We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”

Volcan Baru National Park
Ranked #4 of 45 things to do in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Panama's highest peak and only volcano at 3,478 meters offers sweeping ocean views and spectacular cloud forests from its summit.
Azle, TX
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This really is a beautiful place. However, it totally depends on what time of day that you visit. In the morning, you get beautiful sunlit rolling hills and meadows...however, after the mist and clouds roll in about 3 pm, you definitely notice more "green" with a mysterious feel. We couldn't figure out whether we were in Panama or Scotland :-)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Christel747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    77
    31
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Klagenfurt, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“don't walk there at bad weather!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

we started at midnight and it took us five hours to get to the last buildings on the top of the mountain.
the pathway (partly street) is really long and steep but not dangerous!
we had rain from quite the beginning and it didn't stop until we had gone back down.
on the top we were soaking wet, it was col and windy - and dark as we arrived too early for sunset.
be aware that on 3400m it is cold! hat and gloves are essential as a proper rainjacket.
we had clouds on the top so no view at all.
next time I'd rather start very early in the morning and enjoy the view (hopefully) at Caribbean and pacific sea!

Helpful?
Thank principessakneesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not for the people with weak knees”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went on the hike to the top of the Volcan Baru. We've done some hiking in the past, but this is trully the most intense we've done. The road is steep and trying. It makes for the difficult way up - hard to breathe and difficult on the legs, but the way down is even tougher - constantly putting pressure on the knees.
We were not lucky with the weather and did not see anything from the top.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hiking a volcano”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We hired our guide, Feliciano through El Oasis. He was excellent and I would highly recommend him. Unfortunately experience altitude sickness but did finally make it to the top thanks to Feliciano. And the views were awesome when the clouds parted.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank RedKitty_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not for the faint of heart”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

A hike viw t his national park to the top of Volcan Baru (the highest peak in Panama at 10,000 ft) is vigorous. A "must start" at before dawn will take you there and back before dark., Paths range from flat to strewn bolder rocks. It is never "dangrous" per se....but consistantly demanding. Not for the pulmonary or orthopedically challenged. Take adequate water as there is none en route. To see the vista of the Atlantic and Pacific coasts from the top is only a for sure during the dry season Jan - March. You can overnight just short of the top in a shack...but you must carry in your sleeping gear...and it gets cold up there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ABLeever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcan Baru National Park also viewed

 

Been to Volcan Baru National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing