We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Patio”
Review of Big Daddy's Grill

Big Daddy's Grill
Ranked #6 of 109 Restaurants in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $13
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Lunch and dinner! Featuring the freshest seafood in Boquete, with the best fish tacos, creative and fun cuisine. Have a hand crafted Margarita on our new back patio, the most laid back and fun place in town!!
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My Rating: 4.5
This place was recommended to us by 2 local Inns. Make sure that you get a seat out back on the patio, so much nicer than the front room. Food was fresh. Had excellent fish tacos and my wife had a pogo dog of all things as they did not have chicken the night we visited. Great margaritas also.

Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElizaSlagle, Owner at Big Daddy's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Oh! I've never heard a Corn Dog referred to as a "pogo dog." That a new one on me. Ah...yes... everything goes well with a Margarita, right? Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. The Patio awaits you! Yours, Mrs. Big Daddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,080 - 1,084 of 1,523 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

Had a few meals recently at Big Daddy and enjoyed the fish tacos so much we ordered them each time. Very fresh! Also good fresh fruit smoothies. Will go back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank radean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElizaSlagle, Owner at Big Daddy's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

And we eagerly await your return! So you are stuck on the Fish Tacos. Well, maybe I will be able to persuade you to try one of my favorites: A light, fried, Fresh Fish Sandwich on a Bakery-made bun! So yummy. Thank you for writing in and for being a regular visitor to BDG! xo Mrs. Big Daddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Ok, so they were the ONLY fish tacos I've had in Boquete, but the fish was tasty, moist and well prepared and the salads and rice and beans were also delicious and fresh tasting. Damn good margueritas too! I wasn't crazy about the guacamole (didn't seem to have much avocado?). The only reason this got 4 instead of 5 stars - we clearly ordered FISH fingers for our kids and were served CHICKEN fingers. The only explanation we got was "well, I heard you say chicken". Other than that - great place for the whole family to eat.

Thank Naomi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElizaSlagle, Owner at Big Daddy's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for the nice review. (BTW..the sauce didn't taste like Guacamole simply because...well, it's NOT Guacamole! It's a special, Avacado (90%)-Chipotle sauce, intended to spread inside the tacos). It's disheartening to learnt there was a misunderstanding with your order. It is our policy to correct that to your satisfaction & we're truly sorry that didn't happen. We sometimes do have language issues. If you can return, we would like to give you some fish fingers! Thank you, again. Sincerely, Mrs. Big Daddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Locate in downtown Boquete, this American owned restaurant offers large portions and tasty margaritas. The shrimp tacos brought us back more than once.

Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElizaSlagle, Owner at Big Daddy's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Oh thank you. Larry is fussy about shrimp, so we don't always have it. We are so glad it was available when you were here! Thanks for taking the time to write. Yours truly, Elizabeth & Larry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We ate at Big Daddy's twice. The fish and shrimp tacos were great! Love the black beans and rice. We also had a grilled fish sandwich and it was excellent. Portions are enough for 2. The margaritas are also very good. The little porch area in back is really nice and a great place to relax over a terrific meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Monaw51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElizaSlagle, Owner at Big Daddy's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

We live for reviews like yours. Thank you! If you can return, I'd suggest you try one of Larry's & my favorites: the Fish Sandwich -- but Fried! Ok it's a tad sinful ... but delicious! The black beans are made daily, on premise (never from a can!) & we love them too. Thank you for the super positive review! We so appreciate that! xo Mrs. Big Daddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Daddy's Grill also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Big Daddy's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing