We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing!”

Fire Side Inn - Georges' Grill
Ranked #10 of 103 Restaurants in Boquete
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ludwigsburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

One week before we have been eaten at Georges Grill place.

All the signs let me hope to get a good Rib Eye Steak, the rustical stone/wooden ambiente, the open fire place as well as the name Georges Grill....
What we got was a tiny steak (not Rib Eye and not from fire grill) for 16$!, with a white wine sauce with green pepper seeds.

The mashed potatoes where not freshly made and served on the plates some time ago (yellow surfaced).

Being hungry we more or less ate what we got, but informed the very friendly waitress that this was definetely not the expected plate.

My partner ordered a tuna steak, which, we have to admit, was good, but, what a pity, with the same warmed-up mashed potatoes.

At the end, after paying the complete price, we have been rather unfriendly complimented out of the place by the chef himself, who did not even listen to our critics.

After three weeks of Panama travelling, this was definitely the biggest 'culinarian' disappointment we had. Difficult to understand the good voting in Tripadvisor. From our side definetely NO RECOMMENDATION. There are definitely better places to eat in Boquete.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tucan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    95
    31
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Rustic and fun”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We ate dinner at George's on a windy cool night. The food was great, the wine was very good, but we especially loved the rustic charm, with bullfrogs chirping candles flickering in the breeze.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank fritz137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

As mentioned in several posts, the outside is a bit "different". It is like eating in a barely renovated barn. But, the food and reasonable prices for the stunning quality more than make up for any shortcomings. By the way, I quite enjoyed the quirky atmosphere as well as the quirky staff and owner. This is all part of the experience. For us, the negatives for some were positives for us. I don't think you can go wrong with the excellent value of the meal.

We were there Christmas Eve and had an awesome 5 course meal for $20! They even catered to my 14 year old son's fussiness and whipped up some great fries and a fresh chicken breast burger for him.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baroda
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We ate Christmas dinner at Georg's. A wonderful 5 course meal for $20. Delicious! Service was a bit slow but they were overwhelmed with people. We would definitely eat there again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Prudy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Don't let the outside scare you, fantastic food!”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at the Boquete Garden Inn just down the street from George's. We arrived early and our room was not ready. Since we did not have a car the easiest option was George's which had been recommended.

The restaurant looks like an abandoned barn alongside the road. No real walls and no doors (but gates to keep the dogs out). If there were other options we would have kept moving, but there weren't any.

Grabbing one of the handmade tables we looked at the menu on the chalkboard. Clearly not a road side stand. The menu looked like a top gourmet restaurant in any big US city, except for the prices.

George, wearing a t-shirt and camo pants spoke perfect English. We ordered drinks and food. With the iced tea he said he puts in herbs from his garden - fabulous.

Food was some of the best we have had and the presentation left little doubt that George is formally trained and could be a leading chef anywhere in the world. We found out later that he was formally trained with a top chef and has worked in great restaurants outside of Panama.

We told some other guests at the Inn about it and they had dinner there, they told some others, who then told others. Within a couple of days everyone at the Inn had eaten there and loved it.

In a town with great restaurants George's stands out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire Side Inn - Georges' Grill also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Fire Side Inn - Georges' Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing