We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Establos Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Boquete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Park, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent two night at Los Establos and absolutely loved the property and the staff. We began each morning the sounds of nature and a delicious breakfast... fresh juice, coffee, fruit. Then each afternoon, we were greeted with wine and sanchoco (traditional Panamanian chicken soup), which was perfect after a day of exploring the rainforest. The hotel views allowed us to take in the beauty of Boquete and totally unwind as we sat on the terrace or explored the coffee plantation and gardens on the property. We did rent a car, which allowed us to drive into town for dinner and drinks at night. The road to town is narrow, steep, and very dark at night so we did not risk the walk. Overall, we loved that this hotel was quiet and stunningly beautiful. We will definitely stay here next time we visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    35
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
36
90
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My family (me, husband, two kids and my parents) loved Los Establos. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were lovely, the breakfast was abundant and delicious. I agree with an earlier comment - perhaps being able to eat dinner at the hotel would have made this place perfect. My children want to go back when it isn't raining so they can play on the swings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irina A, Owner at Los Establos Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Mrs. Holly we are so happy to hear that your entire family had a great time. We are also pleased to let you know that the restaurant will be open by August this year. We hope to see you back in Boquete! Thank very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loveandmarriage
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The wife and I thoroughly loved our time at Los Establos.

The views are breathtaking and very relaxing - the volcano is just far enough to be beautiful and non-threatening. =)

The hotel staff were really friendly, and tried to make us feel at home at all times.

There were plenty of activities that were on offer for such a remote location....but to be honest, we were too busy taking in the fresh mountain air and tranquility (and some of the in-house grown coffee) to partake in many of them.

As other reviewers have pointed out, the only downside that we found was that there was no dinner restaurant on the property......but the upside of this was that we did venture out and discover some local gems: The Rock and The Panamonte Restaurants.

Overall we would highly recommend Los Establos to anyone looking for a very peaceful and beautiful escape. It has definitely helped us recharge ourselves for everyday life........now when can we go back?!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveandmarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our visit to Los Establos this past winter season was by far the highlight of our stay in Panama.
The location on a small coffee plantation gives you the sense of how beautiful and peaceful the mountain community of Bouquet really is...The staff are overly attentive to every one of your needs. We so enjoyed our time visiting with the Owners who are charming, friendly and personable.We stayed for three nights and wished that our stay was longer....We will return!
George & Sue from New Hampshire.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David, Panama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed for one night and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Weather was great at the time of year giving us spectacular views of Volcan Baru. The one improvement for us would have been a restaurant on site for dinner. We found the people helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Eira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irina A, Owner at Los Establos Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for staying with us, always is a pleasure! We are happy to announce that from October 2013 we will have our Restaurant open for dinner. We look forward to have you again at Los Establos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I just stayed at Los Establos on May 15, and when I read the last review I was scared with the comments, but it was amazing. We didn't have any bugs and occasionally you heard the rooster, but if you go in vacation to the mountain what you can expect, and more than the rooster are not the hotel property. We had a wonderful time the staff was great and they are getting ready to open a beautiful Spa and Gym just the great complement to this beautiful place. I will stay there again. Thanks to the staff for making our vacation a wonderful time!

Room Tip: When you book request the Suites Sol or Luna
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Violeta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our biggest complaint with this place was the noise. It was endless, if it wasn't the dogs who live next door barking non-stop, then it was the roosters or the construction which would start at 6am. Yes, there was construction on the property but also at the homes surrounding the property. Also, there were cars and people walking through the property who lived in the homes around the property. It was constant and you could never just REST!

Next came the bugs. You couldn't leave a porch light on at night or else you would be bombarded by every bug in the jungle. Walk into your room and you find dead bugs all over. The cleaning crew never bothered to sweep or pick up dead bugs which littered the room for our entire stay. The worst part was that the rooms don't have AC, and why should they when it stays nice and cool at night, right? Well there were HUGE gaps in the screens so if you left your windows opens during the night you would be swarmed by bugs. Oh and don't forget the noise would be even louder. Finally, don't plan on staying outside past dusk as you will be attacked by all of the bugs.

The only place you could get wifi was in the main lobby, and not even in the dining room area, you have to be in the lobby. Rooms had enough hot water for a single shower and there were really no amenities. They put a coffee maker in the room, but no coffee or filters?

The good...the staff was very friendly and we liked the simple breakfasts. They weren't anything to write home about but they did the trick. The views were incredible and it was great sitting out on the patio relaxing (when they were taking breaks during the construction, etc).

In all, the least favorite place we stayed in Panama and not somewhere we would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lifeon2whls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
1.7 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
4.8 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 12 in Boquete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.4 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
1.5 mi away
Valle Escondido Resort Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Establos Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Establos Boutique Hotel

Property: Los Establos Boutique Hotel
Address: Jaramillo Arriba, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Establos Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Inn in Boquete with tropical gardens and volcano views. Originally built as a fancy stable, this boutique hacienda still celebrates all things equine - think bronze horse statuettes, a cowhide rug, and rooms named for the former barn residents (Chombita, Rosita, Solita, more). Wrought iron, regal columns and colonial arches abound, as do tasteful furnishings picked up around South and Central America, including an impressive snakewood dining set carved by hand in Argentina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Los Establos Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing