We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Boquete Garden Inn”
Review of Boquete Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boquete Garden Inn
Ranked #2 of 28 Boquete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay at the Boquete Garden Inn”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed at the Boquete Garden Inn for 2 nights in February 2014. What an amazing experience! When we walked through the white gate onto the property, we knew we were in for a wonderful stay! The grounds and villas are beautiful and the highlight for my husband was having breakfast on the veranda, watching and taking pictures of the huge variety of colourful birds. The entire staff were very friendly and helpful. Jason and Susan are fantastic hosts, and everyone of the guests felt a warm welcome. We enjoyed the social hour in the evening, and it was a good opportunity to get to know the other guests as well ... we went out for dinner with a few of the couples, and it was really fun. This was our first trip to Boquete and we hope to return ... we wouldn't consider staying anywhere other than the Garden Inn. In our opinion, it is Number 1!! Thank-you Jason and Susan!

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are likely very good, and that there isn't a bad spot to be. We were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandiV2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you very much for our 500th 5 star review!!
We are now the only accommodation in Panama to hit this bench mark. On behalf of Susan & I and the staff, we would like to say a special thanks to you and all the other wonderful guests in the past for your support. We are blessed to have had very few problematic guests stay with us. We truly try our best to make sure all our guests have the best experience possible. Boquete Garden Inn has always attracted a great crowd of travellers from all over the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    64
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
130
497
37
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed for several days last month (Feb. 2014) at the BGI while visiting the town of Boquete. We have stayed there several times in years past and we were so pleased to find that the BGI is still one of our very favorite B&B's that we have ever been to. Jason and Susan, along with Danny and the rest of the staff could not have been more accommodating, friendly and professional. From serving great breakfasts with spectacular bird-watching daily, to arranging local tours, to providing very clean, modern and comfortable lodgings, we could not have asked for or desired more. And those evening Happy Hours...! we met such interesting people of all age groups and shared many laughs and stories. See you next year.

Room Tip: Have stayed in lower and upper rooms (only two rooms per unit) so your preference for ground floor o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raquel251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thanks very much for the reviews guys, it's always a pleasure having you stay with us. There's a surprisingly large amount of guests that have stayed with us in the past that now have moved to Boquete. This may be because we have tried to create a "micro" Boquete within the grounds of the hotel, having much of the flowers and birds you will see throughout the area. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed for three nights at BGI and loved every part of the town,the services at the Inn, the breakfasts, the comfort of our small 'villa'. Our room, a standard, was on the ground floor of a two story garden spot, with comfort everywhere. Bougainvillea surrounds the door, a quaint path leads around the property, birds sing and geckos click all about the place. Nightly happy hour with other guests and the owners in the garden gazebo is a nice touch. We enjoyed the experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fergybreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi guys, thanks for staying with us. Our concept is to offer a different type of experience to the conventional hotel. We're all about an escape to nature and beauty, we like to think that we are a garden retreat with a hotel inside. Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I have just returned from 3 weeks in Boquete and most of my time was spent at The Boquete Garden Inn. I can't say enough about it. Jason and Susan have put so much work into creating a beautiful and tranquil setting. Jason's attention to detail is seen in each room which is serenely and tastefully decorated. No need to go far to see gorgeous birds as you eat your breakfast on the patio or sit in the garden. The inn has a very sociable atmosphere whether it be first thing in the morning at breakfast or at social hour in the evening. I made a number of new friends during my stay. The staff are outstanding. Danny and Abel are always ready to help with whatever you might need. And the ladies do an amazing job of preparing breakfast, and then as a team keep the rooms immaculate, working efficiently and quickly. What can I say about Jose the gardener! He can be found amongst the flowers, birds and butterflies working his magic. The only problem I had while staying there was that I was sick one day. Danny contacted a doctor who made a house call!
This young doctor was amazing, spoke perfect English, spent half an hour with me and charged me $30. I was very impressed and was feeling better in no time. While staying at BGI I didn't have to go far for the rest of my meals. I ate at George's Grill almost every day. It is a short walk up the road. The Boquete Garden Inn was the perfect place for me. After such a long stay I felt very attached to everybody and am so grateful to all who made this such a memorable holiday. Thanks to Jason, Susan and all the staff

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are quieter. You can hear people above you if you are downstairs. If you are a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thanks for your kind words Claire, it was a pleasure having you stay with us. We're all about attention to details here and try our best to control all things within our capability, as you are aware things work very differently here. As for things out of our control, here in Boquete everything works 90% percent of the time, which considering where we are, 3600 feet above sea level in the mountains is essentially the middle of know where….. we're pretty fortunate. We wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampden, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had stayed here previously for three nights. Wayyyy too short of a stay in this beautiful location. We were delighted that the staff was still there and even remembered us. The evening get-together is a very nice touch. It was nice to chat with people from all over the world. Thank you Susan and Jason. And special thanks to Daniel and Abel and all of the help in the background that we did not meet personally.
Wonderful location.
Wonderful staff
Wonderful owners

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdy01036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks for the great review and we're happy you made it back to see us again!!
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We were fortunate to stay 3 nights but wish it was longer. Our hosts and staff were as good as it gets as is the Inn's setting in beautiful Boquete. The Garden Inn's breakfast of fresh fruit and other goodies (or optional cooked food) is served from the office building porch which provides the best view of amazing birds which also dine on fresh fruit. The birding is so good that even guides make a stop at the Inn. The gardens could not be more beautiful and extend throughout the property. Our immaculate room was spacious with comfortable beds, a small kitchen and view of the gardens. We learned to live with the lack of hot water (available for the shower only) but other than that, we did not see a better B&B in Boquete. One more thing: they are a few minute walk up the hill to a fun little restaurant (George's) that offers really good lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: Only saw our down-stairs room but the Inn is in a very quiet location and the rooms seem to be const...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks very much for the review and staying with us. At present, various birders have counted just over 90 species of birds spotted in and from the grounds of the hotel. We have a BGI bird book which our guests have been happy to add their sightings too.
Unlike many hotels in Panama, all of our rooms have hot water showers. We do not, however, have hot water in the sinks. This is due to our mountain location and the limitations of the electric tankless hot water system (which provides the most consistent water temperature, but only allows us to heat the shower). Hot showers are a bit of a treat here, Panamanians take cold showers..bbrrr!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My husband, Greg and I stayed here for only two nights and we were immediately saddened that we hadn't planned to stay longer! The Garden Inn not only boasts gorgeous grounds, beautifully decorated rooms, and a wonderful breakfast, but the customer service is superior to nearly anywhere else we've stayed. We arrived at the Inn the first night just in time to catch the "social hour" for a complimentary beer and sangria which tasted very nice after a long drive from Cerro Punta. Jason, the owner, was very welcoming. The next day, Greg and I asked lots of questions of the staff (including owner and Jason's wife, Susan who is very sweet and upbeat) about places to visit, eat, hike, and bird. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. The next day, in conversation, I mentioned to Jason that Greg and I wanted to visit Finca Lerida at sunrise for a jump start to a day of birding but I was sad to miss the wonderful breakfast we enjoyed the morning before. To our amazement, Jason offered to provide a packed breakfast that we could take with us! Not two hours later, neatly packed fruit, juice, breakfast rolls, and granola was delivered to our room! How incredible is that??? Thanks to the Inn, Greg and I sat at the top of a mountain at Finca Lerida while the sun rose, enjoyed our picnic, and had a lovely morning of birding. Danny, their awesome employee, even lined up a taxi for us to get there!!!! We are most certainly going to visit again someday. Oh and by the way, enjoy dinner at George's Gill just a short walking distance up the road- it's very rustic but the food is outstanding. Tammy, the waitress, is also very sweet. We hope you have as wonderful an experience as we did should you choose to stay at The Garden Inn.

Room Tip: perhaps you might ask about rooms on the left side of the property when you enter through the gate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jitterbugjamey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful and detailed review. We try our best to make everything as straight forward and simple for our guests as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
2.2 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 11 in Boquete
337 reviews
3.9 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 11 in Boquete
385 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
1.5 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#7 of 11 in Boquete
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boquete Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boquete Garden Inn

Property: Boquete Garden Inn
Address: Palo Alto, Boquete 0413, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boquete Garden Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Boquete Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boquete Garden Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing