We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa de la Abuela
Ranked #10 of 28 Boquete B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good little hotel”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A good little hotel just outside the town but a two minute walk in.
The hotel is modern looking but the rooms (my room at least) were quite small.
Breakfast is provided and is ok but not great. My coffee was rewarmed which is regarded as a no no by coffee drinkers. Given that the area is known for its coffee the hotel should provide a focus on providing fresh well made coffee. Selling packets of coffee from a local grower would potentially be a small sideline for the hotel.
The staff try hard with their English.
Providing more advice on local attractions via the front desk or a notice board would be good.

Room Tip: The hotel is right on a road so rooms at the rear are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slhardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCasa2011, Gerente at La Casa de la Abuela, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Customer, thank you for taking the time to send your review.

We are sorry to hear that we were not able to provide you a better experience; we are taking your recommendations into account to improve our customer´s experience. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Boquete and that you choose Boquete as a future destination.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    87
    19
    10
    3
See reviews for
24
81
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The pictures look cozy and nice, and the reviews are quite high, so it was a no brainer to book. Fastforward to me arriving at the property and in the room, and I was blown away on how bad it was. It truly looked like a mulilevel motel in its quality and vibe. The walls are paper thin and would hear constant noise from bordering rooms and the hallway. The bathroom had industrial soap dispensers and toiler paper rolls that you would find in a gas station.

The place was awful. The breakfast was a joke, and laughable.

Hostal Refugio del Rio has cabin rooms for $33 a night that are 50 times better in quality and location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCasa2011, Gerente at La Casa de la Abuela, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Courtney, we appreciate your review. Thank you for taking the time to send us your opinion.

We are disappointed to know that you were not pleased during your stay with us. We usually receive the best ratings from our customers; we are sorry that we were not able to provide you a better experience. We are glad that you continued enjoying Boquete and that you were able to find accommodations to suit your needs. We hope you come back to our gorgeous mountain time to enjoy our weather and surroundings.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Great place w/ a great low season rate of $44 dbl. Room was clean, nice view. However breakfasts could use alot of improvement, coffee was terrible and the food was not much better. At the regular rates they post I am not sure if this place would be such a good value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mochilero22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCasa2011, Manager at La Casa de la Abuela, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Customer, thank you for taking the time to send us your review. We appreciate that you took the time to send us your recommendations. We hope we can be your host again and that we´ll be able to meet your expectations.

We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very clean and nice hotel. Comfortable beds and lots of very hot water. Very friendly and helpful staff. We came back here on our second visit to Boquete. It is a short walk to town and all the action, but there is a very good restaurant Posada Boquete a 2 min walk away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCsaralou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCasa2011, Manager at La Casa de la Abuela, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hello, thank you for your response. We appreciate the great review that you wrote about us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed La Casa de la Abuela and that yo u got the best service from our staff.

We are glad that you came back to Boquete! we hope to see you again soon!

We appreciate your business,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel is very nice. More like a motel. Our room was comfortable but a bit small for a double room, but when I peeked in to some other rooms our room was nicer by comparison. The hotel provides a free breakfast in the mornings. There is no restaurant in the hotel but many nice ones in walking distance. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is really no parking except for on the side of the road.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCasa2011, Manager at La Casa de la Abuela, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Jeanne, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate that you took the time to post this great review about us.

We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama city, Panama
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I scaped Panama City for a few days and ended up in Boquete. One of the main reasons I love Boquete is because the great ambiance La Casa de La Abuela offers. The staff is extreamly HELPFULL and their breakfast is just SO GOOD!!!
Aldo they are not in the very center of town the hotel is just 10 minutes walk from the center! They had improve a GREAT DEAL since they opened and now offer free WIFI and even a very nice computer if you didnt brought your own!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the Coffe Plantation and the mountain! They are more quite and the views ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benypanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCasa2011, Manager at La Casa de la Abuela, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Benny, it was fantastic to be your host once again in Boquete. We appreciate that you chose again during your most recent visit. Thank you for taking the time to send us such wonderful review. We hope you enjoyed the new additions and remodeling we put together in the hotel. We hope to see you again soon.


We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

we spent 4 nights in a double room with a nice view.
the stuff was very nice and helpful.
the hotel new and clean. wifi is provided.
the rooms to the back have a nice mountain view. the hotel is a 5 minute walk from downtown. also a good restaurant is next door.
I can definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: zimmer nach hinten haben einen schönen blick in die berge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCasa2011, Gerente at La Casa de la Abuela, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you Roxi for sending us your review, we are glad you liked your visit to Boquete and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you got the best out of your trip and that you created great memories in our lovely town. Thank you for taking the time to send us your fantastic review.

We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.6 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Hotel Panamonte
Hotel Panamonte
#6 of 11 in Boquete
203 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bambuda Castle
Bambuda Castle
#3 of 49 in Boquete
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Palo Alto
The Inn at Palo Alto
#3 of 28 in Boquete
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central Boquete
Hotel Central Boquete
#7 of 28 in Boquete
102 reviews
2.0 mi away
El Machico Boquete
El Machico Boquete
#1 of 49 in Boquete
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de la Abuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de la Abuela

Property: La Casa de la Abuela
Address: Ave. Central Boquete | El Huacal #12 , Boquete, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa de la Abuela 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country style small hotel in Boquete, Chiriquí. Surrounded by magnificent mountains, featuring the best climate in Panama. La Casa de la Abuela is a family owned small hotel built on the grounds of our grandmother's house where four generations of our family were born and raised. Our beautiful rooms have mountain views, the family rooms have independent outside entrance and can accommodate families or groups of 3-4 people.Recently added 2 new Family Villa with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, full equipment kitchen, dining and living room and terrace. These villas are full equipped to make your stay an excellent experience. These villas can accommodate 6 people. The hotel has free WI-Fi internet connection. We have an outside terrace with breathtaking views of the mountain.We are located on the main street, walking distance to restaurants, bar and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Casa de la Abuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing