We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hostel”
Review of Hostel Mamallena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Mamallena
Certificate of Excellence
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect hostel”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Hostel Mamallena should be benchmark for all hostels. They have everything you need for perfect stay - nice rooms (for this price range), very well equipped kitchen with free pancakes from 6 - 10am, nice living room and terrace, washing machine and full fridge of cool drinks at the reception desk. You can get there a lot of tourist info - they are organizing Volcano Baru and Bocas del toro shuttle, some tours around Boquete, and have a lot of useful trip advices.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2jsek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    143
    60
    19
    12
See reviews for
14
124
126
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with 3 friends...location is great right off the main square. We had some issues with our booking an ended up getting a private room for the dorm rate, with a private bathroom. Big room for a hostel and was clean and met our needs. The staff was really helpful with your bookings, especially the long haired blonde guy at the front-Tom. Ask him for anything e is the best!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lerobert87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

What can i see about this place. Normally i don't like sticking around in hostels but here i stayed for more days then i imagened. The dorms are clean, beds comfortable (really), showers are hot and clean. They have a big kitchen with everything you need with free breakfast in the morning pancakes and coffee.

They offer great tours for even better prices and if you have the chance to do a bbg night with drinks included here... Do it. The owner and staff likes to drink some rum with the guests in the evening so you will never drink alone.

When you are in Boguete, check out this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was one of my first hostel experiences. I was about 50 years older than the average guest, but sure enjoyed the friendly and vibrant scene. The hostel is well run, has a big well organized community kitchen, offers a variety of tours and hikes with local guides. My private room was a bargain. Front desk staff was polite and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilfromDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2013

When I arrived in Boquete at 11:30pm I was thrilled but also completely exhausted after a 9 hour bus ride. We had made arrangements to stay at Mamallena before we arrived so I knew what to expect but it ended up surpassing my expectations. Victor, who greeted us in the lobby, was ecstatic that we arrived and promptly showed us to our room. The rooms are clean, well prepared, and the beds are very comfortable compared to other hostels (trust me). Theres pancakes every morning and more than enough to do in Boquete. Mamallena is a fantastic hostel and I genuinely encourage anyone who's passing through Boquete to stay here. Miguel and Victor know everything there is to do from rock climbing, hot springs and more! I stayed here for 5 nights and could NOT have ben happier with my experience. Oh, and by the way I'm going back this summer so meet me there!!!

-Hayden Klarfeld

Room Tip: Upstairs is probably less noisy, but downstairs is still extremely comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayden K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I've been staying at Mamallena for several weeks now and I consider it my home away from home. I've read some of the negative comments about the staff and I have no idea how anyone could have had such a bad experience.

The staff is fantastic and the location is impossible to beat. I highly recommend Mamallena.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MamallenaBoquete, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hey there,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our place. Hope you've enjoyed your stay, and we hope to have you in the future,

Best of travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed in Mamallena the first time I went to Panamá, had an excellent time and made an effort to return on my second trip! Miguel and Victor are professional, friendly and have extensive knowledge to share about the area. I participated in two Mamanllena run tours and would highly recommend both. The guides for visiting the hot springs and the waterfall hike were exceptional and the prices were affordable. The hostel has a wonderful ambiance, feels spacious, relaxing, and has several pleasant hang-out areas which make guests feel at home. Miguel and Victor go above and beyond by keeping the front desk open 24 hours, arranging BBQ's and interacting with guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whittreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MamallenaBoquete, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks heaps for the comments! Glad you've enjoyed your stay and our service. We hope to have you back one day, and best of travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.7 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 11 in Boquete
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#5 of 11 in Boquete
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bambuda Castle
Bambuda Castle
#3 of 49 in Boquete
55 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Machico Boquete
El Machico Boquete
#1 of 49 in Boquete
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mamallena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mamallena

Property: Hostel Mamallena
Address: Parque Central, Light Blue House | Bajo Boquete, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Mamallena 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mamallena Boquete hostel is your home away from home! Here it is the atmosphere and the service that makes the difference! Everything is made to make you feel comfortable and happy. Our friendly staff composed by locals and volonteers has an answer for anything you wonder. It is also the most reliable source of information about Boquete and surroundings, ATM, transportation, travels and hostel facilities. In a colourful colonial wooden building with strong character, we provide different types of private rooms with en-suites and dorm beds, we've got a room for everyone. Add to that our great beds, free pancake breakfast, free internet and movies, great customer service and you have the perfect hostel for your stay in Boquete. Whether it's for a night, a week or a month, you're more than welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Mamallena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing