We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great veggie options”
Review of Big Daddy's Grill

Big Daddy's Grill
Ranked #6 of 114 Restaurants in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $13
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Lunch and dinner! Featuring the freshest seafood in Boquete, with the best fish tacos, creative and fun cuisine. Have a hand crafted Margarita on our new back patio, the most laid back and fun place in town!!
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It can be hard to get a good veggie meal in Central America and this place had about 3 great options. Nice atmosphere, on the main road and lovely food!

Thank Ellie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElizaSlagle, Owner at Big Daddy's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you! Yes, we have several vegetarian & vegan options + options for the Gluten-Free. If you have a big group,then, we can satisfy you plus the fish & burger lovers, gluten lovers (or not), salad eaters, & the fry-babies! A little something special for everyone. Most important, youfound something to satisfjy your appetite & pallet which that what counts, in this case! Hope you can return! Thank you so much for writing in. Yours, Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,085 - 1,089 of 1,574 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

Here we got the best Margarita ever! The fish tacos were very good and the staff was excellent. But they need better ventilation in the kitchen! The whole place was filled with fumes from there.

Thank EOEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElizaSlagle, Owner at Big Daddy's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Oh yes, and oh dear... you were sitting in the front and, that day, we did indeed have an issue with our ventilation, which we have since fixed. Of course we are happy you enjoyed the meal ... but.... if you can return, we will seat you out back, in the open-air patio. I do believe it was full that day. Thanks for your comments. They help us to stay on top of our game! Yours truly, Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I can't say enough good things about Big Daddy's. Forget the previous tasteless review. This place rocks! It's one of my favorite places to eat as soon as I get into Boquete to visit friends. Sweet, comfortable, back patio to enjoy conversation and relax with a top notch Margarita. Owner Larry selects only the freshest fish. My fresh grilled fish tacos were outstanding with the guacamole chipolte sauce and the fresh pico de gallo with the fresh mango was an added plus. Couple days later, I tried the grilled blackened tuna on a bed of organic greens. It was delightful, as was visiting with the other owner, Elizabeth and some of her staff. Genuine, nice people, going the extra mile. They also have menu selections for vegans and folks who are gluten free. Fresh veggie tacos, burgers and black beans made daily (not canned). Always a pleasure.
Thanks Big Daddy's, I'll be back ! ~ Robbin Voight, Austin Texas

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robbin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElizaSlagle, Owner at Big Daddy's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Wow, thank you so much! I remember you because you came in often with your fantastically fun group during the Boquete Jazz Festival! I have photos of you all on the back patio, including that happy guy holding up his umbrella! (I might post it to our FB page.) Can't tell you how please Larry and I are that you all came in so often -- it was an honor and super fun. We hope you can return soon and thank you for the very lovely review! Yours truly, Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I'm formerly from Panama and now from California, and I know my fish! Big Daddy's fresh grill on local organic greens was my go-to when we were last in Boquete. I did have to ask for the "tipico" typical Panamanian whole fried fish one day, just for the flashback, and it was delicious, crispy outside and fresh 'n' tender inside. I don't know why anyone would order anything other than fresh grilled fish at Big Daddy's, and I sure don't know why anyone would order a corn dog anywhere LOL! but it's nice that BD offers those choices. Me, I'm going back for my fresh grill on local organic greens!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElizaSlagle, Owner at Big Daddy's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Hi! Between Panama & California, you certainly would know fish. I agree...the whole fried fish reminds me of our beach trips --- ah ---. Nostalgia! We are so happy you enjoy the food. It was fun introducing Corn Dogs to a country where "meat on a stick" and corn meal are popular.... seemed like a good marriage! With that, + vegan * salad options, we can offer a little something for everyone. So glad you found more than one option to enjoy. Thank you so much for writing in. Come back! Yours, Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great fresh fish!! My wife and I ate there almost every day we were in Boquete!! From Amberjack to Dorado and Tuna. You can have it grilled or fried with veggies, rice and beans or French Fries or delicious onion rings. Don't miss this restaurant.

Thank johnt1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElizaSlagle, Owner at Big Daddy's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Oh...you just mssed "Robalo" which is Snook. But it's all fresh, so you really didn't miss out. Larry has never purchased one fish that was pre-cut or pre-frozen. Always the whole Magilla! So thank you for noticing and for dining with us frequently. We think that is just great! Come back! Yours, Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Daddy's Grill also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Big Daddy's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing