We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Places We've Ever Stayed”
Review of Boquete Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boquete Garden Inn
Ranked #2 of 27 Boquete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We just got back from a wonderful two-week vacation in Boquete, Panama, and the highlight of our vacation was being able to stay at the gorgeous Boquete Garden Inn. We had the larger suite, which includes a lovely dining and lounging area, kitchen, bedroom and bathroom...and even a charming front porch. It was our cozy home-away-from-home and we loved it. The gardens are the Inn are amazing and we delighted in walking around the meandering paths, admiring the various plants and flowers, seeing all kinds of beautiful birds, and relaxing in the outdoor hammocks and swinging chairs.

Every evening the Inn has a Happy Hour for guests which includes complimentary beer and wine, and is a great way to meet other travelers and compare vacation stories. We met some very interesting and nice people and especially enjoyed getting to know the wonderful owners, Jason and Susan. They've done an incredible job with their hotel and they were always so friendly and helpful, along with their great staff, and we always looked forward to seeing them. They attended all of the Happy Hours and were the perfect hosts. The breakfast each morning, which is included, was a delicious selection of fresh fruit, pastries from the best local bakery, cereal and coffee/tea. For under $5, you can also have a selection of yummy egg dishes, including eggs and bacon, huevos rancheros, etc. It's served in the outdoor eating area overlooking part of the garden, and there are bird feeders nearby to watch the tropical birds as you enjoy breakfast.

The location of the Inn is perfect because it's away from the downtown area, but a very short drive (about 5 mins) or a vigorous walk (past horse pastures and very nice homes) to town. One of the staff members, Manny, was extremely helpful and gave us great suggestions on what to do and how to get there. We mainly like to try and do what the locals do when we stay somewhere, so we enjoyed eating at La Posada (beautiful back room overlooking the river, a serious bar with a stellar whiskey selection, delicious fresh trout) and having strawberries at Fresa's. We skipped the zip lining and coffee tours, but heard that they were worthwhile. Highlights for us included getting up close and personal with the monkeys and other wildlife at the Jungla, My husband held a sweet, darling Spider Monkey named Daisy who had been abused by her owners and is now thankfully in safe, loving hands. I got into some mischief with a squirrel monkey and chatted with toucans.

Unfortunately, some of our luggage was stolen at the David airport when we landed, so we weren't in the best vacation mode when we arrived at Boquete. But due to our stay at the Inn, we felt so much better and regarded it as our special refuge. We've stayed at a variety of hotels throughout the years, including the Chateau Marmont in LA, and the Boquete Garden Inn is one of the very best we've stayed at!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrincessLeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 860 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2011

The Boquete Garden Inn has breathtaking beauty along with quiet relaxation that allows you to totally decompress.
The staff is not only good at performing the services you expect, but they go beyond that by personally assisting you with tour plans, transportation and information on entertainment venues. Late check in? No problem. Your room will be ready, the keys will be waiting and security will escort you to your cottage. Leaving early in the morning on an excursion? The staff will prepare food & deliver it the evening before so you can take it with you.
You can visit with the owners every day. They enjoy having breakfast with their guests each morning.
My only regret about the Boquete Garden Inn is that we could not have stayed longer!

Room Tip: There are room discounts available through Habla Ya.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Greg_Lisa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

My husband, daughter and I had the pleasure of staying at the Boquete Garden Inn for four nights this summer. Looking at our photos of the gardens at the Inn, as well as the surrounding hills of Boquete is a reminder to us of the unique, natural beauty of this area. Susan and J run a a well organized, top quality inn. The service was excellent and the breakfast overlooking the gorgeous garden was delicious. We eventually rented a car in Boquete, but the walk into town provided us with more breathtaking scenery.

We definitely recommend staying at the Boquete Garden Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maryshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We came to Boquete because of all the positive reviews I read about it being a top retirement destination. It was a nice enough area but no way is it a world-class retirement destination. I was actually disappointed and let down. The actual town is a third-world small town. I would not want to get sick and need medical care. I drove all around the surrounding area and yes it was pretty but nothing to compare with such areas in America as the Blue Ridge or Shenandoah areas in the Smoky mountains, the lovely small town areas in New England or the mid-west, the majestic areas in the Rocky mountains all over the west, and nothing at all to compare with northern California. Yes the U.S. is more expensive but you get waht you pay for.
The Garden Inn had the most beautiful grounds I have ever experienced in any kind of accommodation. You would think you were in the Garden of Eden. The included breakfasts were ample and attractive but pretty much repetitious. Our room was a disapointment. It was really a very average room for such a highly rated BB. It was very clean but the furnishings were just average to somewhat less so. The staff were very nice and helpful so overall the best I can do is 4 star. I would go again and would recommend the Garden Inn to a friend.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank Jonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

The service at this hotel was excellent. Manny and Abel were more than helpful. They booked the Boquete Tree Trek for us, which had us leaving before the complimentary breakfast was served. Manny made sure we had some breakfast items (juice, fruit, pastry, trail bars) brought to us the evening before. The social hour was most enjoyable. The rooms were clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. We expected to enjoy staying at the Garden Inn and we did. Jay and Susan were also great hosts.

If you stay here, you either need a car or to use a taxi. The Garden Inn is not located near the town, but is in a quiet, picturesque spot. There is wi-fi access which worked nicely for our son; he was able to face time on his ipod touch with friends in the states in the evening.

Overall, we enjoyed Boquete. It is cooler than El Valle and Farallon and in July experiences afternoon rains. I guess Sept and Oct are the rainy months where it can rain nearly the entire day. We felt more people understood and were comfortable with English in Bouqete than our other stops in Panama. The restaurants recommended by the Garden Inn staff had good food and the service at those restaurants was good.

We thoroughly enjoyed the Tree Trek zipline. The guides and the service at the restaurant were excellent. (www.aventurist.com). Even afraid of heights, I so enjoyed the zipline and was extremely impressed with the gentlemen that led our group. We also loved Jungla fe Panama in Palmira Centro http://jungladepanama.org/. Our daugher wants to go back to hold the monkeys.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SammySushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed at the Boquete Garden in for 4 nights towards the end of June, and we absolutely loved it. Our room was perfect: large, clean, and surrounded by beautiful gardens. Susan, J, and the rest of the staff we friendly and professional and gave us great advice on places to eat and things to do while in Boquete. We highly recommend this as THE place to stay for a relaxing and warm atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sokasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Our family of 6 (3 rooms) stayed here for 5 nights in June. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious... even with mini kitchens. The grounds are absolutely beautiful with the flowers, the birds, hammocks and meandering paths. We very much enjoyed the evening wine and beer hour to connect with our hosts and fellow travelers. Great way to share and get info about the area and what to do the next day! Susan, J and Danny all go out of their way to make it a wonderful stay. They accomodated our needs for early breakfasts, towels to take river rafting etc.. We loved BGI and would refurn again and recommend to anyone going to Boquete. (And tip we got from travlers there... gem of restaurant called Il Pianisa.. just up the road.. quite great find.)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrierg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
1.1 mi away
La Montana y el Valle Coffee Estate Inn
2.2 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
344 reviews
3.9 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#3 of 12 in Boquete
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 12 in Boquete
137 reviews
2.4 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
9.4 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boquete Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boquete Garden Inn

Address: Palo Alto, Boquete 0413, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range: $97 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boquete Garden Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Boquete Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boquete Garden Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing