast was included each morning, but unfortunately we were only able to get breakfast our last morning there seeing how breakfast starts and 8am and that is what time all of the tour groups start their tours as well. When we did get breakfast it was outside on a patio, surrounded by a garden. It was great food, although you may have to wait a little while for everything to come out. (But if you've been in Panama for awhile, you'd realize this is typical). The last night we were there, we decided to eat dinner at the restaurant at the hotel. Our friends said it was good food so we decided to give it a try. There are numerous rooms you can sit in for dinner...we sat under what looked like a covered patio with a fireplace. It was perfect for having a 1 year old because we could easily walk her around the property when she got fussy! While it was a little pricier than we expected, I still think the fish I had there was the best I'd had during our entire time in Boquete! While I had to leave the restaurant early to put my daughter to sleep, my husband and mother ordered some delicious deserts (tres leches cake and cheesecake with a berry sauce). The waitress let them take the desserts back up to the common area of the hotel just as long as they promised to bring the plates back. The common area has some couches, chairs, a coffee table, a small TV set, a refrigerator, and some books. Our room was at the end of the hallway from this common area so it was a perfect place for us to hang out after putting our little one to sleep. We bought some wine and beers from the local market and used the refrigerator to keep them cold. All in all, we had a really great experience at El Oasis!

If you are someone who is used to hotels like Marriott, Hilton, etc., just know that these hotel rooms do not have dressers, refrigerators (although there is one for everyone to share in the common area), or even safes. We wished there was a safe, but just ended up taking our really important things (wallets, passports, cash, etc) with us. You will also need to bring your own shampoo/conditioner or buy some at the local market as we did because that is not provided. They do provide small bars of soap. Oh, and one other precaution...don't leave food laying around near the window! We left some goldfish our daughter had dropped on the floor on the nightstand in front of the window and when we got back from our morning tour, there were tons of Argentine ants trying to carry it away! We didn't have any ant/insect issues other than that one instance!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annieb848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.8 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
4.5 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 12 in Boquete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#6 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
3.3 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant

Property: El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Ave. Buenos Aires, Boquete, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Boquete
#4 Family Hotel in Boquete
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are El Oasis, a countryside styled hotel inspired in our mountain farm of the same name.El Oasis offers comfortable rooms and suites for short and long stays, breathtaking views of our gardens and the mountain landscapes, and the attentive and personalized service that has made us the favorite destination of travelers seeking added value in their Boquete experience.When you are back from your explorations and the many activities around Boquete, enjoy an exquisite dinner in our Restaurant in the riverside of the Caldera River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Oasis Hotel And Restaurant
El Oasis Boquete
El Oasis Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing