We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & Informative”

Boquete Coffee Tour
Ranked #1 of 9 Food & Drink in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Boquete Coffee Tour at Finca Dos Jefes offers the only personalized, hands-on tour and roasting experience in Boquete. Guests can walk through the fields, learn about traditional organic farming and roast coffee beans to enjoy at home.
Balboa, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly & Informative”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were completely surprised at how personalized our Dos Jefe's coffee tour was. The tour itself was fabulous and the views were spectacular! It was inspiring and made us think twice about where we buy our coffee in the future.

We traveled with our three year old daughter and Rich (the owner of 7 acre farm) was wonderful. He let her explore his grandchildren's tree house, let her feed the dogs (there might have been a coffee bean or two in there) and even gave her tasting cups to taste the coffee. She left wanting to be a coffee farmer.

Definitely, one of the highlights! Thank you, Rich!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PanamaZonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    16
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Very pretty coffee farm”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I visited Finca Dos Jefes just before Christmas and were put in a group with 6 other people. Since the owner, Rich, was busy doing another tour, he had someone else do the first part. When we arrived, we briefly walked through the grounds before going into a bare room with a long table and chairs for an "educational" discussion about coffee growing. This room is also where they stored some of the remaining bags of beans left over from the last harvest. Given the fact that the room was not lit (the door was open but there were no windows) and Gary's delivery of the subject matter was somewhat monotonous, we were a bit bored by the first part of the tour. In fact, my husband started nodding off. After our "discussion" (about 1/2 hr), I asked if we could walk through the grounds of the farm. Once outside, it was a pleasure to see the way the coffee was dried and processed. Just the physical beauty of the farm was worth taking in. About 15 minutes after that, Rich had completed his prior tour so we were brought to an area with a veranda with tables and chairs. Rich explained how he bought the place on a whim - saw it on a Friday and bought it the next morning while knowing nothing about coffee growing. Certainly, after running the farm for these past 5 or 6 years, he has become a bit of an expert on coffee farming - organic style - and he is obviously very enthusiastic about the subject matter. His presentation culminated in the the smelling and tasting of three different types of coffee roast - light, medium and dark. We then got to participate in the roasting and bagging process and each one of were given a bag of our preferred roast.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank manhattanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Informative hands on! With beer!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I think this is one of the best tours we booked in boquete. You can really tell Rich's passion for coffee. This is one of the few organic farms in boquete, and his drying technique is different from the other coffee farms. I learned so much about the coffee industry.

I really had an great and informative time here, now I can be a coffee snob with my NY friends. It was so hands on, I roasted my own coffee and the tour ended in a beer!

Helpful?
Thank Jenyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice tour!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We participated in this tour along with 3 other people. Rich was sick that day so Gerry did the tour for us. It was filled with interesting and educational information. I was impressed with their overall business philosophy of practicing environmentally friendly method and fair-trade. The tasting of 3 different levels of roast was interesting, as well as operating a roasting machine. A huge beautiful double rainbow showed up at the end of the tour, which was also a nice bonus.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelor109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our guide did not show up for the tour”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked our Finca dos Jefes coffee tour with Boquete Outdoor Adventure for the 9:00 AM tour two days in advance. We showed up 8:50 AM on the day of the tour and waited with others in the office of BOA. At 9:20 AM our guide still had not shown so the BOA person called Rich and was told he was too sick to give the tour. I understand that someone can be sick. But not showing up without calling the tour office and keep customers waiting seem unprofessional. We tried re-book for the next day, our last day in Boquete, but it was a Sunday and the farm does not have tours on Sundays.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, Owner at Boquete Coffee Tour, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
This was our first mistake and hopefully it will be our last. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience to the reviewer.


Finca Dos Jefes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boquete Coffee Tour also viewed

 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Boquete Coffee Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing