We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and reasonably priced”
Review of Bistro Boquete - CLOSED

Bistro Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and reasonably priced”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The food and service at the Bistro Boquete is a great diversion from the typical fare of this quaint mountain village.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    35
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really fresh, high quality burger meat”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Having not researched places to eat in Boquete, we stopped in at Bistro for lunch. My husband had an omelette (breakfast menu still open at lunchtime), and I had the Boquete burger. I don't usually go for burgers, but the menu wasn't very big and I was hungry. The menu consisted of typical breakfast items (scrambles, omelettes), sandwiches, and burgers.

The meat in my burger smelled SO fresh - probably the freshest and healthiest meat I have had in a long time. (And from driving around the area, it's no surprise: the cattle all look unbelievably healthy and well taken care of). It was a delicious burger. While not an incredibly adventurous burger in terms of ingredients, it certainly was the freshest and best quality meat, and gave me what I craved: meaty sustenance! I am told the omelette was very good.

The portions are HUGE. Service efficient and good. We would have eaten here again had we stayed longer. Not the cheapest place, but what is to be expected for touristy places in Panama. About $20-$25 for two, including drinks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bunnyriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Comfort Food, full breakfast and excellent hamburgers”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Bistro continues to offer a wonderful selection of comfort food. A full breakfast menu consists of waffles, pancakes, omelets with all the fix-ens and eggs benedict. The choices for decked out hamburgers makes it hard to decide which one to choose. The daily specials are always reasonably priced and the service is fast. Definitely recommend the Bistro when you are hungry and want some great food in Boquete.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mhuehnergard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Lake
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good burger and fries”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

First time at the Bistro and we both had a Bistro Burger. Was delivered, as ordered, medium rare and very juicy. The fries were superb and looked and tasted hand-cut. There is a second floor balcony overlooking the main street and we enjoyed having a birds-eye view while eating. Restaurant was a bar and grill atmosphere, nothing fancy, but looked clean and I have heard they have a great happy hour.

All in all a good meal. One bit of constructive advice - If you could get the wait staff to SMILE, that would make folks feel a little more welcome.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrandLakeChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“OMG - BEST BURGER EVER - YEAH I USED CAPS”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Went here based on our innkeepers recommendations, so glad we did. I ordered the Boston Burger, my wife got Tandoori chicken panini. WOW. Burger came with fries and slaw and they were just as awesome as the burger. I can't say enough about this burger. I blogged about it, I'll tweet about it, facebooked it, just plained LOVED it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlexitarianCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Boquete also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing