We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boquete
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Guest Suites at Manana Madera Coffee Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City, Panama
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Incredible place, anyone looking for a very relaxing and beautiful place in Boquete cannot do better than staying in the guest suites. The guest suites are very comfortable and tastefully decorated, attention to detail is apparent everywhere you look, and the views are beautiful. Randy is an excellent host and will give you great suggestions on things to do in Boquete. Highly recommended..!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 165AndresC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
176
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is the place to come to experience the peace and prettiness of the Panama mountains. There are two 'suites', little detached one-bedroom houses next to Randy, the owner's, house on this coffee farm. Our house was beautifully, tastefully decorated in an elegant, fairly minimalist style, and was extremely comfortable. The bedroom has a comfy bed, large fitted wardrobe and plenty of drawers, and a stylish en suite bathroom with large shower. A massive window looks out from the bedroom across the hills - a fabulous view and great at night for looking at stars/spectacular lightening storms in the distance. The living room has a sofa, TV for watching DVDs, dining table and chairs, book selection, and little fridge. And of course a coffee maker with coffee from the coffee farm, which Randy topped up daily. The living room has patio doors onto an extremely spectacular back garden, with a little path down to a gazebo that people refer to a 'the ranchito', where you can lie in hammocks or rocking chairs in gloriously peaceful surroundings, watching the humming birds.

The location is about 15 minutes from Boquete by car, up a huge hill. This is pretty secluded, and you can't go anywhere without a car. Though it's worth noting that Boquete restaurants are very spread out, so you'd probably want a car to get to the good ones anyway. Luckily Randy pulls off the perfect host by being helpful beyond the call of duty, but not invasive. He drove us wherever we wanted to go, and then either picked us up or arranged a taxi. He gave us a mobile phone so we could always contact him. And every day we wrote our breakfast desires on a whiteboard, put it outside our door, and at the specified time, he appeared with a beautifully prepared tray of food and drink. Delicious. He gave us good restaurant recommendations, and arranged tours for us - white water rafting (excellent), walk to a waterfall (quite nice) and horseriding (see below).

Any downsides? Well, the bedroom curtains were fine net, so the light streamed in and woke us up at an early hour. Due to the secluded nature, you can't pop out for a bar of chocolate once you're home, so planning is needed (though Randy did provide us with beer and wine!) And unrelated to the lovely accommodation, the horseriding trip that Randy recommended was beautiful in terms of scenery, but the guy in charge spoke little English, crammed two of us into a tiny front seat of his truck and drove us that way for an hour which was both painful and unsafe (and illegal - he made us duck to hide from the police), and when my partner's horse whacked her knee against a fence post, he showed zero interest in checking her substantial injury or acknowledging her pain at all. Lovely scenery and horses but I probably wouldn't take that trip again.

So in summary, this was a really excellent experience, beautiful scenery, delightful accommodation, wonderful host, and I'd certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms_scotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

My girlfriend and I just got back from 10 days in Panama, we stayed at 6 different places throughout the country, and Manana Madera was by far the best of the bunch. Randy was an excellent host/guide/friend, the property is amazing, private, secluded, and surrounded by friendly locals. Each morning we were greeted with great breakfast and coffee, went down to the Ranchito to relax (slice of heaven, view of valley and volcano), and then Randy suggested perfect things to do. Couldn't write more good things about this place, we'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaMike83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The Mañana Madera Coffee Estate is incredible! We stayed in the Guest Suite for 4 nights and we can honestly say that it was the highlight of our trip. The grounds are incredible, so beautiful. We loved the Ranchito, and spent a lot of time there. We enjoyed bird watching, seeing the clouds roll in, and just feeling like we were the only people in the world enjoying the incredible views. The rocking chairs and hammocks were terrific for afternoon snoozing (and escaping reality). The Guest Suite is fantastic, top quality all the way. The views from the Guest Suite are fantastic from all the large glass windows. There is nothing better than watching the sunrise from your bed, or seeing the stars and fire flies at night. Randy is amazing, and truly spoiled us. Breakfast was served everyday, when we wanted it, and we never lifted a finger. His sausage is a homemade recipe and just delicious. His coffee every morning was a treat. We are not big coffee drinkers, but Randy's coffee converted me, I am now officially a coffee drinker. Randy has a dog and a cat, and they are just adorable. Each morning "Chubbs" (the dog) would be sitting quietly outside to say good morning to us. Randy's advice about hikes, where to eat, and what to do were spot on, and very valuable. The map and cell phone Randy loaned us were great, and we even had rain ponchos should we need them. We definitely will be back to Boquete, and there is only one place we will be staying, the Mañana Madera Coffee Estate (we can't wait!).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pirokp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2012

When a friend recommend the coffee estate to us, I was hesitant--we're not coffee drinkers, after all. But the pictures were stunning and the value seemed unbelievable, so we booked a three night stay during our Panama tour in mid-March.

Honestly, I (nor you) could not be more impressed with this little piece of mountain paradise. The property is meticulously landscaped and the suites offer comfort in a sleek and modern fashion. Personal touches abound, and the service? Well, you can hardly consider it service when Randy makes you feel like a long lost friend eager to make you comfortable.

Peaceful and harmonious with the scenery surrounding Volcan Baru, this is easily my favorite place we visited while in Panama. In fact, I loved it so much that I designed special cards with photos taken around the estate to send to friends with their coffee. Nothing can sum up it's magic better than the early morning, double-rainbow you're likely to see with breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TillieMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This is the best property in all of Panama - What a beautiful arrangement Randy has setup. He is a great host - We have stayed in Boca Del Toro after visiting Manana Madera, and we miss it already! Every detail is perfect - the views, the coffee, the breakfast (try the sausage, it's homemade), the internet connection (fast), the shower, the bed, the recommendations, and more. Randy will help you with everything, from getting to Boquete, to arranging trips/hikes. My wife and I hiked one day and rode horses the next day. Both trips were amazing. Boquete is peaceful, affordable, and safe. We couldn't be more happy with our host and the beautiful suite. Best of luck to Randy and his second suite!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Though the weather did not really cooperate when we visited, the Guest Suite was like paradise for us. The views are absolutely spectacular and the Guest Suite is stunning, clean, spacious and very comfortable. Every little detail was tought through. "Perfect" is the word that comes to mind when we think of our stay there. Randy was the perfect host and a wonderful person. Anything we needed he could provide (from raingear, cellphone, recommandations for hiking, driving us to Boquete town square and even a computer).

We feel very fortunate to have found such a wonderful place. We wish we could have stayed longer but we had to continue our venture through Panama.

Randy don't change a thing it is just plain perfection!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
3.4 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.3 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Boquete Garden Inn
Boquete Garden Inn
#2 of 31 in Boquete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
3.3 mi away
La Montana y el Valle Coffee Estate Inn
2.9 mi away
The Inn at Palo Alto
The Inn at Palo Alto
#3 of 31 in Boquete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest Suites at Manana Madera Coffee Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest Suites at Manana Madera Coffee Estate

Property: The Guest Suites at Manana Madera Coffee Estate
Address: Manana Madera Coffee Estate Drive 1, Boquete 0413, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Guest Suite at Manana Madera Coffee Estate. 8 Minutes from downtown Boquete, nestled beneath Volcan Baru on a working coffee farm with citrus, banana and avocado trees. Stunning views of nature within the privacy of lush, alpine tropical surroundings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing