We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent!”

Beyond Adventure Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Bitung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We took 2 tours with Rolando from Beyond Adveture Tours. Both of them were very well organised and were exactly or even more than we expected.
Our hike on the Quetzal trail was guided by Eduardo and he was an excellent guide, spotting wildlife and trying to find the beautiful Quetzal birds. Unfortunately we only heard one at the beginning of our hike, but as we were "off season" this was to be expected. Rolando came to pick us up at our hotel and drove us to the beginning of the trail, and he picked us up 5 hours later at the end again.
For the second tour Casper was our 4x4 driver to the top of the Baru. Rolando accompanied us too and he brought a very good breakfast and even brewed us a coffee in the police station at the top. Very well organised, reliable and super friendly organisation. Strongly recommend it

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robendebopavontuur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    5
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rolando and Doris from Beyond Adventures are outstanding!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We contacted Beyond Adventures via email prior to our arrival to Boquete and Doris was excellent with her prompt responses. We had several questions in regards to different tours and she was great in helping us making the best use of our time there. We took several tours with them, right of the plane they pick up us at David airport were we met Rolando our guide, Rolando is awesome, provides lots of fun facts, and is an active participant in the tours, his demeanor and personality is very easy going always going the extra mile to make you feel welcome and a good personal photographer. As far as the tours ALL were great, Cangilones, volcan Baru, Petroglys, Hot Springs you can't go wrong with any of them, They also helped with a quick tour to Bocas del Toro. I got sick the last day of our trip with a bad cold and these people are so conscious that they cancelled the last tour without charging us for it. Rolando himself advise which local medicine to take. I would highly recommend Beyond Adventures for any trips to Boquete, Doris and Roldando will make sure you have a good time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amalia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun and adventure!”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Me and my friend booked the tour to Volcan Barú (4x4) and it was better than we expected. It was really easy to deal with Beyond Adventure Tours and Rolando and he rest of the staff (they were 3) were extremely nice and helpful. We were suppose to leave the hotel at 2:30 am and when they arrive we were not there, because we had a huge problem with the bus we took to David. They were on their way to town already when we arrive and Rolando was fantastic, helped us with our backpacks, went with us to the hotel and we went on the tour that we thought it was already lost... it went really well, it´s really an adventure, lots of fun!! And the views of both coastlines at sunrise are breathtaking... Highly recommended!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sofiagf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dachau, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pure Perfectionism - Don't miss Beyond Adventure!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We read several reviews of different tour operators in Boquete and chose Beyond Adventures to plan some tours during our stay. We booked the Volcan Baru overnight tour, the Quetzal trail, horseback riding as well as the hot springs.

At the first day we met Rolando and our guide Eduardo at our hotel on time at 10:00 am. Rolando wasn't able to do this tour this day so Eduardo accompanied us the way up to the Volcan Baru. Eduardo is very experienced as he has been hiking for several years and knows the way up to the vulcano's summit very well. We were taken some miles past the entry to the National Park by their jeep. You can also start the hike from the below ranger station, but if you're not an experienced hiker I'd suggest to start from some miles after. The first 30 minutes were easy but the way up the vulcano became harder. We had no experience with hiking so the whole tour up took us about 6 to 7 hours for about 10 kilometers. At some time you will reach the clouds and from there it will begin to get quite cold, windy and sometimes rainy, so you better bring warm clothes and even gloves. Take enough water with you as well as some snacks like power bars.

When we reached the summit there was nothing but thick fog and clouds and hard winds. First we headed to a small building where Eduardo and two policemen intended to spend the night. They have two bunk beds, a TV, a kitchen and a bathroom there. Eduardo prepared a quite tasty dinner of noodles with cheese sauce, turkey and salad. We were supposed to sleep in a tent then, so we started to build it up. Unfortunately there are big antennas for television and mobile phones there, so the ground is made of concrete at most points making it impossible to set the tent pegs. We used some heavy stones at each corner of the tent to fix it at it's position. The tent and sleeping bags are provided by Beyond Adventures.

As the temperature kept dropping and the wind speed increased and we were freezing in the tent, we knew that we wouldn't make it the whole night. Rolando already told us at the hotel that it might also possible to sleep at the police station, so that's where we headed to again. When we entered Eduardo and the policemen laughed - They already expected us to come back =) As there are only two bunk beds it was not problem to share one bed with my girlfriend while the other three guys had one for themselves. Eduardo prepared some tea and we watched TV together. The policemen have to spend 16 days up there before returning to their families. That's really hard!

As I wasn't used to the height (3475m/11398ft), I got altitude sickness. I already noticed it when reaching the summit: It became harder to breath and I felt dizzy. Each single movement pushed my pulse high. Eduardo was prepared for that: A single lime helped me back on my feet. You just have to drink the fresh juice. The citrus will make you feel better.

When we woke up at around 07:30 am, we went out as we wanted to see the sunrise. Unfortunately the weather didn't change, so the only thing we saw was thick fog and clouds. We soon began our way back to Boquete after thanking the policemen for having us in their station over the night. They way down was much easier than up and took around 3 hours. Rolando picked us up at the same point where he left us the day before and brought us to our hotel where we rested.

The next day we planned to do horseback riding, so Rolando took us to the ranch together with another couple from Madrid, Spain. The horses were already prepared and we had a nice horseback riding tour during which we also visited the Petroglyphs. The whole tour lasted about 2 hours. Afterwards we headed to the hot springs which was quite relaxing.

As the hike up the Volcan Baru was quite hard we didn't want to do another hike, so we switched the Quetzal trail with the hidden pools tour which was a really good decision. At the "pools" you can jump off some cliffs into the water and relax there. In the afternoon we did the coffee tour which was really interesting - And the coffee was awesome! Rolando has an excellent knowledge about coffee.

Lastly: If you're looking for a tour operator in Boquete, Rolando & Beyond Adventures is your choice! We've been stunned by their service and their kindness as well as their knowledge. Rolando is a funny guy, you will have a great time with him. Beyond Adventures is simply amazing!

Tips: Bring warm clothes for the hike up the volcano. Get prepared to get sick if you're not used to the altitude.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank travalex_de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Customized Service for a Lone Traveler”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Based on a recommendation from a friend, I had arranged travel plans to visit Boquete. My initial intent was to do all the research prior to the trip, but got bogged down at work and wasn't able to properly plan activities as I normally do prior to any major trip. The lack of planning was a huge concern upon arrival, but was easily put to rest upon making arrangments through the Beyond Travel. Rolando Cossu was the lead guide and I simply gave him minimal expectations and he immediately capitalized on developing an agenda that allowed me to see the better parts of the region, while incorporating some phyisical activities.

We started off with a nice drive through the mountains and Rolando was able to provide brief history of the area and incorporated his own unique twist that made it even more interesting. He showed some interesting rock formations, waterfalls and stopping after 1 hour to take a brief hike through the woods. We were trying to find an elusive bird, who's name I cannot spell, and eventually found it. However, the bird was too quick to catch a picture.

We then continued our journey through the region and eventually made it back to the city center, where he provided some additional insight on the city. Overall, Rolando made a relaxing morning with adventure and a little history. Recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wishmountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beyond Adventure Tours also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Beyond Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing