We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crazy low prices”

Fire Side Inn - Georges' Grill
Ranked #10 of 103 Restaurants in Boquete
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Crazy low prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

At first you're thinking, "Do I really want to eat in this dump?" The answer is... YES!. George's is in sort of an outside aluminum lean-too. But George knows how to cook. And his pricing is ridiculous. You can easily have a great steak meal for 2 with wine for $30. $30! His sauces are fantastic. All that Montreal sous chef training.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rosco1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    96
    31
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We visited Boquete, Panama last year. This year we had to see it again. We heard of a new restaurant and had to check it out. George's Grill hadn't been open very long and the building was under construction making improvements. Looks can be deceiving. This place had the best oven grilled and deep fried fish and a sinful amaretto chocolate cake. The owner/chef was so very interesting and a food artist. If in the area, you have to check it out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beckia7759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Under Contruction but Very good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The place looks like it is not open, or that it should be on a beach due to open air construction of the building with the plastic chairs, wooden tables, wood driven BBQ and simple cooking area. But, do not let this fool you the food is brought out to you on good quality dinnerware, but the food, the food is the biggest surprise. I had the steak and my wife had the fish dinner. You would have thought that there was a high price French Chef cooking your dinner, instead it was the owner who has the touch when it comes to cooking a very fine meal. I highly recommend this place to go for a quality food taste. The only reason I did not rate it higher was the construction being done which distracted from the excellent food. Overlook this and step inside for good food that is only a few steps from the Boquete Garden Inn.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great seafood in a crazy room!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The decor was outlandish, unfinished, and delightfully ramshackle.
We loved the seafood--we had lobster, fresh and beautifully prepared, and bisque (ditto), and a yummy key lime pie. The ambience made us laugh out loud, and the food was really unexpectedly delish! Host George was friendly and helpful as well.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I wouldn't go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

If I ate seafood, I might have enjoyed this place. I thought about ordering fish, but after catching a glimpse of the kitchen, I thought better of it. I stuck with the Egyptian appetizer trio, which was supposed to be hummus, eggplant and tabbouleh. It came out with what appeared to be hummus and tabbouleh, but the eggplant was replaced with a cabbage salad (no explanation offered). It took close to 45 minutes to be served. It wasn't the most pleasant place to feel relaxed and hang around. I ordered a beer, but they were out of everything but Atlas (equivalent to a Bud Light; no thanks). They were kind enough to prepare a dish of plain pasta with butter for the kids, but even they did not find it appetizing. Too bad; the concept is good, but it needs a lot of work (and cleaning) to be successful. Oh, and the bathroom doubles as the laundry room and chemical storage area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelr36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire Side Inn - Georges' Grill also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Fire Side Inn - Georges' Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing