We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly happy helpful clean in a great location”
Review of Hostel Mamallena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Mamallena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2010

this hostel is one of the best i have been in , the owner makes sure that you are happy with your stay, helping with information making futher bookings and always being ready to chat......he also has one in panama city which he booked for us but they were fully booked but nevertheless we were not turned away if at all possible they will find you a bed, my partnere and i ended up sharing a bunk bed no hastles better than the street.

highly recomend both places not just the facilities which were great , but also the attitude of the staff and owner.

have a great trip

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeannieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 436 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2010

I'm not sure what the previous reviewer is talking about, or maybe their date is wrong, but I stayed at the Mamallena last March (2009) on a week long trip during spring break. It didn't seem new at all (although, I did hear it had been opened within a couple years prior). The Staff was amazing, a bunch of great Australian guys who knew the city really well owned it, and there were always suggestions of places to go and places to eat. The hostel also had a bunch of trips you could do through them that were fun. I would recommend this hostel to anyone. They have an awesome living room type area, a front deck, and a large outside deck with a screen around it that was perfect for drinking and playing cards. 10/10.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swimvc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GringoLoquito, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2010

I really do appreciate the response, especially after nearly year! You obviously really enjoyed your time with us, a lot! At the time you stayed with us we´d been open about 5 months, in Panama City. About 6 weeks ago we also opened a hostel in Boquete,in the north of Panama. That´s the hostel the reviewer was refering to. And what they said was 100% correct. But now we do hope we´ve ironed out the kinks. And we certainly have taken action against the restaurant next door and we hope to have no more trouble with them.

To both reviewers so far, thanks very much for you very positive responses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

This hostal just opened a few weeks before I stayed here, so the staff was still working out the kinks with the room's amenities (lights, bathroom fixtures). However, the staff was extremely helpful, kind and accommodating. They were excellent in helping to arrange trips and recommending sights and things to do in the area.

I think this was a b&b before, so the house feels very cosy and comfortable. The kitchen is large and well-equiped, and the social areas (dining room and outdoor seating areas) are large and comfortable. Only negative: my room was on the side of the restaurant next door, which played loud music late into the night. The hotel staff, however, apologized to me the next morning about this and had asked the restaurant to turn down the music; so, i feel like the Mamallena staff were very attentive to all of their guests. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajarendt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Natalipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel M, Manager at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Deozeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel M, Manager at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Se ve ne sono, meglio chiedere stanze che non danno sul giardino del pub vicino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Netzmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#7 of 12 in Boquete
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#10 of 12 in Boquete
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fundadores Hotel
Fundadores Hotel
#12 of 12 in Boquete
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio
1.7 mi away
El Machico Boquete
El Machico Boquete
#1 of 50 in Boquete
85 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bambuda Castle
Bambuda Castle
#2 of 50 in Boquete
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mamallena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mamallena

Address: Parque Central, Light Blue House | Bajo Boquete, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Boquete
Price Range: $12 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Mamallena 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mamallena Boquete hostel is your home away from home! Here it is the atmosphere and the service that makes the difference! Everything is made to make you feel comfortable and happy. Our friendly staff composed by locals has an answer for anything you wonder. It is also the most reliable source of information about Boquete and surroundings, ATM, transportation, travels and hostel facilities. In a colourful colonial wooden building with strong character, we provide different types of private rooms with en-suites and dorm beds, we've got a room for everyone. Add to that our great beds, free pancake breakfast, free internet and movies, great customer service and you have the perfect hostel for your stay in Boquete. Whether it's for a night, a week or a month, you're more than welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Mamallena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing