We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming and totally clean, Mshipley”
Review of Isla Verde Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Isla Verde Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Boquete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very welcoming and totally clean, Mshipley”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Isla Verde was a wonderful highlight of my trip. . Sabine and staff were exceptionnally accomadating.
The breakfast out side was delightful. The rooms were kept clean and fresh linens everyday.
I would totally recommend this lovely property.

Room Tip: The suites on the corner ,lovely breezes , balcony plus hammock
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    56
    17
    3
    11
See reviews for
60
119
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a month at the lovely Isla Verde hotel in Boquete, Panama.
We were enrolled in language school and needed a place to stay which was convenient to the school, and which would have a kitchen. Isla Verde is a collection of charming yurt-like bungalows set among beautifully maintained and landscaped grounds. The staff, especially Sabina and Patricia, were extremely accommodating and helpful. We felt very welcome throughout our stay. Although Boquete is not a big town, it can be quite busy. Isla Verde is only a few blocks of the Main Street, but feels worlds away. Loved it so much we have already booked our bungalow for next winter!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sosoBoquete, Manager at Isla Verde Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you so much for this lovely review Clint, I can really say that I appreciate to meet you and Jennifer here at Isla Verde! So, we will see us next year then:-)) Take Care! Sabine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I understand the comments of many of the reviewers - the setting is gorgeous no doubt, with lovely painted cottages set amidst pretty lawns and fantastic birds flying everywhere - particularly hummingbirds. And it's true that the rooms are attractive and generally clean.

But one glaring defect turned us off in a big way: the complete lack of a hot water shower. The water just dribbled out, and went back and forth between scalding and freezing. After a day of hiking in the cloud forest, this was not good. When we complained about the problem we were told that it is a structural problem having to do with the water system being centralized and originally intended for less than half the number of cabins it currently supports, so if it's low (as it is now because of a seasonal shortage of rain in Boquete), it cannot be fixed. We confirmed with another guest (who in general loved the place) that they had had the same problem.

I have roughed it many times in my life - stayed in hostels and small villages for extended periods on several occasions - but never for $70/night, let alone for $90/night, which is what we would have paid had they not, to their credit, given us a $20 discount after we complained. More than the money though, I was left asking myself this: if they knew of the problem in advance, why not say something? I just don't think you can run what purports to be (and in many ways is) a full service hotel and not have functioning hot showers.

If not for this, we would probably have given a largely positive review - Patricia was friendly, kindly did our jungle-dirty laundry for a reasonable price - the river is lovely, the fruit trees charming, the birds incredible.

But I think the same can be said for other places in Boquete that charge about the same price or less, but that will get you a hot shower if you want it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

After a few days in Panama city, the traffic, lots of people, the hustle and the heat.
We travelled to Boquette, we arrive late in the eveninig.Our cab driver took us from David, the second largest city in Panama to Boquette, we had no hotel reservations.
The very nice cab driver once aware we did not have reservations, stopped and ask a local couple whom were out for an evening stroll, what hotel would they recommend. So we landed in Isla Verde,the cab driver beep his horn. ( in Panama beeping your horn means everithing,in this case the night shift hotel manager awoke and greeted us with a "hola amigos". He had rooms available, he took us to our room and stated we could take care of accomodation payment the next morninig.
WOW the next morninig when we woke up to the sound of what appeared to be 100 birds singing to a beautiful day, we thought caramba !!! where are we?, in someones private retreat, in a park, a botanical garden and eco lodge ? NO, as we discovered later, we landed in Isla Verde hotel, wonderfull place, birds, a river outside our room, banana,lemon and pinepple trees and incredable number of very bright and colorful flowers.No traffic, no conference rooms, no elevators, very peacefull. We spent three nights / four days in Boquette.The place will remain in our memories forever. A place which in on our list to return to one day. You place your breakfast order the night before, we wondered why, the hotel staff stated, they purhase fresh ingredients the night before and cook it for us the next day, absolutely delicious. The room was huge with large panoramic windows everywhere,even in the bath room. Very private, you can shower and whatch the river flow down below. We would recommend this hotel to all our friends.
To the staff = Gracias for the friendship and all the extras. We will miss you.
Lisa from Chicago & Stephen from Venezuela. PS: Happy birthday to Sabina. (The manager)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sosoBoquete, Manager at Isla Verde Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello Lisa and Stephen! Thank you so much for this wonderful review! I really appreciate and I think we had quite some fun:-)) You are really special people and I loved to have you here with us! Take Care and maybe we will see us once in life again! Sabine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This place is truly lovely, the grounds are landscaped with hibiscus and other flowers, the stream meanders through the bottom of the property, hummingbirds flit in and out, it feels like paradise. Sabine and Patricia were helpful in making arrangements for tours, rides, massages and other things for us. The location is great, quiet but a short stroll to town, and you can also hike up the hill from there to see coffee growing or watch birds. We stayed in the large round house which was clean and well set up for cooking. The only caveat I have is that if you stay in the roundhouses you need to be really close with your traveling companions as there is absolutely no privacy, the bed is essentially in the living area and the only area with walls is the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fingerlakes_Express
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I spent two nights at Isla Verde and found it very pleasant. We stayed in the Gamez Casita. Very clean and airy, lovely mezzanine level bedroom and full kitchenette. The grounds were lush and well cultivated, it is a minute or two away from the main road and restaurants. The German lady at reception was very helpful and I would definitely stay again. Only complaint is that our casita backed onto a road so you got a fair bit of noise and people could literally stroll into the grounds bypassing the main entrance. Overall, nice place in the centre of Boquete.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonCouple01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I loved, loved, loved our stay at Isla Verde Hotel. I wouldn't call it a hotel, actually. It's more like little cottages scattered around the property with pathways and flowers galore! Our little cottage was right on the river and we could hear the water rushing from our room. It was quite a treat to stay in a place with the windows wide open and enjoy the breezes and sounds. It was a quiet place, as well as beautiful. They serve your breakfast in an outdoor area and it is delicious. I would stay there more often if it were closer to home! I would definitely recommend it to anyone.
P.S. The people that were running the place were very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelguru06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.7 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 11 in Boquete
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
7.9 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#6 of 11 in Boquete
190 reviews
4.2 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 11 in Boquete
383 reviews
1.5 mi away
Boquete Garden Inn
Boquete Garden Inn
#2 of 28 in Boquete
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Verde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Verde Hotel

Property: Isla Verde Hotel
Address: Calle 2 Sur Bajo Boquete | Behind School Josefa Vasquez, Boquete, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Isla Verde Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Isla Verde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Verde Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing