We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be more exciting, but the owner was very friendly”

Jungla de Panama Wildlife Refuge
Ranked #15 of 45 things to do in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Jungla de Panama is a wildlife sanctuary that cares for and rehabilitates dozens of indigenous animals in a visitor-friendly, educational environment. Open daily from 10am-3pm. Located 10 minutes outside Boquete in the cloud forest of Palmira. ***AND DON'T FORGET*** You can also stay with us! Accommodations and on site restaurant available.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could be more exciting, but the owner was very friendly”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A little out of town, two few specimens, but worth passing by if you have the time. Especially if you have not seen any local wildlife up close on your trip. Children would enjoy this stop.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ronald j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    29
    7
    9
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“And it’s a hostel, too!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I first heard about this place from a traveler in Bocas del Toro, and figured we’d drop in to play with monkeys for an afternoon. We ended up staying five nights in the extremely comfortable little hostel that’s attached, feeding the animals, walking the horse, and generally helping out wherever we could.

La Jungla is a wildlife rescue center, and they take care of multiple animals that have been abandoned or abused, or simply lost their owner and needed a home. There are four monkeys, several goats, a beautiful palomino horse, several macaws, a coati (which I’d never even heard of before), snakes, chickens, dogs, and more. But what really blew me away was the amount of interaction that was allowed. You’re not just saying hello to an animal from behind a cage. You’re right in the middle of the ground with goats checking to see if you have anything to eat, monkeys climbing your shoulders, and chickens and dogs walking side by side. All donations go to helping the animals, and there are opportunities for volunteering as well.

But as much fun as La Jungla is to visit, it’s an even better place to stay. We extended our stay in Boquete by several days just to hang out with the animals and the people. Dorothy and Luis, who run the place, are exceedingly kind and dedicated people, and made all the guests feel very much at home. There’s a working kitchen, a small grocery right around the corner, and a one-dollar per person bus into town. The beds are the most comfortable we stayed on, and the other guests were extremely friendly. Large meals where everyone shared food were common.

The refuge is located in Palmira, which is up the hill from Boquete. Most cab drivers know where it is, and the going rate to get to/from La Jungla by cab varied between two and six dollars. Four seemed to be the average.

I’ve never had this level of interaction with this many different kinds of animals in my life. This seemed like a fun diversion when we first heard about it. It ended up being the highlight of our trip to Panama.

Be sure to visit, and try to stay here if you can.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

I got there after a guide at the rafting told my friend about it (it's basically unknown and not advertised in the hostels in Boquete). There is not even an entrance fee, they only ask you for a few dollars donation.
We got to play with snakes, monkeys, goats and parrots - it was really fun and great value for money even if your not a big animal fan.
I really recommend to make the small effort to get there If you're already in Boquete, for your fun and for the animals of course.

Helpful?
Thank gilmeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had so much fun here! It's a great little rescue/rehab operation with a few very friendly animals. We got to play with all of them. A few different kind of monkeys, a coati, some parrots, couple of dogs, goats, etc.

We were welcome to stay as long as we liked, and spend as long as we wanted with each animal. Or rather, the animals got to spend as much time with us as they liked... which was a lot! We'd never held monkeys before so that was a lot of fun.

They also have a restaurant and hostel, which seemed like they would be nice and fun to check out as well.

But if you have a couple of hours in Boquete and want to play with and help support some local wildlife, you should definitely check this place out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank rek731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best experiences in Panama”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We decided to stay here for a night at their hostel. Luis and Dorothy were so accommodating and friendly! In the morning they let out the monkeys and we hung out asked questions and got real hands on experience with monkeys and birds. There are also 5 dogs, goats, and a horse. When we were in Boquette we recommended it to everyone because we couldn't stop talking about it. It's $10 but it is all donation so not only are you having a once in a life time experience, you are helping the animals too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungla de Panama Wildlife Refuge also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Jungla de Panama Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing