We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience at Hotel Palo Alto, Boquete, Panama”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Palo Alto
Ranked #3 of 27 Boquete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2014

If we're ever back in Boquete, this is where we will stay. Justin, Robert, Judi & Ron were excellent hosts. Bed & pillows so comfortable; the lush gardens, birds and small stream that runs in the middle of this small hotel setting were a treat in themselves. The outside bar, complete with fireplace and quiet, Latin music, made me feel like I was one of the "beautiful" people! Breakfast was great - we saw the local fruit delivered before it was cut up to go with our blueberry pancakes. Judi has good advice about where to hike, what to see. Ron had good stories about the area. Basically, I don't think our experience could have been better. Highly recommend it to any and everyone. Cindy & Joe

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindyJ331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 460 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

What a wonderful surprise awaited us at the Palo Alto. The gardens were beautiful and well kept. We rented the family suite for my husband, sister, and I. It was clean, comfortable, and had some of the extras (hair dryer, iron, breakfast,etc.) that we didn't get at many other locations in Panama. Judy was fantastic and helped with arrangements to the coffee estate and zip lining. Be sure to ask for Felix to guide you on the coffee estate. Simon the chocolate lab helped fill the void I was feeling since I had to leave my labs at home. When it was time to check out, it felt like we were leaving friends.

Room Tip: The family suite comes equipped with a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My fiancee and I stayed at Hotel Palo Alto on the outskirts of Boquete (about a 7 minute car ride). Quiet little hotel with a fantastic view of the mountain side and a creek. Hostess Judy and owner Justin can be found on the property throughout the day checking in on patrons, offering a wealth of knowledge about what to do, where to go, what to eat and the like.

Positives:
1. Hot water
2. Clean rooms
3. Comfortable beds
4. Competitive rates
5. Breakfast: Alternating days of muffins and pancakes. with juices, fruits, coffee, and tea.
6. Very close to coffee farms and the zip line tours

Negative:
1. Thin wall (at least the room we had) heard the neighbor snoring.

All in all the stay was extremely pleasant and we would stay at the Palo Alto again

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Before we left the states, we spent a lot of time looking at various websites trying to decide the best place to stay in Boquete, and we totally picked the right place. The Palo Alto Hotel is an amazing small, boutique lodging option. About a dozen rooms in three buildings in a lush garden setting complete with it's own stream. It has recently been taken over by a family from Kansas, and they have done a marvelous job renovating it. So you can ignore any bad reviews posted before June 2013.

We saw more birds here than anywhere else on our trip throughout Panama, had nice breakfasts on the veranda (included in the room price), lots of good conversations during the cocktail hour, and spectacular views and sunsets. Not to mention we had a whole apartment with kitchen, separate living room, and private patio. It's not much more expensive than other places, but way better (as we did drive by and look at all the other places we considered.) Its a couple miles out of town which could be a little issue if you don't have a car, but even taxi fare would be worth it to stay at this pretty-much-perfect place.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place. But call them direct. We booked through bookings.com and had some probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethN234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This Place was great, we had a great huge room with a nice veranda, a kitchen, livingroom and a nice bathroom with hot water. The Staff was helpfull in organising our tours the day after. We stayed 1 night.

Not nice was the distance to the city centre (about 45 min down hill by foot). No Problem during the Day as there are a lot of taxis...during the evening there are no taxis around and you should call (or make somebody call). We found that the Hotel was great, but it would have been more convenient to stay in the city centre...if you have a car the Location is great and has parkingspace just in front.

Next point was that as we had to leave early we asked to have breakfast First thing in the morning (the bar is still under construction and the breakfast is served in the room), we were asured by the owner that we would be served our blueberry pancakes before everybody else and that therefore we would have plenty of time. Well while we waited for our breakfast, enjoyed the view and got nervous because we were late, we saw everybody else get their breakfast...hmmm no Problem to get just fruit, but if you promise something you should do it... At the end we got our pancakes and they were good, but would have been better if not eaten in a huge hurry...

The tour we booked through the Hotel was nice and well organised.

I would return, if I'm not on a tight schedule and I had a car.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jules_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in hotel Palo Alto for 3 nights in March 2014.

The hotel is located a little out of the town centre which means it is nice and quiet and has stunning views of the mountains.

Our room was very comfortabel and clean. The flat screen tv is nice, but we found the outside areas and the view were all we needed.

The hotel is set within a beautifull garden and has a lovely bar area where you can enjoy the sun and the views.

The staff is very helpfull and friendly and great when you want to book a tour.

While we were staying here they didn't serve snacks in the bar area, we think this would be a good adition, because it would mean you can stay at the hotel at night for something to eat.

All in all one of the best places we stayed during our 14 day trip.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Peter_from_Purmerend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed for two nights at Hotel Palo Alto and really enjoyed our stay. Very comfortable, spacious rooms, beautifully furnished. Lush, beautiful landscaping. Extremely helpful and friendly Robert! Close to a charming restaurant (the Fireside). The new bar was not up and running yet, but looked wonderful. Sorry to have missed it. I'd recommend this hotel without reservation.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Wanderers519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
1.3 mi away
La Montana y el Valle Coffee Estate Inn
2.6 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#2 of 13 in Boquete
351 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#8 of 13 in Boquete
143 reviews
4.1 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#4 of 13 in Boquete
407 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Palo Alto

Address: Avenida Buenos Aires, Boquete 0413, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range: $97 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Palo Alto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the foothills of the towering Volcan Baru, The Inn at Palo Alto is a riverside oasis located just outside of downtown Boquete. This unique hotel offers spacious double and triple rooms with semi-private sun rooms as well as 1 bedroom suites which can accommodate up to 6 people. The hotel boasts lush gardens, a stream and a beautiful riverside bar and lounge area with dual-sided fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Inn at Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing