We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming”

El Explorador Gardens
Ranked #19 of 45 things to do in Boquete
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At El Explorador Gardens, we offer 5 acres of walking trails where you can explore to your heart's desire. Our walking trails include views of our coffee plantations, fruit and vegetable gardens, hundreds of different varieties of flowers, exotic plants and all kinds of interesting quotes and figurines made out of 100% recycled materials placed strategically among the gardens. On weekends, you can enjoy our coffee shop as well. Additionally, we have a junior and a master suite available for our visitors.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

If you don't have a car, it's kind of a pain to take a taxi or make the big hike up here. Admission is $5 and, while I understand it takes a lot to maintain this garden, I wasn't particularly excited about it. It has fewer plants and more objects with faces painted on them. It was fun to have a picnic at one of the little sitting areas, but overall it wasn't too exciting. It does have a good view of Boquete.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank pico427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    20
    7
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A great place for a grown up to be a kid”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

This place is great for a nice walk, slow down and take in all the beautiful things.
There're are fun ideas if you are into recycling, of things you could do with things you would otherwise throw away.
Its like a playground for kids and grownups.
There is a huge swing that is a joy to get on and fly as high as you can !
Recomforting and empowering messages hang on trees, giving you a positive vibe.
There are beautiful gardens and if you're lucky you'll find certain fruits on the way such as guayabas that you can eat throughout the walk and if you are really, REALLY lucky, a small white dog called Tomasa will walk with you :) she's the only guide.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LorenaMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Funny garden with motos”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Nice garden over the hill with nothing special considering botanical species but funny ready-made and recuperation sculptures with taught about life... "I have to work because God made me pretty not rich..." says the sculpture on the entrance... The fee is a bit expensive for what it is.. Now you know why;

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aurore B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quirky garden!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Lovely garden with lots going on. I'd imagine kids would love it here as there's lots to see! Get a taxi there though as it's a bit of an uphill walk!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tdotm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David, Panama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a unique and interesting place”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

It's more than a beautiful garden. It is full of whimsy, fun, signs with quotations, crazy decorations, and many interesting little touches. The owner said she has been there for 50 years, and works on the gardens with love for everyone who comes to enjoy them. When I saw how much work and thought went into this place I didn't mind handing over the entrance fee. I think it's well worth a visit, and allow enough time to really explore and enjoy it. I have a bunch of photos on my blog - http://blog.thepanamaadventure.com/2014/03/08/el-explorador-in-boquete-panama/

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Explorador Gardens also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to El Explorador Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing