We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”
Review of Hotel Panamonte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Panamonte
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent two nights at the Panamonte and loved it. We stayed in room 12 which was large and beautiful with a patio in the garden. The bar was especially lovely with fireplaces and a great atmosphere. We also loved the spa...the massage rooms were basic but the massages outstanding. We ate twice at the restaurant and while it was very good, it didn't quite live up to the hype.

We ran into two problems that were taken care of by the staff. First, we were taken to a room with only one bed when we had requested two, but within minutes we were given a different room. On our final day at breakfast we made some substitutions for exactly what was on the menu (asked for fruit instead of bacon) and were not told we would be charged for that change. After breakfast when they showed us the bill we were surprised and said we should have been told there would be a charge. The person we spoke with at the restaurant was not helpful but we were running late and did not have time to speak with someone else. We brought this up at check out and the charge was removed without any questions.

Overall the hotel, bar, and spa were excellent and the restaurant was very good. We would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 12 was large, beautiful, and had a great little patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudreyK1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dvisite, Front Office Manager at Hotel Panamonte, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you very much for the excellent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you, family and friends at the Panamonte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    63
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
47
85
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Very good staff and amenities. Stayed over the weekend at the colibri suite and it was amazing. The Panamonte is very peaceful and relaxing and the staff was very friendly and helpful during our stay. The food is a bit expensive at the hotel but still very good. I recommend visiting the la Posada Boqueteña for more food variety. (2 mins walking distance.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dvisite, Front Office Manager at Hotel Panamonte, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you very much for the excellent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you, family and friends at the Panamonte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Very close to town, but just far enough for it to be quiet and peaceful. The gardens are beautiful, great place to relax. The food is very tasty, - the bar is really well set out- great decor. The staff was really helpful and friendly, helping with tours and advice on what to see, and where to go (thanks Ricardo!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dvisite, Front Office Manager at Hotel Panamonte, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you very much for the excellent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you, family and friends at the Panamonte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I spent 3 nights in room 19, the honeymoon suite which is part of the original 1919 hotel. It has a private staircase up to the only room, with a feel of being in the attic of you great aunts house. There are several cottages and suites that have been added on the back property that are probably in better condition, but are 2-3 times the price of my room. I really loved the location and feel of this room, but it could use a little uplift. There was a broken hook on bathroom door, all the windows slammed in the wind, the faucets in the bath were reversed and the hot water was sketchy. The room us not clean, but they came and did a thorough cleaning when we mentioned it. Overall I liked the funkiness of the room and having a view of the street. The Resturant was excellent and we ate almost all our meals there. I will go back again and request the same No.19 room.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dvisite, Front Office Manager at Hotel Panamonte, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you very much for the excellent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you, family and friends at the Panamonte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, MA
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Panamonte Inn, built in 1914, is a charming, restful and beautifully appointed property in the scenic highland town of Boquete. The grounds at the Inn are filled with lovely flowers, cactus, and shade trees and the layout exudes serenity and grace.

We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite, the best room at the Inn, which includes a large master bedroom, and a quaint outside seating area complete with its own outside fireplace. The suite also feature a full sized two-person Jacuzzi and a large walk-in closet, large flat screen TV, full WIFI and elegant decorations.

The service at the Inn was extremely friendly and responsive and the bar and restaurant operation are world class. The restaurant is lovely, with a fine menu including local rainbow trout and local greens and vegetables, as well as a fine wine list filled with great South American and European wines. The best trout I have every tasted and many new wines to sample (from Uruguay, Chile, Argentina, etc.).

The bar is very cozy and includes both indoor and outdoor fireplaces with large overstuffed couches and chairs creating an inviting and congenial atmosphere for the Inn's guests and others to enjoy. The bartender was excellent and local specialty drinks were great.

We retired to our room after a 13 mile hike on the Quetzales Trail around the nearby Baru Volcano with rainforest views from over 3,000 meters (highly recommend this hike-- a bit strenuous but worth the effort to see the spectacular highly scenery, rainforest, birds, etc.). You will need a local guide who is used to navigating the trail.

Room Tip: Recommend the Honeymoon Suite, the best room at the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WellTraveled3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dvisite, Front Office Manager at Hotel Panamonte, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you very much for the excellent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you, family and friends at the Panamonte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

From our time traveling around Boquete this appears to be the best lodging. It does not have that "old Panamanian" charm that I was expecting but it makes up for it with large, beautiful rooms that are spacious and well decorated. The beds are comfortable with fine linens. There is ample lighting, flat screen TV, a safe and in room wifi. The bathrooms are large as is the shower and there is plenty of hot water. The rooms have large patio doors, an ample patio with outdoor furniture. The patios overlook the lush grounds.

The restaurant is very good with a somewhat formal feel but it is not stuffy. There are windows on two sides of the room which are usually open keeping the room fresh. The tables are covered in fine linen with cloth napkins. The menu does not change and does get a little boring. But the food is very good.

Our favorite spot was the outdoor bar/restaurant. It is nicely decorated with overstuffed furniture and two wonderful fireplaces. A great place to sit on cold windy nights enjoying your favorite drinks. They also serve the main restaurant menu. Drinks are very reasonable by US standards.

The staff is very helpful, friendly and watchful. With only 12 rooms they seem to know everyone.

The hotel is a great place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlOjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dvisite, Front Office Manager at Hotel Panamonte, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you very much for the excellent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you, family and friends at the Panamonte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I took a trip to Panama, which spanned December 20, 2012, through January 3, 2013. We stayed at Hotel Panamonte on the following two nights: December 26 and 27. You can see my reviews of the other hotels as well as the tour company that helped us plan our trip.

Hotel Panamonte is a nice hotel. It is quiet, clean, and the gardens are amazingly beautiful and fanatically maintained.

I am a light sleeper, so it was great that we did not hear any noise from the rooms next to us.

Because it rains so much in Panama, the builders put covered walkways throughout the entire complex. Therefore, you can walk from the main entrance to your room and not get wet.

Regarding the restaurant. I know a lot of people say it is really great, but my husband and I weren’t that impressed. We thought the food was just OK. Of course, that’s only our opinion.

Would I recommend this hotel to a friend and would I stay there again? Yes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mah1066ban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dvisite, Front Office Manager at Hotel Panamonte, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you very much for the excellent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you, family and friends at the Panamonte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
4.1 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 11 in Boquete
388 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 11 in Boquete
338 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 11 in Boquete
127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#7 of 11 in Boquete
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panamonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panamonte

Property: Hotel Panamonte
Address: Ave 11 de Abril, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Boquete
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Panamonte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1914, the Hotel Panamonte has been the Old world charm in the enchanting highlands of Boquete luxurious rooms and indulgent culinary experience of choice for travelers from near and far. For more than 50 years, the Collins-Elliot family has blended their Old World Swedish tradition of hospitality with the friendliness of Panama in Boquete's extraordinary cloud forest setting of mountains, valleys, waterfalls and flowers. The result is the creation of a destination luxury hotel that combines the best of history with modern amenities. For three generations, families from Panama City, the United States and Europe have been coming to The Panamonte to celebrate weddings, honeymoons, christenings, family, and corporative reunions. Discover for yourself why staying at the Hotel Panamonte has become a tradition-it is so much more than just place to rest. It is a place from which to refresh the body, mind, and spirit and make memories that will last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Panamonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panamonte Hotel Boquete
Panamonte Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing