We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good choice in boquete”
Review of Hostel Mamallena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Mamallena
Ranked #9 of 31 Boquete B&B and Inns
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good choice in boquete”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

the hostel is located direclty at the central park in boquete which means the bus to david leaves almost right in front of the hostel!
the rooms are clean, some private rooms even have private bathrooms (they are slightly more expensive than those without private bathroom), which is pretty helpful because there are not so many showers and toilets in the hostel.
the kitchen is great! really big and quite clean and you get free pancakes for breakfast. during our stay, the staff made a surprise barbecue for the hostel guests, which was really nice and a lot of fun - thank you!
they have a little patio and garden which is really cute and nice to relax, there's free internet and wifi and they do have lockers. they also arrange tours - we chose the coffee tour for $20 and it was great!!
the staff was alright, but sometimes i had the feeling that they got annoyed by people asking questions. also, when we arrived, we waited like 5 minutes until the guy behind the desk started talking to us and the first thing he said was that if we didn't have a reservation we had to leave, without even looking at us or saying hi. and sometimes when you were standing there trying to ask them something they just ignored you for minutes until you could talk to them. but obviously not all of them were like that!
apart from that, we enjoyed our stay there and i would recommend the hostel because of its great location and the nice clean private rooms.

Room Tip: private room with private bathroom, as there are not that many toilets and showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vespa86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MamallenaBoquete, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We do appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. We try providing our best and being one of the best. Our deepest apologies for the little incident at the front desk. As you may have noticed, we tend to run pretty busy at times... and we are humans, too.
Yet I hope you overall enjoyed your visit to Boquete and best of lucks on your travels.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    141
    60
    19
    12
See reviews for
14
123
125
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
296 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a good hostel situated in the center of town. Rooms are good but a bit small. Good kitchen with pancake breakfast. Helpfull staff but some of the foreign crew dont have a clue about anything but partying. The owner has an attitude problem if you make a complaint. I bought a new pair of shoes which disappeared with out trace and I was the only one in the room. All in all this is a good hostel and I would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: get anyone away from the back garden where it is party time
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadnerb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MamallenaBoquete, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi there,
We hope you've enjoyed your stay in our hostel and certainly speaking, thank you for sharing your comments!
Yet our deepenst apologies for our staff and your shoes. We've been inquiring about this incident, unfortunately with no results.
Our staff is regarded as very helpful and friendly, yet we will have a word about this.
We wish you our very best in your travels!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is an all around great hostel. I stayed here one night but could've stayed as there is so much to do. The staff and Miguel are super cool and everyone just hung around and drank in the lobby before headed out. Oh and there's nothing better than free pancakes when you're hungover. Reall good spot

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MamallenaBoquete, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments, mate... we hope the best on your travels!!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klagenfurt, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

there werr big rooms, privado with our own bathroom! hot water! good value! nice kitchen! nice reception area, nice garden, average inside sitting room except nice on the first floor.
service by reception so la la..not so motivated but do organisation of tours for you (just make sure they really did..)
laundry: available but bit complicated.
but recommend without doubt!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank principessakneesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MamallenaBoquete, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Vielen Danke für den kommentar!
And thank you for staying with us, our tours are well organised, but some of them run through third parties. Our apologies if we caused any inconveniences to you about it. We aim to the better ones around and we always do our best to improving our service...!
Safe travels and thank you for choosing us!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Pros
Good location in centre of town
Good well equipped kitchen
Few decent chill out areas
Easy to book over email

Cons
Very noisy hostel as walls are paper thin & many surround the noisier areas
Not a lot of showers and two of them were broken when we were there. 1 of them being a hot water one. Many people companied about this but I'm not sure any action was taken to fix it as each time the staff seemed surprise to hear it
Staff are friendly but sometimes feels like its being run by some moody teenagers that smoked a little too much the night before. This can be endearing at times??

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeandKateAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MamallenaBoquete, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks for your comments!
Yet allow me to say the showers had no problems, the only problem was water pressure not strong enough to get into the showers, That is being regulated by the company that provide water supply in town and something we cannot fix of course.
Unfortunately our walls are not necessarily brick made, are wooden as much as the rest of the house. Noise comes from people that at times are not always considerate about other people's sleep. We try enforcing a quiet time policy after 11 pm, and it is clearly posted in our walls.
If you find yourself not being able to sleep because of that, did you come to reception to at least ask us to do something? I reckon not, cos you've managed to stay longer than just one night, mate...
Moreover, your remarks about our staff being like "moody teenagers that smoked little too much the night before" are unacceptable. Our staff do not smoke (and better not when working), nor we allow any drugs inside (clearly posted in our reception area).
Overall thank you for staying with us, and safe travels.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is easily a place one can spend weeks in. It is centrally located in Boquete, the staff can arrange tours around the area, and are in general very helpful, and they have a well-stocked kitchen. The rooms themselves (I spent 2 nights in a private room for $27.50) are clean and the mattresses are quite comfortable, and the wi-fi connection is rather good.

The kitchen is very well stocked with equipment, though it does get a little crowded in the mornings when guests are making their own pancakes. One can sign up for a tour by writing down their names on a white-board in the reception, and the staff also drive guests to the start of the Volcán Barú trail at midnight, though you'll have to arrange for a guide separately if you need one.

The only complaint is that the lack of insulated windows (at least in my room) does make the place a little noisy, especially when the birds are in a chirpy mood at daybreak! But I'm a reasonably good sleeper and this didn't quite bother me.

Overall though, a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: Look for a room with windows capable of keeping out the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoomsthru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MamallenaBoquete, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hey there,
Thanks for your comments! We are happy you've enjoyed your stay, and we apologise for the birds...
Safe travels,

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I loved the hostel- in the center of the town, offers cheaper tours than the gencies around. The best one is a combo they offer- waterfalls, mini canyon and hot springs in one day. The stuff is great. Stayed longer than expected and would defenitely go there again.

Room Tip: the room apstirs are quiter than those down and close to the reception
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank iamsophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MamallenaBoquete, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing us, we are happy to hear you've enjoyed your stay!
Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.7 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
1.7 mi away
El Machico Hostel Boquete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hostal Nomba
Hostal Nomba
#14 of 49 in Boquete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Central Boquete
Hotel Central Boquete
#7 of 31 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Jungla Experience
La Jungla Experience
#6 of 31 in Boquete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mamallena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mamallena

Property: Hostel Mamallena
Address: Parque Central, Light Blue House | Bajo Boquete, Boquete 0413, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mamallena Boquete hostel is your home away from home! Here it is the atmosphere and the service that makes the difference! Everything is made to make you feel comfortable and happy. Our friendly staff composed by locals and volonteers has an answer for anything you wonder. It is also the most reliable source of information about Boquete and surroundings, ATM, transportation, travels and hostel facilities. In a colourful colonial wooden building with strong character, we provide different types of private rooms with en-suites and dorm beds, we've got a room for everyone. Add to that our great beds, free pancake breakfast, free internet and movies, great customer service and you have the perfect hostel for your stay in Boquete. Whether it's for a night, a week or a month, you're more than welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Mamallena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing