We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond my expectations”
Review of Boquete Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boquete Garden Inn
Ranked #2 of 27 Boquete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have stayed at several inns and B&B's in Costa Rica always to be disappointed since their pictures were better than the actual location. BGI was a wonderful surprise in every way. The pictures do not do it justice & Susan, Jason and staff go out of their way to accommodate you. Our luggage did not arrive & they took a personal interest in getting it to us. We didn't have to preplan a single tour, they did it all upon our arrival. We had fun at the happy hours & they often joined us for dinner. Boquete is beautiful, rugged and fun and going "home" to Boquete Garden Inn was the perfect ending of an adventurous day. Than you Susan, Jason, Abel & Danny !

Room Tip: The room we stayed in had a front porch and in the mornings I would check email, watch the birds and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for the review. Your right! It is really hard to fully capture the essence of Boquete Garden Inn on a photo. I will however keep trying... all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 859 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

This place is going to be my official home in Boquete!! We stayed two nights in this hotel for a weekend getaway, and couldn't pick a better place...only a 3 mins of the center of the town, yet far enough to hear that birds waking us up every morning! The room was really comfortable, with a nice bed without the annoying smell that some hotels have! the atmosphere was soooooo peaceful, that invites to a nice nap in the afternoon to recharge batteries for the night! The hotel offers breakfast included in the fare, and it was healthy and enough for us, and also a drink every afternoon in their happy hour, so we had the chance to meet other guests that were having a good time as we did. But the highlight of this hotel is their staff: everyone was helpful, and smiley people willing to serve you with their best attitude. We are really grateful for giving us a nice vacation experience, thank you guys!

Room Tip: I stayed in Ginger, and I got a beautiful view in the mornings :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktycastillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for the kind review and staying with us. We're lucky to have a team of genuinely friendly people working with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This inn was so cozy and had everything a tourist needs to feel right at home. The gardens were just amazing full of birds, color and texture. I recommend it to everyone. Abel and Danny at the reception desk made it easier with their courtesies and service.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosacarbono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for your review. We try to think of everything possible within our control, to ensure all the guests enjoy there stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed one night and although the grounds were scenic, the rooms felt cramped and average. What was most disappointing was the lack of service. We needed to check out by 7:30 AM and have a taxi take us to town to catch a shuttle. Despite being reassured multiple times that the staff would be there at that time to call us a cab, we were left to our own. Stressed and feeling abandoned, we somehow flagged a cab and barely made it on time. I think the absence of owners is key in the mediocre service and attitude.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FarimaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

The night before, a taxi driver (Noriel) was booked for 7:30 am, within five minutes of the guests' request. The taxi driver arrived late, at 7:55am. The hotel does not open until 8:00 am. However, the staff who were preparing breakfast tried to call another taxi. Not having any luck, our gardener then called his cousin who was the taxi the guests flagged. It would not have been possible to flag a random taxi in the mountains otherwise.

Departures prior to the hotel's opening time of 8am are common. Because we understand the way things work in Panama, we know what can go wrong, and how to deal with it. Guests are given a taxi list and are shown the emergency cell phone. In this case, we did have staff on hand to deal with the issue, but because the guests did not speak Spanish, they were not aware of it. However, we did send them an email explaining the situation, which they chose to disregard.

The guests checked in at night, as the hotel was closing and left before we opened, so they weren't able to really experience the hotel and our service.

It is always highly recommended to rent a car in Boquete, you will not have the same experience otherwise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I felt welcomed to the Boquete Garden Inn even before leaving the USA. From making reservations to inquiring about transportation from David to Boquete, the staff and owners made me feel special. Upon arrival, I sat outside the reservation area and took photos of the beautiful birds at the various feeders in the garden. The colors from the flowers and birds were breathtaking. My room was unbelievable. The detail of amenities really touched me. Beyond chocolates being set out, there was calming music playing softly when I entered, fresh thistle in a vase on my dining table, a light over the bed, a clothes line in the shower, gorgeous decor, etc. Every night we had social time together. The intimate surroundings created an opportunity for meeting fellow travelers. Jason, Susan, Danny, and Abel - well done!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lov2shoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for your kind words and pointing out all the little details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Boquete Garden Inn is a wonderful place to stay in Boquete. The rooms are beautiful, the grounds are spectacular. Susan , Jason and their staff were friendly and helpful. I could go on , but don't miss this Inn if you are going to Boquete. You will love it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew and Caroly... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Luv the title of your review and thank you so much for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Excellent find. Over the past 8 years that we have lived in Panama, we have stayed in at least half a dozen hotels or apt-hotels in Boquete in the highlands of the Province of Chiriqui, Panama. We have had mostly good experiences with each of the hotels, yet finding Boquete Garden Inn was a fine "surprise." We had heard good reviews but we have never actually checked it out ourselves. This time we took a chance and booked a 4-night stay. These are suites (not "rooms") which are well-designed with "living room" space (couch & chair), kitchenette (frig, stove, microwave, dishes) and 4-chair dining table; a good-sized bedroom with much shelf space and orthopedic-quality beds and good bathroom. The suites are exceptionally clean which is not easy since BGI is set in the middle of a lovely garden in tropical highlands. So, the setting is lovely. And we are happy to say that the service gets top marks from us. The "comp breakfast" (stating promptly at 8 am) was healthy and filling (fresh fruits, yogurt, fresh breads); the evening "happy hour" bar (6-7 nightly) offers one comp beer or wine to every guest every night of a person's stay. The bar itself is beautiful set back in the garden; the happy hour idea is a fun way to meet other travelers in a relaxed no-expectations setting. Though the owners, Susan and Jason, were away during our stay, the Panamanian managers Abel and Danny made those owners proud! Prompt, helpful, responsible, resourceful, courteous, responsive...what more could one ask? Impressive service. This will be our first choice for return visits to Boquete and we know we will again feel right at home. And besides us (a couple), we had other friends (couples and singles) book at the same time; I believe all were as pleased as we were.

Room Tip: From what we could tell, all the suites are good. The hotel is made up of a series of small 2-story...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boquetegardeninn, Owner at Boquete Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful, detailed review! We're so glad our managers and staff took good care of you while we were away. We are very lucky to have such a great team!

And thank you for your great feedback about the rooms - because we are so close to the hotel, we sometimes take for granted the positives at Boquete Garden Inn that aren't standard in Panama (kitchenette, dining area, semi-orthopedic mattresses and more!) We appreciate that you noticed and shared with our potential future guests! ;)

Jason and I look forward to meeting you in the future! All the best ~ Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
1.1 mi away
La Montana y el Valle Coffee Estate Inn
3.9 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
399 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 12 in Boquete
137 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boquete Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boquete Garden Inn

Address: Palo Alto, Boquete 0413, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range: $105 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boquete Garden Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Boquete Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boquete Garden Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing