We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant but basic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Marita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Marita
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant but basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

Quiet, clean, but really basic. Had the family cabin. Beds OK, bedspreads gastly, kitchen with minimal equipment. Must have a car. Garden gorgeous. Very helpful arranging bird watching, zip line tour and coffee tour.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynthiafromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    17
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
41
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

Six of us spent three nights at Villa Marita and had a wonderful time. There is a beautiful view from the rooms and Rodrigo, the manager, was very helpful in arranging travel and day trips for us. The food was excellent, too. Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aberquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2010

Villa Marita offers large cabins with stunning views and probably the friendliest service in Panama. BUT no one has invested any money in it for a very long time. There are cobwebs on the walls (which you can't see because of the dim lighting), the towels are threadbare, the beds are hard and the pillows flat. There are large refrigerators in the rooms, but not so much as a glass to drink from. It is 8km from town, which is not great if you do not have a car. The weather is cool and rainy, so bring warm clothes.

If you are on a self-catering drive around Panama with very modest lodging expectations, this might be the place for you. Based on the reviews we read, we were expecting something very different. It isn't bad, but it isn't even a 3 star property in Panama.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebeccas1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOYOCK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

Our stay was fascinating and Mr. Rodrigo was very kind to show us his green house and surroundings. The view from the lodge was spectacular. Thanks for a great stay.....Karen

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

We were really happy with our stay at Villa Marita. The staff is very helpful, the breakfasts were delicious and the rooms were much nicer than typical Panamanian construction standards. The Toucans would visit us each morning as we sat on the deck looking down the valley. A very nice place. It was significantly nicer than places thay were just a few bucks cheaper, so very much worth it.

Ask for cabana 3 for the nicest porch.

Also, go eat at The Rock for the best food in Boquete.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank infinitysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

Villa Marita is a gem of a place. There are 5 simple cabanas with incredible views of the mountains plus 2 with less of a view, 2 more traditional rooms and a two bedroom cabana without a view but with a swing set for children. Our cabana was one with a view. They are all the same set up--bedroom with queen bed, bedside tables with lamps, TV, closet and attached bath. There is a also an entry room with a cot-like couch, fridge and small table with a lamp. The patio overlooking the mountains has an bench with cushions, a small table with two chairs as well as two adirondack style chairs. The views are unbelievable.

The hotel is run by a family--dad, daughter and son. All speak English perfectly. They are present and available for questions. The main house (no rooms for rent there) has a large communal area that they leave unlocked 24/7 for their guests. It includes couches, tables, two computers, a printer and the already mentioned wonderful coffee machine. They even have bottles of water, plus a large water dispenser for fill-ups. The wi-fi is free but only picked up in this area, not the cabanas.

Breakfast is buffet style--fresh cut-up fruits, scrambled eggs, toast, and sausage or bacon daily. Two freshly squeezed juices round out the selection. And of course that wonderful coffee.....

Animals on the property include three small dogs, parrots, and 3 toucans. The parrots greet you loudly at breakfast with a friendly Buenos Dias! each day.

This is the type of place where when we asked if there was somewhere in town we could do laundry we were told we could use the washers and dryers for no charge. When we wanted to contact a lodge outside of David to visit their howler monkey rescue (check out my post on Alouatta Lodge), they made the call for us. It is a simply run, friendly, moderately priced facility that I would return to in a flash if I visit Boquete again. And there is a lot to see and do in Boquete!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dccnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Maine
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

3 nights in private cabin
1 night in a room
US$75/night for cabin
US$55/night for double room
Cabina consisted of 1 bedroom with queen bed, livingroom with refrigerator, no counter top or table. Tv in bedroom. Nice view overlooking hills. At the time we were there many children were there and were very noisy and freely roaming around the cabina and looking into windows. Very noisy at night from dogs below the hill outside.
Double room quite sparsely furnished with 2 twin beds and tv.
Breakfast was buffet served in main lodge, consisted of eggs, meat, toast, cereal and excellent coffee available all day.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swaskilewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
1.4 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
2.3 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hostal Nomba
Hostal Nomba
#14 of 48 in Boquete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.2 mi away
Valle Escondido Resort Golf & Spa
0.4 mi away
Boquete Garden Inn
Boquete Garden Inn
#2 of 30 in Boquete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marita

Property: Villa Marita
Address: El Santuario, Alto Lino, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Marita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Villa Marita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marita Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing