We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice new place in Boquete”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa de la Abuela
Ranked #9 of 27 Boquete B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in March, and enjoyed our stay in La Casa de la Abuela. It is very new, and the staff are helpful and very eager to please. The hotel is just up the hill from town, a few hundred yards before you would reach Cafe Ruiz and Mi Jardin es su Jardin. All-day coffee in the lobby, and a breakfast buffet with fruit, eggs, sausage, etc. are included. Rooms are nice and clean, beds are firm, and the view of the mountains from the back-side rooms is wonderful. Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCasa2011, Director de Recepción at La Casa de la Abuela, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017

Dear Customer,

We appreciate your review! We are glad that you had a positive experience with our staff and the service they provide.

We stride every day to provide the best experience to our guests when visiting Boquete, we hope that you chose us again in future visits to our town.

Once again, thank you for your comments!

La Casa de la Abuela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 181 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2012

La Casa de la Abuela is very new. The rooms have nice amenities and are kept very clean. The front desk staff are all very welcoming and helpful. Some speak English; some don't. The B&B is a short walk from the down town area. It seems that the staff is still figuring out the hospitality business, but are clearly trying hard and learning to provide good customer service. It think this place will only continue to improve with experience. It's a good value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SelwaySteward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCasa2011, Director de Recepción at La Casa de la Abuela, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017

Dear Customer,

We appreciate your review! We are glad that you had a positive experience with our staff and the service they provide.

It is very important to know what kind of things we can improve in our staff or in our hotel. We take into account these reviews to improve every day and offer our customers an enjoyable experience.

Once again, thank you for your comments!

La Casa de la Abuela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

The hotel is just up the road from town, so a nice 5minute walk away but far enough to be really quiet. It all looks very new, the staff were always friendly, especially the manager, she was really nice. the cleaner was servicing the room after our 1st night and the bed collapsed, we were in town at the time but when we came back the manager was so apologetic as we had to move rooms, it really was no big deal but she was mortified and everytime we saw her she was just so nice, we were going hiking at 5.30am so would miss breakfast and she organized there to be fruits out for us so we could take something and the coffee to be on which was nice of her. The breakfast isnt that great, just help yourself to scrambled egg,sausage and fried corn tortilla things,bread and sometimes some bananas and coffee, but get there early as once its gone they is no more and it goes quickly! the rooms are small but quite boutique hotel-ly!! Nice decor, very comfy bed, great shower, views out to the mountains. It is very very windy so in our 1st room, which was on the end of the building, the wind would howl down the hill and was really noisy, the 2nd room was next to it and therefore more protected so wasnt as bad, but it really does howl!! Really would reccommend this place, we had a great stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCasa2011, Director de Recepción at La Casa de la Abuela, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017

Dear Customer,

We appreciate that you taking the time to share your opinion.

We are glad that you spent a great time in our little family hotel. For us is a pleasure to serve you and make you an enjoyable stay.

Thank you for choosing us!

Kind regards,

La Casa de la Abuela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We ended up here after Marilo (from Pension Marilo) told me as soon as we arrived that someone had "mysteriously" called during the morning to cancel my reservation...
La Casa de la Abuela was awesome! The staff is very friendly, the rooms very clean (and new!) very nice decorations, it was really really nice! Also, the B&B is like 5 minutes up from the town, so close enough to walk but far enough if you want to sleep.
The only "bad thing" about the B&B is that there is no kitchen & they only have a coffee machine... However, people are not really travelling to Boquete to hang around the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyF956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCasa2011, Director de Recepción at La Casa de la Abuela, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017

Dear custumer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at La Casa de la Abuela.

We are happy to know that you had a great experience and that you received the best of our staff. We work hard to improve our customer services in every area of La Casa de la Abuela.

We hope to be your host again in the future.

Best regards,

La Casa de la Abuela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I learned about this little town while in Costa Rica so I teamed up with some friends and took the bus to Panama. Boquete is the most precious little mountain town there is! It was the rainy season (which I was not prepared for) but the charm of the town made it worth it.
We were lucky to find this small hotel at such incredible price, (hotels in this area can be really expensive!) This is a brand new hotel, as they recently open for business everything is new and pristine, the staff was wonderful and we were able to walk everywhere from the hotel. We just stayed a few days before going back to CR, but I definitively will include this town on my next vacations.

Room Tip: rooms in the back have an amazing view to the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCasa2011, Director de Recepción at La Casa de la Abuela, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017

Dear Customer

Thank you for taking the time to write such a good review!

We are glad that you spent a great time with us. For us it is a pleasure to serve you and make your stay enjoyable.

We work very hard to improve our services and make a great experience for our customers.

Thank you for choosing us!

Best regards,
La Casa de la Abuela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones son pequeñas, pero con todo lo que necesitas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCasa2011, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Casa de la Abuela, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneBryon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCasa2011, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Casa de la Abuela, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
4 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
399 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
344 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 12 in Boquete
137 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Montana y el Valle Coffee Estate Inn
0.9 mi away
Bambuda Castle
Bambuda Castle
#2 of 52 in Boquete
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de la Abuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de la Abuela

Address: Ave. Central Boquete | El Huacal #12 , Boquete, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range: $65 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa de la Abuela 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country style small hotel in Boquete, Chiriquí. Surrounded by magnificent mountains, featuring the best climate in Panama. La Casa de la Abuela is a family owned small hotel built on the grounds of our grandmother's house where four generations of our family were born and raised. Our beautiful rooms have mountain views, the family rooms have independent outside entrance and can accommodate families or groups of 3-4 people.Recently added 2 new Family Villa with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, full equipment kitchen, dining and living room and terrace. These villas are full equipped to make your stay an excellent experience. These villas can accommodate 6 people. The hotel has free WI-Fi internet connection. We have an outside terrace with breathtaking views of the mountain.We are located on the main street, walking distance to restaurants, bar and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Otel, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your La Casa de la Abuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing