We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun, expat heavy environment”

Mike's Global Grill
Ranked #18 of 109 Restaurants in Boquete
Price range: $2 - $14
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Mike's Global Grill offers a wide variety of international cuisines including Asian, American, European, Middle Eastern as well as Panamanian. We use only fresh local ingredients and have changing specials daily. We are Boquete's favorite sports bar with 4 large TVs showing your requests for games from around the world. We often have huge crowds for American Football. We offer free WiFi, print magazines and newspapers, and computers for our customers to enjoy for free.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is a fun bar to watch a beloved home game and mix with local, expat flavor. most of the patrons live in Boquete and are interesting characters. The drinks are inexpensive and the food was pleasantly good. We had the yummy barbeque wings and the pork sandwich. Both were good! The owners are very nice too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tsimon05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 298 of 453 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

Good place for casual bite to eat. I had the chicken wings with the 'No Bueno' sauce and was amazed how good it was. Please bottle me some to take back to Canada!

Only downside were the smokers on the patio. They made it unbearable to spend any time outside.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marcusdesade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

In the 3 months we have been in Boquete, Mike's Global Grill has become our favorite place to go. The first time I went I had the falafel wrap, and it was fantastic. Since then, we have hit most of the menu, and have yet to be disappointed with anything. Although the Hog Sandwich, the Cheeseburger, the pizza, and the Al Capone are all excellent, for us, the absolute stand-outs are the fried chicken, the Pad Thai Noodles, the Chinese Stir Fry and the Hot Wings. Nobody can beat Heidi's Bloody Marys (sorry Mike) or Sangria. And when you order a rum and coke, you can pretty much expect RUM and Coke, not Coke and a little rum! No skimping on the good stuff at Mike's. Because of the atmosphere Mike and Heidi have created, it is always easy to go to Mike's, relax, and have a great time. The Panamanian staff are really nice and always willing to help us with our Spanish. The restaurant is in a beautiful setting, and it is always nice to eat or relax outside by the river if you don't want to be indoors.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Guy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

During a month long stay in Boquete my wife and I visited Mike's regularly.

It's a Sports Bar! If you’re looking at or reviewing this as anything else .. duh!

There are plenty of big screens, free WIFI and extremely low cost specials regularly.

During our stay (from Canada) we enjoyed the American Thanksgiving, Heidi & Mike served Turkey and all the fixings. Other great meals included fresh baby clams in white wine sauce, perhaps the best nachos I've ever had, the usual pub fare - and yes the pizza is excellent. Mike and his staff are very good cooks and gracious hosts.

I would absolutely recommend Mike’s for a night out to watch the game .. Although a little more hockey would be nice :)

G

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newnewyorker, Owner at Mike's Global Grill, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Thanks for hanging out with us! By the way, we have the Penguins vs Bruins game on right now! ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We hung out at Mike's on Friday nights (or Saturday nights, or the occasional brunch) every week Oct-Nov 2013. Hands down, he's got the best vegetarian pizza in town. The other dishes are also clearly made by people who care about food. The vibe is an American sports bar. They have occasional specials like $.50 beers and there is usually some kind of shenanigans going on. Never a dull moment at Mike's. In addition to the veg pizza, there are a handful of other vegetarian options available -- including a sock-knocking veg chili... if you pester Mike enough to make it for you. I do recommend pestering him. He can take it. ;)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VegetarianViajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newnewyorker, Owner at Mike's Global Grill, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Thanks for being part of the fun crowd! We're trying to add more vegetarian options in this land of pollo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike's Global Grill also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Mike's Global Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing