We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Fish”
Review of Big Daddy's Grill

Big Daddy's Grill
Ranked #6 of 106 Restaurants in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $13
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Lunch and dinner! Featuring the freshest seafood in Boquete, with the best fish tacos, creative and fun cuisine. Have a hand crafted Margarita on our new back patio, the most laid back and fun place in town!!
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Fish”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I don't know how many times I've been back to Big Daddy's, but every time I go, it never let's me down. Great fish tacos, fish fingers, onion rings, fish sandwiches, and even corn dogs... everything is made fresh! The fish comes straight from the Pacific Ocean as fast as they can get it! Delicious and I definitely recommend it!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amylynn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDGManagement, Owner at Big Daddy's Grill, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We love a frequent flyer! Thank you for writing about your love ror BDG. We love you right back. We applaud you for working your happy way through our menu! You are not alone because I myself am addicted to our Shrimp Tacos & the Onion Rings. So glad you keep coming back! Sincerely, Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    853
    457
    127
    30
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent option in Boquete!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Big Daddy´s on New Year´s Eve. We were given a tip to walk around to the back where there is a lovely outdoor patio. Our food came quickly, and lived up to the reputation. The fish tacos were delicious, and they happily modified one of their dishes for us. The atmosphere was friendly, the conversation worthwhile, and the rum selection quite vast. We were pleased to meet the owner who was very friendly and offered a few good suggestions about the area. If we make it back to Boquete, this will definitely make the top of our list!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaydily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDGManagement, Owner at Big Daddy's Grill, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Well, Yes! You absolutely must visit us again! And yes, we do happily modify our dishes when we can. We are so happy you chose to spend part of your Panama New Year with all of us here at BDG. Thank you very much for your kind, thoughtful review. Yours, Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was a fabulous restaurant. As other people have noted, the fish tacos were delicious, service was quick, efficient, and friendly. Excellent value, I would happily have eaten here several times more given the opportunity. Last orders on a Sunday is about 8,30pm, so get there early to avoid disappointment!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robotwigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDGManagement, Owner at Big Daddy's Grill, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you very much! You came in, I think, on that super busy Sunday during Jazz Fest & we're glad you were able to get a table. You are correct: We do close a bit earlier on Sundays, 8pm,; Tues. - Sat.: 9pm Closed Mondays. We certainly hope you will be able to return! Sincerely, Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yreka
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding Is An Understatement!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I were in Boquete for ten days. We found ourselves going back over and over again for the incredible fish meals - in particular the fish tacos - as well as the cold beer and excellent margaritas. In fact, we spent our last night eating at Big Daddy's Grill. There just was nowhere else to go that offered the outstanding food and drinks in all of Boquete. The prices are reasonable, the restaurant is clean and quite comfortable, service is good and the back deck area is definitely the place to go when you eat.

We had the opportunity to speak with the wife of the owner - an American. She shared the story of her husband and her opening up this restaurant as well as his diligent effort every week to get the freshest of fish for his customers. We applaud them for an excellent job in their location, restaurant, food, and customer service! If we could give this restaurant ten stars, we definitely would do so.

If you find yourself in Boquete, don't miss the opportunity to eat at Big Daddy's Grill. I know that you will agree with my husband and I that it is one of the best highlights in all of Boquete.

P.S. Keep in mind that my husband just doesn't EVER eat fish but he couldn't get enough of their fish tacos!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PWO'Neill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDGManagement, Owner at Big Daddy's Grill, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
What a lovely & thoughtful review. We are so happy you loved all your BDG experiences!.( Your husband is not the first "non-fish eater" to be converted by our Tacos. It's because Big Daddy keeps only the freshest fish on hand, so no "fishy" taste.) Thank you for coming in so often & for sharing all that happiness here... Yours truly, Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimbey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent fish tacos”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

For those of you who are not fish lovers, try the fish tacos anyway. I did, thinking I wouldn't like them very much - but they are SO GOOD!! Who knew? A great restaurant with lots of variety and reasonable prices. Be sure to check out the great outdoor seating area out back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDGManagement, Owner at Big Daddy's Grill, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
What fun that you had a nice surprise. Now we have another convert! It's not the first time & perhaps it is because Big Daddy personally selects the fish whole & from the fishermen, you never get a "fishy" taste... only fresh. Thank you for giving something new a try, and thank you for writing about your happy experience. Yours, Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Daddy's Grill also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Big Daddy's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing