We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sacrifice amenities for beautiful natural setting”
Review of Villa Marita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Marita
Certificate of Excellence
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Sacrifice amenities for beautiful natural setting”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The road is liberally potholed for about 1/8 of a mile.
This is a cabin experience. It is overpriced for the area if you are expecting amenities instead of nature.
We had cabin 5. There was a free refrigerator and a flat screen tv that we did not use. No telephone. No safe. No hairdryer.
The hike from the limited parking by the common area was up and down stairs that can be unwieldy with heavy baggage. The hot water took about 15 minutes to reach the cabin and the water saver shower heads were very sharp and uncomfortable.
The security door was broken away from the frame. The front door would not open easily.
The view was to die for and the air was as fresh as can be. We got a windy rainy night and the single blanket was not enough because the wind whistled through the windows and door.
The continental breakfast was cereal, toast and fruit with jam and butter offered on the side. They have a coffee, chocolate, tea etc. machine. The water is from a 5 gallon jug.
We used their computer to do some research.
The owner was having a team building meeting with her staff in an attempt to work together- we heard it is a new owner.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimpia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    18
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
43
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Good points:

Great staff, so nice and willing to help
Pet friendly
Quiet place for relaxing

Bad points:
Expensive, no value for money. I selected just because the Pet Friendly
Rooms not well cleaned and kind of old

Room Tip: Try the cabin #5. It's the only one that still has refrigerator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gapugliese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

3 km above Boquete center, Villa Marita consists of 5 or 6 cabines located in quite nice suroundings with view over a coffee field. The cabines are simple but nice. Our had a bedroom with double beds with 2 single beds in the entrance that can be seen as a second bedroom, so this is good for a family with kids. I would have given a 4 stars rating but I gave 3 due to the very poor quality of breakfast. The bread isn't very nice, there is only one type of jam and one type of juice. I think a bit of an effort is required there. The check-in person was very friendly and very kind to place a couple of phone calls for us to get us in touch with a very good tour quide in Boquete. We had a great time with Carlos from Boquete Customer Tours, walking up the waterfall trail and spotting a Sloth and a Quetzal!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frenchfrog39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton TX
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was my first time to stay at Villa Marita and it came highly recommended by my brother, who has stayed in Boquete many times. I was not disappointed. We came into town after dark (7:00 pm), with no reservations and the kind folks at Villa Marita quickly found us a room. Internet service was very good and the room was simple, yet comfortable and clean. We woke up to gorgeous surroundings with the birds singing! Breakfast came with the room and it was a bit disappointing; cold cereal and fresh fruit. But the coffee was great!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arraijan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Spent a weekend with friends and family at villa marita. We rent one "house" with 2 rooms and a bathroom. The room was nice and.clean; it had a kitchen fully equipped with microwave, fridge and stove. The room had hot water. The location was excellent, near the city but secluded enough to have the feeling you were far away of the city.
They also had a place were you can have a BBQ. We didn't test the food of villa marita but they had free coffee and cocoa.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose_Angel_Pitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have stayed at Villa Marita several times in the past few years, but this was the first under new management. They have conserved many of the good points from the previous management and made improvements to the cabins. Its outside the town centre in an exclusive area but thats where you need to be for a more restfull experience (and an uninterrupted water supply!). It attracts a nice mix of foreign independent travelers and Panamanians, and has a more Panamanian feel (in a good way) than many places in Boquete. The cabin facilities are good and several have large private balconies with spectacular views to the volcano. Staff are efficient, helpful and just plain nice. Prices are reasonable and if they are not full you can bargain for a cabin at the same price as a cheaper room.

Room Tip: The cabins have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avechaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We visited Boquete and I selected Villa Marita based on previous reviews. It was a absolutely great place to stay and the service was great. We will stay with them again in the near future. We did prepaid thru a online service and had absolultely no issue. Many times it is not the hotel, but is the sevice you used. There were many birds around the hotel and the view of Volcan Baru was great. They noticed my Son was sleeeping on the couch, and when we returned from a drive found they had moved a extra bed into the area, even though a bed was already there. That is what you call attention to detail and great customer service. They even washed the clothes before we left.

Room Tip: We had the largest cottage that they had and it had two bedrooms, a Bathroom, Kitchen and Living roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
9.4 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
0.1 mi away
Bambuda Castle
Bambuda Castle
#2 of 49 in Boquete
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Casa de la Abuela
La Casa de la Abuela
#10 of 28 in Boquete
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Palo Alto
The Inn at Palo Alto
#3 of 28 in Boquete
414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boquete Garden Inn
Boquete Garden Inn
#2 of 28 in Boquete
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marita

Property: Villa Marita
Address: El Santuario, Alto Lino, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Marita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Marita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marita Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing