We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Little Place in the Boquete Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2012

First of all, it is very odd to think that a tropical paradise like Panama has such a beautiful green mountain landscape.

This hotel has everything required to have a good time in the cold and nice mountains of Boquete Panama. You have access to canopy, bird watching, coffee trail tours, among other cool things to do. The view from the hotel it’s just gorgeous.
Keep in mind that the rooms are really cabins, with cable TV, beds, a locker room, safe, and a bathroom with hot water. The rooms where fairly clean, just check the sheets prior getting into the bed.

The food was fantastic and not pricey at all, the room as well was not pricey at all.

The road to access the hotel it’s not paved, so you will need a high enough vehicle (a middle size SUV will do), don´t try in a sedan (yours at least). Also it doesn´t have lighting which makes it difficult to drive at night.

On the other hand, once you are at the hotel, it’s very easy to get use to its coziness. The staff also is very friendly and over helping, making the experiences closer to a well-attended hostel.

I personally believe that this is a truly hidden paradise and if you are visiting Boquete, it’s a place to consider.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Augusto_Cabrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 193 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2012

Tree Trek Inn is located a few miles out of Boquete on a mountainside by a rushing river. Four wheel drive is a plus if you want to stay here. It includes a couple of separate cabins, a lodge with about ten rooms, and a main building with office, bar and restaurant.
We were very happy here, but it is not for everyone. There is no heat, so when it rains, which is frequent, it's chilly. But the beds are great, there are extra blankets, the wide screen TV gets lots of movies, the showers are excellent, and we liked the trout in the dining room. For some reason, the coffee is a disappointment even though the inn is connected to a coffee farm. It's also got a zip line coure that other travelers say is superb, and horses.

Room Tip: Rooms in the lodge are not as soundproof as they should be. We (in Cabin 9) overheard casual convers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dryFlyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

If you take a taxi, the hotel is 15 bucks and 25 minutes away from Boquete. You can catch a free truck that goes to and from town 3 times a day but that's about it.
Rooms (cabanas) are great and spacious, you feel like in a suite with a deluxe bathroom, although there is one catch - it gets really, really, REALLY cold.. I estimate about 16 Cesius at night with wind coming in through gaps in the walls. There is no heating as houses are made out of wood (and air between the logs).
You WILL use all the blankets, even those from the other bed. If you want to get closer to your other half while in Boquete - this is the place to pick.
Other than that, the hotel has not a lot going for it unless you want to to the canopy and/or the coffee tour.
There is only 1 short trail for hiking and you can do it in under 2 hours.
Food in the hotel restaurant is slightly more expensive then in town and is really hit or miss - had a great tomato cream soup, but an underwhelming sweetish chicken dish and braised potatos were served semi-raw.

Staff is trying their best to make your stay pleasant.

GOOD CHOICE FOR A 2 NIGHT STAY IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR TOURS AND WANT TO ESCAPE THE HEAT.

Room Tip: Stand alone cabanas apparently get even colder than our room which was adjacent to another room by o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrImpressa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

During our Panama trip we stayed 2 nights in this lovely place. From Boquete it is about 10 kilometers up the mountain. You really need a 4x4 to get there since the road is unpaved and sometimes in really bad condition. You can also ask in the main office in the center of Boquete to bring you up. But I really advise to rent a 4x4: it's worth it to visit the neigborhood too.
There is a central building and a number of nice "Swiss" chalets. The rooms are very nice and clean and the beds are decorated with flowers and animals made with the towels.
The staff is very helpfull and plans with you the different attractions you can visit.
In the restaurant we had both evenings a lovely dinner with excellent food.
The environment is breathtaking: you have a marvellous view on the Volcan Baru and you can take a hike further up the mountain or in the rainforest.
Next to the restaurant is a small wildwater river that seeks its way down the mountain. In a nearby building you can see the water powered generator that produces the electricity for the resort.
Don't forget to bring warm clothes: you're high on a mountain and it really gets cold at night!
There's only one negative point: since it was low season, we were the only guests and nobody of the hotel staff did stay in the hotel at night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Only had time to spend one night at this beautiful lodge but will definitely go back with more time to try out the canopying as well! It is such a peaceful place. A great getaway for everyone. I had a glass of wine at the fireplace in the main building followed by a great dinner. And woke up the next morning with a beautiful view of Volcán Barú. And it is only a 15 min drive from Boquete. Go and try it out! You won´t regret it!

Room Tip: Cabana Geisha! With a beautiful panoramic window and you can see the volcan from your bed! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anja_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Jorge and the girls really made our stay there. They were very attentive and helped us out with our day trips. We ran out of clothes whilst there and the girls offered to do our laundry for us. We will definitely recommend this place to our friends.

Room Tip: The room was very cozy and romantic. Everyday when we returned to our room there were rose petals an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaudiaPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We drove there purely by accident. There was NOT paved road all the way to the resort. I strongly suggest a 4x4 rental OR just get a ride from them at the main office in the city. Tree trekking there was unforgettable. I am thinking really hard of the best words to describe it, but that would not do justice. I posted all the pictures on my Facebook account and our friends were just fascinated. My wife and I did spend the night at the resort in the mountains and we enjoyed our anniversary there. The restaurant closed at 8pm so we decided to bring some Wine and snacks for the time we were there. We did have Wi-Fi internet in the room and were able to use the Magic jack we brought along to call home. Since I have no words to describe how good it was, I will say this much: "My wife and I will return there every time that we travel to Panama from now on. If I could make it my ONLY anniversary getaway….I would (Wife may not like that idea)." Service had a FIVE STAR rating in my book. I am trying to get back there soon. Room had cable in English and Spanish, so we watched HBO. It was very clean and the smell of log cabin was permeating in the air. The towels were folded into Swan Shapes (like I have seen on the cruise ships). Temperature can be colder than expected. I went with shorts ONLY. Big mistake, that night it got cold enough to run a heater. Great Excuse to drink more wine and not come out of the blanket. It was Mid June of 2011. Temperature gets warm again after 8am.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShawnOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
2.7 mi away
La Montana y el Valle Coffee Estate Inn
10.9 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
400 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 12 in Boquete
137 reviews
3.3 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort

Address: Palo Alto | Chiriqui, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Boquete
Price Range: $86 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort, the premier ecolodge in the chiriqui Higlands. Nestled amid the cloud forest of Volcán Barú, we offer our Private nature reserve as the destination for your next vacation, whether you enjoy, birdwatching, or an adventure hike in our Hanging Bridges, a Tasting Coffee Tour or a zipline canopy tour. The property has an abundance of flora and fauna to go along with animals such as ocelot, tern, monkey, tucan, deer and more. This is also the place to find the Resplendent Quetzal, one of central America's mos beautiful and rarest birds. We welcome you to make in Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort your Perfect Vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing