We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Montana y el Valle Coffee Estate Inn
Ranked #4 of 28 Boquete B&B and Inns
Cancun Riviera Maya,
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Picture this: As you arrive to the property you are welcome as if you were family. The suite is extraordinary, with everything you need to feel cozy and comfortable. You are guarantee with a rainbow view almost every day. Each morning you will have delicious fresh fruit, breads and coffee for breakfast.
Barry and Jane are outstanding cooks, they offer dinner served in your suite, we had it 2 nights, it was amazing!! so delicious!

You are on the mountain hills, so the location is extraordinary!. Your room will keep impeccable as they come and clean every time you leave.
The night before our depart, I told Jane I only have a pair of pants to wear and they were dirty, we went out to dinner, when I came back, my pants were washed and dried.. wow!!

They gave us advice and maps on places to go and see..

We were sad to leave, and for sure we will be back.

Room Tip: We had the room right across the office/home of Jane and Barry, and the view was magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolTamargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
252
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San diego
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Our entire stay was perfect. The bed was large and soft. The breakfast of home-made scones and fresh fruit was scrumptious. We had the "date night" Lamb dinner - it was gourmet quality and the best meal we had in Panama. Our bungalow was clean and airy and had a beautiful view across Boquete to the Volcano and it changed every day as the clouds came and went. The area is quiet and secluded. Jane and Barry treated us like friends from the first moment and by the end of our 4 days they were good friends. We would go again in a moment.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Optometrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Inn in July 2011 and we couldn't have asked for a better experience.

The service was outstanding without being intrusive. Jane and Barry will do anything to ensure a positive stay. When our camera broke - they lent us their own personal camera, so we could capture our time in Boquete.

The bungalow was newly renovated, private and beautiful. The property was breathtaking. The food was also excellent - we really enjoyed our date night meal! All and all, this was by far our favorite part of our week in Panama.

We highly, highly recommend staying at the Inn. It will really make your vacation in Panama.

Jane

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jhl1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Jane and Barry provided us an amazing three nights in Boquete. From the moment we arrived it was clear that they would do whatever it takes to make our stay perfection. Every time we left, they would go in and straighten up the room. But, at the same time we always felt tons of privacy. It was the perfect balance of a home away from home (a home where you are very well taken care of) and an indulgent romantic getaway. Plus Boquete Panama is a wonderful place to experience nature through a balance of relaxation and activities. On the estate the grounds, flowers and mountains were an incredible view upon waking up each morning.

When we arrived we were a bit famished from the trip and just wanted something to tide us over till dinner. Jane quickly whipped us up a cheese plate that was perfect! From that first momeent the food just got better, from the delicious breads (have some of Barry's focaccia) to the date night meal (the ambience was amazing). We also forever changed the way we drink and appreciate coffee, and we are still enjoyinjg the coffee we brought back home.

It is the perfect couple getaway. Thank you Barry and Jane for a truly special time! We would love to return someday soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed here for 3 nights but we could have stayed for 5. The coffee estate is so relaxing especially after coming from busy, dirty Panama City. Jane and Barry are so inviting and bend over backwards to make their guests as comfortable as can be. Even before our arrival they help us arrange a rental care and hire a driver from Boquete to Almirante.

The coffee is incredible and the fresh oranges and fresh baked breads helped us to relax in the morning and take in the beautiful scenery. One night my wife and I splurged on the "Date Night" dinner they offer. It was one of the best meals we had the entire trip.

This is definitely an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

When we decided to go to Panama for vacation, the Coffee Estate Inn was a must stay according to a friend. We flew to David from Panama City and picked up a Toyota RAV at the airport. A 4 wheel drive with high ground clearance is a must. With the great directions from the estate, we were on our way to Boquete in no time, a nice newly paved road all the way up. The last 1/4 mile to the Estate was a very bumpy gravel road, leading us to the Estate main gate.

Jane was waiting to welcome us, and showed us to the Villa. When we stepped into the room, we were very impressed, the rooms were spotlessly clean and the bungalow had a newly finished bathroom (beautiful), we had more than enough space to spread out and relax. Most impressive was the view from the bedroom windows and the porch, it was absolutely stunning, looking over the beautiful gardens, toward the mountains and the Volcano - amazing.

Arriving on a Tuesday we were able to take advantage of the Date Night dinner (rack of lamb). While we walked the gardens, Jane and Barry prepared the meal and the room. We came back from our stroll to find fresh flowers beautifully arranged on the set table, on the porch. It was definitely one of the most memorable dinners we have had due to the atmosphere, the company and the delicious meal. The last course was a glass of the house made Coffee liquor, which was excellent, unfortunately we were unable to buy a bottle to take home!

We woke up every morning to the view of the volcano, the beautiful gardens and the amazing bird life. Breakfast was made in the simple kitchen, fresh breads, fruits and fresh roasted estate coffee, refreshed every day while we were out of our room. After the relaxing breakfast we looked through the materials provided by the estate, to plan the daily excursions. On the first morning we took advantage of the Estate tour lead by Barry who had a wealth of knowledge about the area, the history of the coffee industry and the local flora and fauna. All was very interesting culminating in the roasting of some coffee beans in the estate office/library and resource center, (books movies and a desktop computer with Internet access).

Boquete is easy to travel around and just wander, lots of restaurants, hiking trails and scenic drives. Jane and Barry helped tremendously with different options when the weather wasn't so great, always willing to pull out a new map and show new pictures of intersections along your trip (since signs seem to disappear). The staff seemed to freshen things up throughout the day, but always out of sight. Was nice to come in with dishes washed, beds made and clean towels in the bathroom.

Barry and Jane were great hosts, no pressure, no agenda's, just genuinely interested in our enjoyment of the area and making sure our needs were met. We took so many pictures of flowers and birds right there on the estate, it was beautiful and we definitely would recommend it to a friend and love to go again some day!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We arrived in Boquete after a few days in Bocas del Toro to a tranquil, beautiful setting! Jane and Barry helped us set up transportation between Bocas and Boquete, which was great. From the moment we arrived, Barry and Jane took great care and attention to ensure our stay was perfect. The volcano view and gardens are beautiful! We enjoyed walking around the garden and looking out from our balcony at the view. There is a great trail that goes through the whole property - a nice walk! The bungalows are each set apart from each other so there is plenty of privacy and they are very comfortable. They are stocked with lots of good coffee, fruit and bread for the morning. I especially enjoyed the date night dinner on the balcony! Jane is an excellent cook, and the presentation was so special. She's also amazing with her flower arrangements!!! And Barry's coffee tour and roasting demo was very interesting and fun, we really enjoyed it. The setting was so peaceful and quiet, we slept very well! They also recently redid the bathroom, which was quite nice.

If you are looking for a relaxing and romantic spot in Panama, this is it! Jane and Barry have a wealth of information about Panama, so if you are planning to travel at all in the country you definitely want to talk with them about other resorts. They also know the region very well, and sent us on some great hikes in Boquete. You will want a car here, there is a gravel type road into town. Their bungalows are a truly unique experience, kind of similar to a bed and breakfast experience, so if you want a big hotel with tons of people then this is not it. I HIGHLY recommend staying with Barry and Jane, having a date night dinner, and relaxing in the beautiful setting. This is a great area of Panama and a wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed closest to the bottom of the hill which was nice as it seemed very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
1.4 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 11 in Boquete
338 reviews
4.6 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 11 in Boquete
388 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 11 in Boquete
127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Boquete Garden Inn
Boquete Garden Inn
#2 of 28 in Boquete
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Montana y el Valle Coffee Estate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Montana y el Valle Coffee Estate Inn

Property: La Montana y el Valle Coffee Estate Inn
Address: Jaramillo Arriba | Diagonal El Explorador, Boquete 0413, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Montana y el Valle Coffee Estate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coffee Estate Inn is Boquete's original mountainside inn featuring personalized attention, privacy and deluxe accommodations with delicious food and coffee. Our six acre (2 1/2 hectare) private estate allows ample privacy for all of our guests during their stay, and our attentive staff are sure to make it an escape to remember. All of our bungalows have magnificent views of the towering Baru Volcano, surrounding mountains and the Boquete valley below. Learn about coffee cultivation with us, participate in the roasting process and finally enjoy the flavor of our freshly roasted estate coffee. Nature trails wind through our lush private estate, and numerous species of exotic flowers, birds and mammals are easily viewed from the spacious deck of your private bungalow. Our goal today is the same as it has been since day one. That is to provide you with an opportunity to experience the beauty of Panama that we have the great fortune of enjoying every day. We take great pride in our Inn and great care of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your La Montana y el Valle Coffee Estate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Montana y El Valle Coffee Estate Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing