We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best wing sauce to date!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mike's Global Grill

Mike's Global Grill
Ranked #19 of 102 Restaurants in Boquete
Price range: $2 - $14
Cuisines: American, Bar, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mike's Global Grill offers a wide variety of international cuisines including Asian, American, European, Middle Eastern as well as Panamanian. We use only fresh local ingredients and have changing specials daily. We are Boquete's favorite sports bar with 4 large TVs showing your requests for games from around the world. We often have huge crowds for American Football. We offer free WiFi, print magazines and newspapers, and computers for our customers to enjoy for free.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best wing sauce to date!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Good place for casual bite to eat. I had the chicken wings with the 'No Bueno' sauce and was amazed how good it was. Please bottle me some to take back to Canada!

Only downside were the smokers on the patio. They made it unbearable to spend any time outside.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marcusdesade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    144
    63
    16
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great people, great setting, and great drinks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

In the 3 months we have been in Boquete, Mike's Global Grill has become our favorite place to go. The first time I went I had the falafel wrap, and it was fantastic. Since then, we have hit most of the menu, and have yet to be disappointed with anything. Although the Hog Sandwich, the Cheeseburger, the pizza, and the Al Capone are all excellent, for us, the absolute stand-outs are the fried chicken, the Pad Thai Noodles, the Chinese Stir Fry and the Hot Wings. Nobody can beat Heidi's Bloody Marys (sorry Mike) or Sangria. And when you order a rum and coke, you can pretty much expect RUM and Coke, not Coke and a little rum! No skimping on the good stuff at Mike's. Because of the atmosphere Mike and Heidi have created, it is always easy to go to Mike's, relax, and have a great time. The Panamanian staff are really nice and always willing to help us with our Spanish. The restaurant is in a beautiful setting, and it is always nice to eat or relax outside by the river if you don't want to be indoors.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Guy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“By Far Best SPORTS bar in Boquete”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

During a month long stay in Boquete my wife and I visited Mike's regularly.

It's a Sports Bar! If you’re looking at or reviewing this as anything else .. duh!

There are plenty of big screens, free WIFI and extremely low cost specials regularly.

During our stay (from Canada) we enjoyed the American Thanksgiving, Heidi & Mike served Turkey and all the fixings. Other great meals included fresh baby clams in white wine sauce, perhaps the best nachos I've ever had, the usual pub fare - and yes the pizza is excellent. Mike and his staff are very good cooks and gracious hosts.

I would absolutely recommend Mike’s for a night out to watch the game .. Although a little more hockey would be nice :)

G

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newnewyorker, Owner at Mike's Global Grill, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thanks for hanging out with us! By the way, we have the Penguins vs Bruins game on right now! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
126 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, really fun crowd”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We hung out at Mike's on Friday nights (or Saturday nights, or the occasional brunch) every week Oct-Nov 2013. Hands down, he's got the best vegetarian pizza in town. The other dishes are also clearly made by people who care about food. The vibe is an American sports bar. They have occasional specials like $.50 beers and there is usually some kind of shenanigans going on. Never a dull moment at Mike's. In addition to the veg pizza, there are a handful of other vegetarian options available -- including a sock-knocking veg chili... if you pester Mike enough to make it for you. I do recommend pestering him. He can take it. ;)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VegetarianViajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newnewyorker, Owner at Mike's Global Grill, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thanks for being part of the fun crowd! We're trying to add more vegetarian options in this land of pollo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonosi, Panama
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food, good company”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The couple who run and own the place are extremely welcoming, making sure to stop through and talk to everyone. There is a bar that always has a few expats and channels like ESPN on large screens, with a lounge area for locals to kick back. Live music radiates out onto the rainy streets. The walls are lined with shelves of cook books. Table service is great. The menu is regular variety with good prices and great food from thoughtful recipes. Try "The Hog" pulled pork BBQ sandwich. MMMmmm. Mike and his wife met at a research station in Antarctica and their adventurous lives have brought them to Boquete. Very cool people. Check this place out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike's Global Grill also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Mike's Global Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing