We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hike has it all - dramatic waterfalls , spectacular views and more.”

The Lost Waterfalls-Boquete
Ranked #2 of 45 things to do in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lost Waterfalls is a moderate to difficult hike through the cloudforest in western Panama to three fabulous waterfalls. The hike can take from one to three hours round trip depending on how many waterfalls you want to see. If you are lucky you may spot sloths, monkeys, quetzals or any number of the fascinating wildlife living in the cloudforest.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

This is a fantastic hike through lush vegetation to three spectacular waterfalls - each offering a different experience. The trail is well maintained with benches to absorb the views along the way . Great for bird and butterfly watching. Definitely a highlight of our trip to Boquete. I loved it!

Thank Blackburnjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More languages

250 - 254 of 363 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

The waterfalls are magical. Our group appreciated the challenge of the climb, mud and all.
Wendy does a great job maintaining all the trails despite the challenges of the Panamanian rain forest. Swimming in the cold water was an awakening moment for sure!
The climb to the first waterfall was a joy. The climb to the second one was for sure more challenging. The climb to the third one was he one that really tested us but being able to use the trees and roots to pull ourselves was worth reaching the top.
We paid the entrance fee gladly and donated extra!

1  Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

These falls are easy to reach from town, the first part is the hike from the steel bridge by the road up to cleared area and the cabin and the entrance into the forest. after that it is a relative easy hike, to the first and second waterfall (tip, go to the 2nd waterfall first and then to the 1st, this will make this an easier hike). For the real hikers and adventures, your challenge will be the climb up to the 3rd waterfall. You will hear and see the falls throughout your walk, look for birds, quetzals in particular in season (FEB-MAY), a peace full place to spend a morning or afternoon. In rainy season the trails tend to get muddy obviously so be prepared for mud on shoes and pants. Very soon the well appointed cabin will be available for rent so you can even extend your rainforest experience. Check the property for more details on the cabin rental

1  Thank bernie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The falls are very nice and the views from up there are great. It is a very strenuous hike to get there, though, and there's not much to do with them other than to appreciate their beauty. The path was exceedingly muddy, with many portions in poor repair despite the fact that some Gringa now owns the property and charges everyone to walk through it. (Paying her $5 toll wouldn't be so bad if she actually used the money to maintain the trails.) It's a worthwhile trip, but don't expect too much.

Thank SMLBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burtondogs, Owner at The Lost Waterfalls-Boquete, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you fir visiting The Lost Waterfalls. I'm sorry if you didn't get to appreciate all that it has to offer. Hiking to the waterfalls is part of the fun. At the reception booth, there is a sign that says that the first two trails are well maintainded with railings and steps. It can get a little muddy, but we can't control the rain in a rainforest. The third trail is left au natural because avid hikers have asked us to leave it that wat. We have two Indigenous familes living on the property whose sole funtion is to maintain the trails. I walk the trails at least 3 times a week to make sure that landslides are cleared up and toppled trees are removed. It is a constant battle against nature to keep it well maintained and yet leave it natural looking.
People also come to swim at the base of the falls, explore the cave and look for birds, animals and different plant species...we have lots of orchids, heliconias, ferns, etc. Just yesterday, I saw two quetzals and a sloth. So,I'm sorry that you didn't think that it was worth it, but we are known as one of the best hikes in Panama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Loved this quaint, quiet, beautiful and exiting treasure. I loved the hike, the animals, the folisge and all the falls. The views were breathtaking, you could see the falls from the top or the bottom view and you can spend as much time as you want! Lovely...I will definitely return!

Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lost Waterfalls-Boquete also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province

Been to The Lost Waterfalls-Boquete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing